We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected to visit one day, stayed three”

Ironbridge Gorge Museums
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic area, often used by moviemakers because of its unspoiled, authentic 18th-century architecture, offers several museums that represent a different aspect of Britain's industrial heritage.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Expected to visit one day, stayed three”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We planned to stay at Ironbridge but visit The Potteries in Staffordshire for two of our three days. We so loved the area and the museums that we spent all our time there. The year-long passport is a great idea and so many of the museums had thoughtful shops (good, relevant books as well as a range of appropriate souvenirs) and good cafes and places to sit outside and take it all in. We'll be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cvb1793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    173
    50
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ten museums”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

bought the family passport online before we went Staff are fantastic,friendly knowledgable gives you twelve months to visit each museum loved blist hill victorian village. Educational and interesting well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamiecat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great day out for all the family”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had a fabulous day at Ironbridge. Parking is free at the Park and Ride and buses between the various attractions are free if you purchase an annual ticket. We bought our annual tickets using Tesco Days Out vouchers, which is fantastic value and we can now go back as many times as we want over the next year. There is far too much to see in one day so you need to choose which bits to go to. Obviously the iron bridge itself is a must, but you can see this for free without buying a ticket! It's worth going into the museum to find out the history of the bridge and why it was built. We also loved the tile museum and the Victorian town. This is a fantastic attraction for people of all ages and is set in beautiful countryside. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
947 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Well deserved World Heritage status”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Buy the annual ticket, it covers all of the museums and you can get the gorge bus for free, just show your ticket. The bus tour is a must as you get to see the whole of the gorge and you can hop on and off. Ironbridge is very pretty and fascinating. There is lots to see and do.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank graham198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Any Old Iron”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

It's probably all been said but here are some of our groups thoughts and likes/ dislikes.
Refreshments: absolutely dreadful. Take your own!
Staff: fantastic. Everyone involved are extremely helpful, courteous and smile! Ditto the bus drivers.
Park and ride: great although bus TT took some getting used to and a bit scary in some passing places.
Ten museums. The one that was tops for us was the tile museum. Absolutely fantastic and one could almost spend a whole day there at that one museum.
All dog friendly with water bowls for thirsty dogs everywhere.
Plenty of resting places for tired legs.
Great value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank muchado55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ironbridge Gorge Museums also viewed

 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to Ironbridge Gorge Museums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing