We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch with a view”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tontine

The Tontine
Ranked #21 of 29 Restaurants in Ironbridge
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Fantastic Sunday carvery with a great view next to the river. Great price and decent food.

Will definitely be back again time and time again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bugsplatter2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lord of the manor..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I found this place dull and unwelcoming..landlord lords it round the pub,and unless you are really friendly with him..he,ll be funny with you,plus if you complain he,ll argue the point with you..food is cheap and cheerful..atmosphere all depends on how many locals are in..landlord acts like lord of the manor,more so when locals are there..won,t be going back felt uncomfortable in the place...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna45688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tontine1, Owner at The Tontine, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear grumpy ex-customer. Have you ever thought that it is you who is dull and unwelcoming. I would imagine this to be the case. As for "LORDING it round the pub"............hmmm.... not so sure about that. I like to show my face to see what is going on and say hello to people. However the clue is in the job title LAND.....LORD. Quite a good play on words there. I will let you think about it though. I imagine it will take a while.
When you say I'm "funny with people" do you mean funny haha ? as i love to crack a joke or 2. Is this what this is about ? Do you think my jokes are rubbish ?
As for complaints about the food etc, we don't get any so i have nothing to argue about.
Now lets talk about "atmosphere". OF COURSE it depends on how many locals are in at this time of year. It has probably escaped your attention that there is a great big iron bridge opposite this building and oddly enough this quaint little village is called Ironbridge. There could be a connection there but again i will give you a month to work it out. Ironbridge is a tourist area. When the tourists are gone we rely on our locals and locals are people and people create atmosphere. Tadaaaaaa !!!
Unfortunately it sounds as if you did not contribute towards the "atmosphere" apart from to make it an unpleasant one.
Anyway to sum up. Try being "friendly" yourself and i will reciprocate. If you walk in with a face like the world is gonna end there is only so much i can do.
If your not coming back to this fine pub then i can only see it as a win win situation. But please find a hobby or something rather than writing this absolute rubbish here because as LORD OF THE MANOR it is my duty to respond and as LORD OF THE MANOR I have better things to do.
Now if you will excuse me i have an appointment with the Queen and my chauffeur hasn't even finished whipping the servants yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
248 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good Food and well decorated for halloween”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Good wholesome food, nice pint of ale and great prices. While a fire would have been nice this hotel was cosy, they were having a halloween party this weekend and had the place well decked out. Old but nice. Has huge potential.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rhysethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tontine1, Owner at The Tontine, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for your comments.

However we don't decorate the place for halloween. I think you will find that the cobwebs were real, the giant spiders were real, the spattering of blood on the windows was real, the rats on the bar were real, the old witch sitting in the corner stroking her dead cat was a real customer and the zombie looking creatures shuffling around the bar area groaning are the real staff !!!!!!

Just kidding. glad you enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you again.

Oh and we do light the fires sometimes. Thank you for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fab meal again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Well this is my third review and it is still the best Sunday lunch around. No food left on our plates ever!
It is really great to have a local pub that serves such good quality meals with sensible prices and a cheerful atmosphere. Thank you Nick.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilianK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tontine1, Owner at The Tontine, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Always lovely to hear from a valued customer with such fantastic taste

It was definately worth me slipping you that tenner.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

The Tontine was our regular pub whilst staying in Ironbridge. Great atmosphere, great welcome, staff and locals very friendly and welcoming which made for a happy relaxing evening drink. Overall a great pub, highly recommended and fantastic carvery which is extremely good value.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bexster_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tontine1, Owner at The Tontine, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Sorry it has taken so long for me to respond.

Your custom is greatly appreciated and you are always welcome here anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tontine also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to The Tontine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing