We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Victorian Village - this is not! A lifeless,dull and dire visit - this is. A wasteland..”

Blists Hill Victorian Town
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This reconstructed Victorian mining town is one of the best of its kind in England.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Victorian Village - this is not! A lifeless,dull and dire visit - this is. A wasteland..”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

So we came to the so called : 'Bliss Victorian Village'. There is no one around to explain Victorian life except for a horse locked in a stable. A 'tourist site' this is not - more like a visit to a rundown W Mids factory.
We popped into a fish and chip shops that apparently was Victorian? You are charged for a 'Victorian barge tri'p after already wasting money by even entering this in the first place. There are no educational sign posts, audiio cues - just an empty,lifeless run down street of buildings that come from not too long ago. The company could have had at least some people dressed up in trhe Victorian period!!!!

We were asked for no feedback??? A complete waste of money.And a Victorian Village this is not!!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
19 Thank sherlock35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,941
    688
    187
    55
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love it, love it, love it”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Fantastic place, worth every penny. I just love it here. I have memories of visiting as a child and to be honest nothing has changed in the 20+ years since I went. One of my favorite attractions in the UK wit.h more than enough to keep you busy the whole day.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sussexperson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Educational without being education.”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I visited here with my wife and two step daughters as part of a few days away. Although the weather during the morning was not at it's best, it did not spoil the day. A well thought out Victorian town with all the very friendly staff in character. The staff gave excellent and humorous explanations of the buildings and activities. Much to our surprise the girls actually loved it! You can use old currency (which sent the girls into panic stations). We would reccommend purchasing the Passport ticket even if you cannot visit every attraction now. It is valid for a whole year so you can come back again to finish off the experience. Cafe and refreshments were not unreasonably priced. Please be aware though, if you are wheelchair bound, some of the attractions could be a little difficult to enter.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank stevegilbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“BLists Hill A great day out.”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

To get great value you must purchase the yearly pass £62.00 for the whole family to go back as many times as you want + access to other musuems.

Its really great for people of all ages, loads of things to see and do, perhaps loads of walking but always somewhere to sit down.

Kids will love it.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank wangle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“IT needs to be a dry day to get the best out of this exceptional site”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I suggest you juggel your days if you can .Look out for Peter the portrate artist in the gardens he is good and the school mistress / womans rights actavist (all good fun) CAUTION there is quite a distance between the differrent museums in ironbridge you do need your own transport All the sat/nav post codes are in the back of [ Ironbridge 2011 ten amazing museums] booklet available in your first museum or TIC

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank madderdooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blists Hill Victorian Town also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to Blists Hill Victorian Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing