We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ironbridge Star” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Valley Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Best Western Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Gwent
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Ironbridge Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

My husband and I have just returned with some friends from the Valley Hotel and had a really nice weekend. The staff were efficient and very friendly. Our rooms, though quite small (they were originally used for staff quarters which would account for their size), were pleasant, spotlessly clean and warm with a recently refurbished ensuite. The only downside were the very creaky floorboards which we were very conscious of,even if we tiptoed, the room below must have been able to hear us moving around.
However the highlight of our weekend was the amazing evening meal we had in the restaurant. January special rates were 2 courses and a glass of wine for £20 - amazing value !! I can honestly say it was one of the best meals I've had in recent times in this country. Our waiter, Lee was a darling and so attentive. Our compliments to the chef, he/she deserves the recently awarded 2star rosette - it should be more.
The hotel is very convenient for all the Ironbridge attractions and in lovely surroundings,
I would recommend a vist to the Blists Hill Victorian town, did'nt know what to expect but we spent a very pleasant afternoon there.
All in all would definitely like to go back .

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvrilmastWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    287
    70
    28
    12
See reviews for
110
462
16
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

Stayed here for four days arriving sunday to a pleasant welcome. Allocated room 33 which had a pine four poster bed which was a bit over the top and frilly for me. Immediately noticed that the room was very chilly so I turned the radiator to maximum which made no difference. Spent a freezing cold night and so asked for someone to look at the radiator which they did but still needed a portable heater which made very little difference. Thin duvet didnt help, no radiator in the very small bathroom so morning ablutions were very rushed. Spent an uncomfortable and cold four days. Arrived back one afternoon to find the hotel had no electricity so went out (in the rain) to get a hot drink. Free secure wifi which was good. Very unusual arrangement about food, you cant eat in the bar and must eat in the formal restaraunt or have room service if you want to eat in the evening. Had a burger which was very nice and reasonably priced by hotel standards but felt a bit isolated eating it in my chilly room. I would prefer to have eaten in the bar area with other people. the man below had a rasping smokers type cough which kept me awake every night and I could hear everything from the room next door, including phone conversations and the alram clock, very poor in terms of privacy. Breakfast was nice with very pleasant waiting staff but overall would not recommed as there were much nicer looking bed and breakfasts in Ironbridge (which I saw when looking for somewhere warm to sit when the hotel had no electricity)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidexplorersid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Dear Guest

Following your recent stay at our property, I am sorry to hear that your experience with us did not meet with your expectations. We take all customer feedback very seriously, so please be assured that your comments have been given due attention. The items you raised will certainly be further investigated to ensure enjoyable experiences for all of our guests. I would like to assure you that the power was down on the afternoon you mention for less than an hour and was due to some emergency maintenance that had to be carried out. This is extremely rare, and I am sorry for any inconvenience caused to you. I am pleased that you received pleasant service from our team members and enjoyed the food prepared by the kitchen brigade.

Thank you for your feedback. If we can be of any assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

Booked 2 night break (interconneting rooms) with ironbridge passport ticket included. The rooms were lovely - comfortable beds with tv's in each room, lovely bathrooms, adequate clothes space, tea/facilities, full breakfast (waiter service) with everything we could imagine. The staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Ironbridge itself has 9 museums and blists hill - all were very enjoyable. All in all a very pleasant stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suec2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

This is a very well run establishment with well trained staff in all departments. I was part of a group of twenty five who stayed for a long week-end. I don't think any of us encountered a single problem during the entire stay. The restaurant staff worked extremely hard during our visit; food of very good quality. Amazingly, most of the employees seemed to be English!
Beware that there is a continual influx of wedding parties over weekends and you never know what sights are going to greet you in the foyer, but it all adds to the fun.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

Good location for visiting the museums in Ironbridge BUT BEWARE if you are booking via the website as it describes this a country house hotel (which part of it is) but fails to say that for the majority of guests they will be given a room in the refurbished stables, and the room has no window and no fresh air. There is absolutely no mention of this on the website, so beware! We booked in June for our say in September but this still did not give us a room in the Country House, and so we had to check out after only one night. I am still waiting (despite having written to the CEO of Best Western and addressing my email to trhe Manager of the Best Western Ironbridge) for an apology and a refund. Just beware if booking from the hotel description on line.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enitsirhc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boddison, General Manager at Best Western Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2010
Dear Guest
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with your bedroom allocation during your recent stay at our hotel. We have a very small percentage of internal bedrooms within the hotel, that do form part of the stables conversion and do not have windows to the outside. These rooms do however benefit from fully fitted air conditioning. Please accept our apologies if this did not meet with your expectations. I am sure that if this was reported to the hotel reception, everything possible would have been done to try and relocate you to another bedroom.
All feedback is taken very seriously, and if you have reported your comments in writing to Best Western or direct to the hotel, it will be replied to within 7 days of receipt. If you have not yet had a reply, it will certainly be you very soon.
Once again we are sorry for the disappointment with your bedroom, and hope that your stay here in Ironbridge was an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We took advantage of special offer so was excellent value and the free museum pass was a bonus. Our bedroom was quite small but very light and still managed to get two small armchairs in it. Small bathroom, but good shower over bath.

Dinner in the restaurant was delicious each of the four nights we ate there and the staff were very efficient and friendly.

The Hotel is popular for weddings so some mornings breakfast is very busy and crowded. But still was good food well served.

The bar is rather bland in decor and the drink display was somewhat limited, however they did have quite a reasonable choice of beers.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smudge0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Have just returned from a stay at this superb hotel. Situated in a great location within easy walking distance of Ironbridge the hotel is also located by the River Severn with easy access to a leisure park and riverside walk through the hotel grounds. The hotel, and rooms, are furnished to a very high standard with obvious redecoration throughout and the staff provide a very friendly and welcoming service.
The restaurant rightly deserves its 2** awards with excellent meals beautifully presented, and a buffet breakfast catering for all tastes. There was nothing to be faulted here and can be thoroughly recommended for long or short stays.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
2.1 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Swan Taphouse
The Swan Taphouse
#2 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.0 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
13.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Hotel

Property: Best Western Valley Hotel
Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Valley Hotel is a 3 star country house hotel, set on the banks of the River Severn in the World Heritage Site of Ironbridge, surrounded by stunning award winning parkland, making it very favorable to both the corporate and leisure guests. This Georgian listed building has 44 individually designed en-suite bedrooms. All have direct dial telephone with wireless high speed internet access, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions. The Chez Maw Restaurant is a stylish and relaxing place to dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Telford
Telford Best Western
Best Western Valley Hotel Ironbridge, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing