We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT needs to be a dry day to get the best out of this exceptional site”

Blists Hill Victorian Town
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This reconstructed Victorian mining town is one of the best of its kind in England.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“IT needs to be a dry day to get the best out of this exceptional site”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I suggest you juggel your days if you can .Look out for Peter the portrate artist in the gardens he is good and the school mistress / womans rights actavist (all good fun) CAUTION there is quite a distance between the differrent museums in ironbridge you do need your own transport All the sat/nav post codes are in the back of [ Ironbridge 2011 ten amazing museums] booklet available in your first museum or TIC

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank madderdooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,944
    688
    188
    55
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A fascinating visit to the past”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Spent most of the day here with my husband whilst spending a weekend in the area (we bought Passport tickets for all 10 museums which are great value for money)
We both thought the Blists Hill site was fantastic - so much to see & do, I'd happily go back and see it all again in the near future!
The only niggle was the catering at all of the sites, which was obviously done by one company - very disappointing to find overpriced, 'old motorway services' type cafes serving mass produced rubbish. These days I would expect a much higher standard of catering from such an important attraction (I shudder to think what the many overseas visitors make of it!)
All in all though, I would highly recommend Blists Hill and the whole Ironbridge Museums experience - just take a picnic!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Joy016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant, educational and fun. A must visit!”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Blists Hill was history as it should be enjoyed - a brilliant team of town inhabitants educated, entertained and enthralled us all day in their victorian setting.
If you get a chance, visit - the price looks high but is absolute value for money - even better, if you pick up the Ironbridge museums passport it means it's a doddle - for a whole year too!!!!"

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank monochrome_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic day”
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We bought a family passport and used it to get into 8/10 of the ironbridge gorge museums and we thought this was great value. We loved changing our money and spending it in the sweetshop, pub and at the fair. All the staff and volunteers played their parts well and added to the day. The walk up to the inclined plain was lovely. The only downside was although the advertised closing time was 5 pm we found that things were closing before 4 pm so be aware .

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank UKSnorkeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This attraction has much to offer anyone with a curiosity about the past. It's not cheap but very interested and well-presented. You'll need a good few hours to wander through each building, watch the candlemaker at work, chat to the dressmaker, sample goods from the bakery, visit a squatters' cottage and so on. The only downside to our visit may seem trivial but was irritating. The cafe above the pub has "homemade soup" on the menu. This sounded good to us as we had been missing freshly-cooked, wholesome food. Big mistake! The soup was clearly out of a packet when I queried the staff, it was obvious I wasn't the first to complain. The soup, I was told, was "semi-homemade". No doubt this refers to opening the packet and adding water. This incident left .... yes, a nasty taste in my mouth.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Tourist014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blists Hill Victorian Town also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to Blists Hill Victorian Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing