We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as the reviews said...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I've started to use Trip Advisor when looking for hotels and the reviews on here are pretty much as we experienced.
Firstly the few minor niggles, we were in Old part of the hotel which has slightly thinner walls so we could hear bathroom extractor fans (and sneezing) from our neighbours. There were a number of stairs to our room, but we never sought out the lift. There was also some steep steps up to the en-suite. Although we are both fit and healthy and didn't have an issue, if you have slight mobility issues, probably worth mentioning at the time of booking. Finally, bear in mind you're in the bottom of a gorge, some mobile signals are not great. (3 seemed okay, O2 was not so great!)
The room was really nice and a four poster bed (albeit a little 'firm' for my partner) and a large bath with an electric shower over it. Everything worked inc the free wireless internet. Water was very hot, everything was very clean and well serviced.
We had taken the advice of a previous traveller and booked Dinner, bed and Breakfast and we were not disappointed. The meal was superb. It is very much more bistro than "pub grub". I had the steak and it was cooked as ordered perfectly. Service was excellent and efficient without feeling rushed. Save room for dessert !
Breakfast was equally excellent. Over the years I have concluded the more you pay for the room the poorer the breakfast. Well this is the exception to prove my rule. Nicely cooked, not swimming in oil and plenty to choose from. We were one of the last to go for breakfast and there was still plenty of choice.
Reception were very helpful too and everyone wanted to know if everything had been okay, and genuinely seemed bothered about your answer, without being pushy.
Would I go again! Yes! Would I recommend. Yes!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_H_zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2009

The hotel is a lovely setting very near to the River Severn at one end of the Ironbridge Gorge and excellent for touring this historic area, which we did for four days. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The bedrooms in the modern part of the hotel are well equipped if a little small. We do not recommend the single beds. The restaurant is first class. We had booked bed and breakfast intending to explore restaurants in the area. However, the hotel food was so good we dined there every night. Strongly suggest that any one staying books bed, breakfast and dinner which gives a substantial saving. There is no restricted menu for those on half board and the choice is good. If you give a days notice the excellent chef will cook something of your choice if its not on the menu.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernardSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

This hotel is located is a beautiful spot. The gardens are lovely, and it's very quiet. However, I felt the decor was uninspiring and dated.

The comunal areas are modern and clean, and there were plenty of staff around. We stayed in this hotel to attend a wedding on bank holiday weekend and they coped well with the number of people staying. Having said this they were very bossy at times moving us from one place to another, and they probably needed more people on at breakfast time.

However, the bedroom we were given was very small and the decor dated. The shower also suffered from poor water pressure, although the bathroom was vey clean and had a nice big bath. The bed was also comfortable.

I probably wouldn't stay here again as although my stay was fine, I think I'd rather stay somewhere with a little more personality.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

The hotel is lovely, in a picturesques setting. Our room, a family room was exceptionally spacious and immaculately clean, if a little dated in decor. However the flat screen TV and new furnishings made up for that.
I can recommend the dinner, bed and breakfast package. It was very good value. The food was fantastic and it was such a treat on a family break, to go down to a lovely restaurant setting at 7pm and eat such delicious food.Breakfast likewise. My child was well catered for too and we were made welcome as a family, in the hotel and the bar/ restaurant.
The location had good parking, plenty of space to walk around and was also either a short walk formt he town and entertainment or a short drive to the out of town venues.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

A really friendly, welcoming experience. The staff were super-efficient and so helpful. Definitely recommend the restaurant - it has won awards of some sort and the food was fantastic. Yes, the building is old, so it creaks, but it is full of history. There was a wedding on when we were there and I thought it was a lovely setting, with the river Severn and the park in the background.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HolidaySeeker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kathKmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRMTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
2.1 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
4 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
0.6 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
167 reviews
2.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Hotel

Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range: £54 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have complimentary WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The 2 AA Rosette awarded Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western
Best Western Valley Hotel Ironbridge, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing