We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blists Hill Victorian Town

Blists Hill Victorian Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This reconstructed Victorian mining town is one of the best of its kind in England.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Takes a good 4hours to see it all. Take your camera!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,752
    633
    169
    52
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tips to follow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Blists Hill gets mixed reviews ranging from excellent to poor. I worked there as a demonstrator for two years and to get the best out of the place you need to be armed with the following tips:

1. The museum is interactive.. there are few signs telling you about the exhibits. In order to gain information, you need to talk to the demonstrators. the demonstrators work in the third person, i.e. they are dressed as Victorians to demonstrate how a victorian would dress. They can step in and out of character. The actors (who are professionals) are first person interpreters and never step out of character. (by the way, the museum is staffed by a mixture of unpaid volunteers and minimum wage paid staff sometimes if you pay peanuts you get monkeys). To get the most out of this, you need to be prepared to approach the staff. You'll get the best out of the visit if you're prepared to get into the spirit of things.

2. Blists Hill is one of 10 different museum sites and viewed on its own is expensive, unless you by a passport ticket which gives access to all 10 sites. The passport does not expire but gives you unlimited access in the first year i.e. you can enter Blists Hill as often as you wish in 12 months (excluding certain "special" events). The car park cost is a subject of complaint even within the staff.. so don't park on the museum car park.. park on the free public car park next to Madeley police station at the top of Leggs Way and walk down. Alternatively, don't pay for the pay and display as it's not enforceable.

3. Whoever put "3 hours" visiting time in the brochure is wrong. To see everything will take ALL DAY. Explore every nook and cranny; if you don't you'll miss most of it! Don't expect to be shown a rout, there isn't one and the site covers a huge acreage. I suspect a lot of bad reviews are due to visitors missing so much.

4. Blists Hill opens at 10am every day, but closes at 5pm in the summer and 4pm in the winter (winter starts when the clocks go back. Summer starts when the clocks go forwards). In the winter, some of the exhibits are closed and the fair is shut down for maintenance. But the price is the same summer and winter! To get the best, go in the summer. (this is also a cause for concern for the staff that the trustees don't understand).

5. The catering is franchised except for the bakery and sweetshop. Take your own food; it is expected of you by the museum. The on-site food should be seen as an extra. The quality of the bread and fish and chips depends upon who is making it that day.. but that's very victorian.. standards vary. There are areas set aside for you to consume your own food. As a visitor I would ALWAYS take a picnic.

6. The museum is meant to be authentic, not a theme park but the board are trying to achieve a balance between education and entertainment. Actually, most of the staff think its too theme-parky and would prefer the emphisis to return to the educational.

7. Phone ahead to see what exhibits are open and what are not. Tuesday is usually casting in the foundry between 11:30 - 12:30. This is the best day to go.

8. Bank holidays are too busy and the staff in exhibits such as the bank often don't have time to talk to everybody. On the subject of banks, the money exchange uses replica TOKENS, not real victorian coins which cannot be used. It is meant as a bit of fun and an educational tool, but you are NOT REQUIRED to change your money.

9. The horses are not kept on site, they are transported in and out every day, so by the end of the day, they are tired and carriage rides stop by about 3pm. (the pigs are bread for meat and go to slaughter). The museum is fairly dog friendly, but remember, dog keeping is like smoking. Some people who don't have dogs don't like dogs near them.

10. Don't compare it to Beamish or the Black Country Museum, all three are different from each other and are trying to exhibit different things. Blists Hill should be seen in the context of the Ironbridge Gorge as a whole; if you don't see all 10 museum sites, you don't get the whole experience (and don't get the intended value).

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank WellingtonTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

What a brill day, if fact a day is not quite long enough. Fun for ALL the family young and old and everyone is so welcoming and happy to help

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorna Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Victorian Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Loved this little bit of nostalgia - the sweet shop, the chemist and the haberdashery amongst many village features.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Back in time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We went on a day out with my mum's Craft club, I was realy suprised!
I didnt know what to expect but it was Fantastic (apart from the weather! which did spoil things)
So i will just have to go back to see what missed :).
Would recomend it to everyone, children and adults alike.
My mum is 74yrs young and we had a good laugh recognising things from our past!
Mum telling me storie's from when she was a little girl.
Next time would like to do all the attractions in the area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovecornwallforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blists Hill Victorian Town also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to Blists Hill Victorian Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing