We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Since when did bread become so expensive?!!!”

La Casita Bar Tapas
Ranked #15 of 29 Restaurants in Ironbridge
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Since when did bread become so expensive?!!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Quite tasty, basic tapas. Nice environment. Pleasant staff. However, if you are endeavouring to be authentic with your food/service, rather than charge a quite ridiculous £6 for two tiny plates of bread, why not do as the Spanish do and offer complimentary bread with the meal, and a jug of tap water? It's a nice touch, at barely any expense to you, and the customer may just buy more tapas to eat with it! Same with the Sangria. Why so weak and so much ice that there's barely enough in the jug for a glass each? A Spaniard would be quite ashamed.

Doubt I'll ever return here as I can make much better and adventurous tapas myself at home, while avoiding being so ripped off.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_SmT-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    40
    16
    8
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Scrummy Tapas won't be our last time at La Casita”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had five dishes and they were all really lovely. Our first visit to Iron Bridge but not our last and defiantly not our last at this really lovely friendly restaurant! MrsMolson

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEMolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Spanish Evening”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spotted this restaurant on Trip Advisor and it sounded perfect for a 3 generation dinner. It's a tiny place above another restaurant with an entrance tucked away at the side. We ordered a wide variety of dishes and they were all delicious,
With a vegetarian, two fish eaters and one meat eater, there was something for all of us. A fabulous jug of Sangria accompanied it beautifully. And our Granddaughter even managed a dessert!
A great atmosphere with Spanish music playing. We had booked a table which was just as well as it soon filled up. The prices were good for the quality of the food. I was disappointed that there was no aubergine dish that evening but obviously the menu changes frequently.
This was as good as the many restaurants we have visited on our frequent trips to Spain.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevejdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“wow!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have been here 4 times now and cannot rate this little Spanish Tapas Restaurant highly enough. The ambience & staff are just wonderful, and the food, well - better Tapas than we recently had in Spain!
With offers like 3 Tapas & a glass of wine for £9.95 we will continue to return time & time again and am booking to take my family & friends for my birthday!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kallieshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First time having Tapas - Loved it!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Took my friends to La Casita when they came to visit me in Telford and we all loved it. It was my first time having tapas and was skeptical that I wouldn't be full enough but it was surprisingly filling. We ended up having 12 dishes between the 3 of us and it was more enough. Most of the dishes were amazing, my favourites were the chorizo, deep fried calamari and also the fried whitebait.

The only criticism I have that some of the dishes were ridiculously salty, we ordered an additional 2 dishes after we finished the first 10, one of them being asparagus and smoked salmon which tasted like someone had accidentally spilt salt all over it, didn't even attempt to finish it...but besides from that the meal was amazing. I've been meaning to go back but haven't gotten round to it yet - will deffo be paying it a visit soon though!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessiebee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casita Bar Tapas also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to La Casita Bar Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing