We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoying The Riverside Experience”

Ironbridge Gorge Museums
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic area, often used by moviemakers because of its unspoiled, authentic 18th-century architecture, offers several museums that represent a different aspect of Britain's industrial heritage.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Enjoying The Riverside Experience”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our visit to Ironbridge Museums never fails to inspire us. For those interested in the industrial revolution and all that is associated with that era, Ironbridge Gorge & the Museum experience is well worth it . Today, we had the added bonus warm sunshine , a quiet cooling breeze and blue skies. Although, whenever we visit, rain, snow or sunshine, Ironbridge offers a variety of interesting sites. The Museum of The River, was opened by The Prince Of Wales on May 8th 1989 and is interesting and worth another visit, I tend to say this about most of the various museums available around Ironbridge. But, the historical experience offers us the opportunity to savour both the rural views and interesting museums. The relatively modern Power Station Cooling Towers actually adds a kinda hard landscaping and architectural authenticity to this now scenic location. However, once inside the various living museums, it doesn't take much to fire up the imagination, thus transporting yourself back in time when the smoke from the active chimneys bellowed out and polluted the Industrial hot bed that once dominated Ironbridge. It is now a smokeless region, although some of the living museums provides a taste of yesteryear. The River Severn was once a fluid thoroughfare where, narrow boats and other river vessels carried all manner of industrial cargo, including fossil fuel to fire the furnaces. Today, the greenery, and fast flowing river entices visitors from all walks of life. Old workers terraced cottages have become sought after properties to this quaint Shropshire location which offers visitors a window to the past. I have shared a few random photos, for you to check out. I hope they will provide a flavour of what you might see today when visiting Ironbridge Gorge. Incidentally, my wife and I have continued to visit Ironbridge for over several decades. We have observed how the area has evolved. Our own grandchildren and future generations will certainly benefit from the fruits of the labour that has gone into reinstating many of the industrial buildings which would otherwise have been lost relics of the past. If you enjoy history, and scenic views, then Ironbridge is worth a visit.

Regards,

PR

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    162
    45
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great bits of English history”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Nice, small museums of the Industrial Revolution, with good hands on elements, videos, and supporting text. The Museum of Iron is especially important. Finish your day with 2-3 hours at Blists Hill Victorian town, with excellent displays, characters in costume. Good for all ages, my college-aged group loved it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TCopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a little deflated”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Been to a few of these old town like museums and had been to this one as a child so wanted to take my son but was not impressed, the young staff couldn't answer questions and the houses were so dirty other places have staff treating these house as there own but this wasn't like that. Chip shop was amazing though and the piano players in the pub were good. Just needed the authentic feel..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank eviechads12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ironbridge Gorge Museums Tourist Traps”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Visited three gorge museums today, £27 each for adult visitor. It is for an annual pass for several museums BUT how many casual tourists come back. I am Australian and I was informed by staff that there were more Aussies visiting today than Brits. Well did we get our moneys worth? In a nutshell in my opinion NO! By the time you pay for parking at most venues (this pay parking EVERYWHERE in UK is bad news), have lunch, maybe a cuppa and fuel its another £100 day. I reckon there is a reason why a couple of these museums had only three or four visitors whilst I was there, the word is out, too expensive and a tourist trap. Maybe these museums need to look at Nat Trust and English Heritage properties and compare value for money. We will steer away from 'tourist trap' museums now. Its a pity because a few of them have a good story to tell. For an alternative try the FREE Much Wenlock Museum and Abbey on an English Heritage Pass, coffees are cheaper there too at £2 for huge Latte in the Market Square coffee and smoothie cafe! It is possible to find many free or donation museums in small towns and villages in the UK, go look for them instead.
It maybe that there is no government money out there to assist these museums tell their story and ensure little or no entry fees, if that is the case (and I am almost certain of it) this is the first sign of a breaking down of the social fabric in a country when everyone HAS to make money out of a fantastic history and very little patch of ground where one can park a car.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Oh bless those who scored this place less than average”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I do respect other peoples opinions etc, however this place is large and overall should be able to meet your expectations or exceed your expectations.
Top marks to the Costume Staff - always in character and polite and pleasant.
Top marks for the layout and space - most times I've visited I would say there was plenty of room to move around.
The various features and interaction is also worthy of applause.
Overall for the oldies a great trip down stories of their childhood, for youngsters - its like a different world one that we will not see again as technology advances and many skills are changed to machines and hidden in factories etc.
Been many times before and will go back with guest many times into the future i'm sure.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 63Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ironbridge Gorge Museums also viewed

 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to Ironbridge Gorge Museums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing