We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and to the point. Make this the 1st stop and get your passport.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of the Gorge

Museum of the Gorge
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small and to the point. Make this the 1st stop and get your passport.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Liked everything, lovely friendly staff and very interesting lay-out and information regarding the History of the Gorge.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    98
    67
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Another good museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very interesting museum showing the history of Ironbridge Gorge. One may think they know how the iron age evolved but think again. Go and see for yourself

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lambo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A lot of money for not a lot of return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The sign on the door says to allow 45 minutes for your visit, halve it. There's two rooms of exhibits and a 12-minute cinema showing - for the princely sum of £4ish per adult. I'm glad we visited as part of the season pass we'd got, I'd feel short changed if I'd paid for this on its own.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dramill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
u.k.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A real feel of the industrial times at the gorge.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

You get to see how the gorge developed and how many industries thrived here. A great model of how the place looked in the 1790 s
situated right on the banks of the river severn.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank littlepatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Few posters and a 10 minute film - not worth the money.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Disappointed with this attraction. If visiting Ironbridge you can buy a pass to visit the ten museums but this is quite pricey. I decided to visit this museum with my 9 year old son to find out a bit more about the local area. Although the posters were well done we had viewed them in 10 minutes then a 10 minute film (which was interesting)and we were done.
If visited as part of the museum pass would be fine but not value for money on its own. We spent longer in the shop.
The toll house on the bridge is free and has more posters.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wishihadapurpletent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of the Gorge also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to Museum of the Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing