We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in Ironbridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Beautifully situated hotel near River Severn in Ironbridge, Delightfully surrounded by wooded hills as well as being close to all museums and to Telford. Recommended to anyone for staff helpfulness, food and rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank 714jonathanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Previous Guest

Thank you for your recommendation following your recent stay with us. As you wonderfully describe, our location is fantastic and is very close to Ironbridge attractions and to Telford for shopping or Business. We hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy some more of the hotel and our local area..
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Valley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We picked the Valley Hotel because of the beautiful setting, and kept our fingers crossed for a sunny day so we could make use of the gorgeous grounds for an outdoor ceremony. Fortunately we were lucky enough to have a sunny day and we don't think we could have picked a better venue - it was stunning.
From start to finish we received first class service - the staff were all fantastic and we can't thank them enough. The attention to detail and the smooth organisation was brilliant.
We had an evening meal the night before the wedding and the food was absolutely delicious - even my grandmother ate it as she never eats anything!! We will definitely be returning to use the restaurant in future.
The day ran so smoothly and everything was just perfect and better than we could have hoped for.
The afternoon tea option was a huge success, it was great to be able to do something a little bit different to the usual wedding packages.
The disco was arranged as part of the wedding package and we were so happy that the dance floor wasn't empty once.
We had the most perfect day and would really recommend the Valley Hotel to others!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Previous Guest

We are delighted to learn of the feedback of your recent wedding in our venue. The team work very hard to ensure all aspects run smoothly for the couples and all of their guests, and to receive such wonderful feedback makes it all very worthwhile. Your kind compliments of the location, service, food and disco are greatly appreciated. It is great that the sun also came out for you! It was a pleasure to host your special day and we hope to welcome you back celebrating anniversaries for many years to come!
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked in on the breakfast/room/dinner deal for a great price. And the dinner was really good; the breakfast was fine; the room needed some help. Our room was in the annex without air conditioning; and it was very hot even with windows open for ventilation. Our shower was difficult to work, and once it got working, the water temperature was unpredictable. And then we couldn't get it turned off. We had trouble with the television as well. Could just be us. The receptionist was sincerely sympathetic, and she did help us print out our driving directions, and made sure we knew where we were headed when we left.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carol253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Previous Guest,

Following your recent stay with us I am sorry to learn you had some difficulties with the shower and television, and hope that you reported this to Reception in order for us to have rectified the issues for you. It is wonderful to learn of your enjoyment of the meals in the Chez Maw Restaurant, and trust you also managed to explore some of our wonderful local area. We very much hope to welcome you back soon, if we can be of assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact us.
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Valley Hotel. The first night we stayed our room although lovely was very hot at night even with the fan provided as the window was quite small. We requested a change of room and this was done with minimum of fuss and we were given a room with air conditioning. This made all the difference and we slept well for the next 2 nights. The staff were all without exception extremely helpful and polite. The Chez Maw restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Previous Guest,

Following your recent stay in the hotel I am delighted to learn of your enjoyment of the service from staff and of the food in our awarding wining Chez Maw Restaurant. I am also pleased to hear that your room requirements were efficiently dealt with by the Reception Team.

We very much hope to welcome you back to Ironbridge and the hotel again soon.

With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Superb hospitality. Lovely room. Meals were delicious. Everyone, including the waitresses in the restaurant, the bar staff and Reception staff, were friendly and professional.

Chez Maw is a lovely restaurant, service pleasant and efficient. The grounds of the hotel and the fact it's beside the river makes enjoying a walk whilst there an absolute must!

We went a couple of years ago and are still planning to return.

Would love to go again!

Room Tip: As it is such an old building, to retain it's character there are no lifts. Therefore, although...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Previous Guest,
Following your previous stay with us we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects. We hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy some more of our award winning food, welcoming service and stunning location. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance to you.
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We returned to The Valley's Chez Maw restaurant to celebrate our anniversary six years after we celebrated our marriage there and everything about it was as perfect as our wedding day.
The food is excellent and the standard and personal service is brilliant. We enjoyed pre dinner drinks on the terrace in the evening sun and then enjoyed a three course meal before enjoying coffee in the bar area. I love the fact that despite the fact they had an anniversary party in, a wedding and a full restaurant the romance and intimacy isn't lost as all parties are kept separate. Well done to all at The Valley and the fact we saw many familiar staff faces from our wedding day shows that they obviously keep hold of their staff. Roll on anniversary number 7!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty_Smallman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Previous Guest,

It was wonderful to host your 6th anniversary celebration in our award winning Chez Maw Restaurant. It is always a pleasure to welcome back the couples who have had their weddings with us. Your kind compliments of the food and service are greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back for anniversary number 7, or perhaps even sometime before!

With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Valley. The location is beautiful being set close to the river with a beautiful well kept garden at the rear. It is a popular place for weddings and there was one there on the day of our arrival. The hotel and rooms are unusual as it was originally a private residence but the space has been utilised sensitively. Our first night was disturbed as our room over looked one of the internal communal areas where the wedding guests gathered but when this was mentioned to reception the following morning they were more than happy to move us to the older part of the hotel.

All the staff we had contact with were very helpful and friendly, we only dined in for breakfast but that was of a high standard and would happily stay there again if in the area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fazzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Previous Guest,
Following your recent stay in the hotel we are very pleased to learn of your enjoyment of our location, food and service. We hope to welcome you back again soon, and perhaps we can tempt you to enjoy a meal in our 2 AA Rosette awarded Restaurant. Please contact us is we can be of any assistance to you.
With regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.3 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
2.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
4.0 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
0.6 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
162 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Hotel

Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range: £67 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have complimentary WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The 2 AA Rosette awarded Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western
Best Western Valley Hotel Ironbridge, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing