We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amazing restaurant, rooms so-so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great location, amazing restaurant, rooms so-so”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Valley Hotel complex comprises an old house in a lovely position with fabulous views over the Ironbridge gorge, together with a more modern extension in which roofed-over passageways between former outbuildings create a couple of indoor 'streets'.

The house is a warren of stairs and passageways with many original and attractive design features including some superb tiling in the main staircase hall.

As is inevitable with an old building of this type, converted into an hotel, there are numerous awkward and obtrusive fire doors to negotiate which made it a bit of a trial carrying bags up to the second floor.

The Chez Maw restaurant was the highlight of our stay - good value (including the wine list), excellent dinner choices with specials which changed each day, great presentation and smiling staff who combined informal friendliness with efficiency.

Boring desserts can often let down an otherwise great meal but I have to say the desserts in the Chez Maw were some of the best I've enjoyed anywhere. Breakfasts were also well presented, with choices such as porridge and kippers freshly prepared to order in the kitchen.

The bar terrace overlooking the gardens and the gorge is a great spot to sit and enjoy a drink away from the bustle of the town on an August weekend.

The rooms are more hit and miss. Our bedroom (12) was dated (Artex ceilings, anyone?) and badly cramped, with ill-chosen bulky furniture making it nearly impossible to squeeze past the foot of the bed - a total contrast with the spacious, modern and airy bathroom attached.

Don't get me wrong - I much prefer an hotel with character to a pigeon-hole room in a soulless chain, but the Valley could do with a bit of a refresh and some attention to detail to bring the guest rooms (at least the two we saw) up to the excellent standards evident in the restaurant and public areas.

We enjoyed our stay and would hope to visit again within the coming year, not least to use the valuable facility on Ironbridge museum passports to make free repeat visits within a 12 month period. There's so much to see a single weekend isn't nearly enough time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mediaskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Previous Guest,

Following your recent stay in the hotel we are pleased to learn of your enjoyment of the stay, in particular of our location in the World Heritage site and of the award winning Chez Maw Restaurant; your kind compliments are appreciated. As you very rightly say there is so much to see in this wonderful area, and with already having your Museum Passports there is every reason to come back very soon and enjoy some more! We look forward to welcoming you back.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    298
    74
    29
    13
See reviews for
117
472
16
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Valley on Saturday night 2nd August. It was my husbands birthday and we wanted to get away for just 1 night. The hotel is in a fabulous spot for visiting all the local attractions and just a short walk into the small town along the river. The staff were very helpful and friendly especially roy on reception. The room was quite small but had everything we needed and a comfy bed. We didn't eat in the restaurant as it was a bit expensive and we preferred to walk into the town. We had a lovely meal in the indian restaurant. We had booked with Laterooms.com paying £94.50 this did not include breakfast. Breakfast in the hotel was £13.50 each which again we thought a bit steep. We put our bags in the car and found a lovely cafe (Truffles i think it was called) we had a lovely breakfast for 2 at a cost £15.00. We are not mean but do like value for money.
We would definately recommend this hotel for location, cleanliness and staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Previous Guest,

We are very pleased to learn that you chose our hotel for a birthday celebration and that you had an enjoyable stay with us in Ironbridge. We are sorry to hear that you did not experience our Restaurant for Dinner or Breakfast, but pleased that you were well looked after by our local colleagues. Booking on a breakfast or dinner, bed and breakfast inclusive package provides the best value offering, and we would welcome discussing this further with you according to you requirements, upon arranging your next trip to us. Thank you for your recommendation and we very much hope to welcome you back soon.

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night on a business trip to Telford. It is set in an idyllic situation overlooking the valley and woodland. The room was excellent and extremely clean. The food in the restaurant was very good. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend this hotel for business or leisure. My only problem was I only had one night and not enough time to explore the hotel grounds or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Previous Guest,

Thank you for your recommendation following your recent stay with us in the Hotel. It is wonderful to learn that we exceeded your expectations. We do have a breath taking view over the park and Valley particularly during this lovely summer weather. We hope to welcome you back during your next business trip or indeed if we can tempt you with weekend getaway!

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

A very comfortable room with a lovely view over the back. The staff were very friendly, polite and efficient. There is a very nice walk along the river into Ironbridge. We also walked to the Victorian town from the hotel following a marked footpath through woodland which took us about I Hour 10 minute stroll. Food was good. On the first night we eat in the dining room and the second night we had a bar meal. It was also very pleasant sitting on the patio with a drink. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Porius9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Previous Guest,

We are delighted to learn of your enjoyment of all aspects of your recent stay with us. Many of the local museums and attractions can be reached by an interesting walk, and I hope you enjoyed some the many pubs, cafes and shops on your way to and from the Victorian Town. It is wonderful to hear of your intent to return to us in the future. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.
With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Impressed with a great value dinner, bed and breakfast deal! Great food in two rosettes restaurant, very helpful and friendly staff and fabulous location. Set in park alongside River Severn and an easy walk to the IronBridge itself. Only drawback - very hot in bedroom as hot weather and no air conditioning!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChampagneLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Previous Guest,

Following your recent dinner inclusive break with us we are delighted to learn of your enjoyment of our location, food and service. Our dinner, bed and breakfast packages provide an excellent opportunity to enjoy our 2 AA rosette awarded dining at excellent value. We hope it is not too long before you are back to enjoy some more!

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

As commented by others, we thought the hotel was beautifully situated by the river Severn, immediately adjacent to a delightful park and only a 10 minute stroll to the famous bridge. All of the staff that we met, from check-in on arrival, in the bar, at dinner, at breakfast and on leaving were friendly, courteous and seemed genuinely pleased to make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_travellers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Previous Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our beautiful and convenient location and of the service from our staff; your compliments are greatly appreciated. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.3 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
0.6 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
155 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
4.0 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,149 reviews
2.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Hotel

Property: Best Western Valley Hotel
Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have complimentary WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The 2 AA Rosette awarded Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western
Best Western Valley Hotel Ironbridge, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing