We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bird in Hand Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Ironbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

we arrived to a warm welcome,our room was a good size with a nice view of the river.we had half board the food was excellent and a wide choice,good size portions.the staff made us feel very welcome and made sure we were well looked after We enjoyed our evenings in the bar and whoever was working chatted to us as much as they could in between serving customers,so we felt relaxed its nice to be in a family run b@b where customers come first...would recommend to our friends to stay well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    33
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
47
93
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have been dining at the Bird in Hand for over 10 years and not once have we received a bad meal, the menu choice is fantastic, they also do a great Sunday lunch.
The staff are always friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

Chris & Vicky Mills - Telford

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 926Vicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

A rare find these days, people who care about their clientele.
All the Staff at The Bird made us feel welcome and the food was excellent - strict diet on returning to USA after having a full English breakfast for a week.
Family friendly - and if you are exploring the Severn valley and all of its history I recommend you stay at The Bird to complement your visit.It is central to all the museums etc in Ironbridge Gorge and the prices and staff will not be bettered anywhere local

Room Tip: The rooms are old - Original from 1774 but are fitted with all mod cons including en suite. Our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nylnotrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Went with family and friends to get away from the footie! Had a lovely meal from such a vast menu, my friend had took her dog so we sat in their beer garden and the waitress asked if we would like water for the dog and brought her a bowl of water a lovely louch! Had a great day thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My family booked all rooms at the bird in hand in July on a all inclusive 3 day break. The rooms were lovely with comfy beds and lovely comfy armchairs which is a rarity in b and b's these days. Breakfast and evening meals were superb a well run family inn, it's a pity there is not more like it. It was excellent for all museums. We will be going back and we will recommend it to all our friends

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t78l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

stayed here for 3 nights on route to wales to take in the gorge museams, got to say very welcoming felt like a real home from home. You could tell the place had just had a refurb as you could smell the new carpets in the pub itself, very old worlde 'a proper pub'. food also superb with great choice and the breakfast was fantastic. Great location too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdinhand1774, Owner at The Bird in Hand Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I would like to thank Jim W for his excellent review. And I would also like to thank 99% of our guests for their excellent reviews on trip advisor. Thanks to you Jim and our other guests and customers we have been awarded a Certificate of Excellence from trip advisor for 2013 and 2014. Once again thank you all for your reviews which makes us 2nd highest rated establishment in the gorge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ystalyfera, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I had a strange feeling this was going to be an "interesting" experience when I booked and the landlord informed me he would only accept cash or cheques for payment! When we arrived my fears were realised. We were told we had to book our breakfast slot - 8.30, 8.45 or 9.00 and that the all-inclusive meal tariff actually meant £8 allowance off a main meal. The bedroom was tiny with no storage space or bedside table on one side and the shower cubicle was dirty and cracked. There was no soap or shower gel provided so my priority on a Saturday night was to find a shop to buy said items. The food was OK but breakfast consisted of one glass of juice, a choice of cooked meals but no poached eggs. As the menu explained the kitchen was not equipped for poached eggs! There was no fresh fruit on offer. All in all this place is stuck in the 70s and in desperate need of an update. To be fair to the staff they were friendly and doing the best they could under the circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnandcaroline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdinhand1774, Owner at The Bird in Hand Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Your tiny room measures 15ft x 13 ft. I don't call that tiny! You say we are stuck in the 1970s when our Inn is stuck in the 1770s when the pub was built and we are proud our pub is still an old country Inn, fitting in with our local heritage history!
You say we need to update. Well your room had a 34 inch flat screen tv, new curtain and viols, designer kettle, Chelsea hand painted cups and mug, new hair dyer, new shower and made to order orthopaedic arm chair. All new in 2014 (not dated)
After running my family run Inn for 28 years I know you can't please everyone. Sorry about that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
1.0 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bridge View Guest House
Bridge View Guest House
#2 of 9 in Ironbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Hart Ironbridge
The White Hart Ironbridge
#4 of 9 in Ironbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Foundry Masters House
The Foundry Masters House
#1 of 1 in Coalbrookdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bird in Hand Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bird in Hand Inn

Property: The Bird in Hand Inn
Address: Waterloo Street, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ironbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bird in Hand Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run Inn built in 1774 great views and ideal location to all museums. Excellent food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Bird in Hand Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bird In Hand Inn Ironbridge, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing