We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage in a brilliant location”
other travellers have booked this property
The Lookout Autumn 2015
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lookout Autumn 2015
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The Lookout Autumn 2015
Lookout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anwen B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in a brilliant location”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely cottage in an excellent location for exploring all of Ironbridge. The cottage itself is very cosy, with everything you could possibly need. The owners have really made an effort to make it welcoming, including touches like toiletries, tea and coffee and even a fresh pint of milk in the fridge when we arrived. Booking was easy and communications/directions etc. excellent. We had a wonderful stay and are hoping to come back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable. I would love to welcome you back at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie_14N...
notts
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent cosy cottage”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The lookout cottage is an unexpected gem, within walking distance of the famous iron bridge it is ideally located for visiting all the ironbridge attractions.
The cottage itself is very cosy, and the owners have thought of every detail to make it a home from home, from the fluffy bathrobes & slippers to the tea & biscuits awaiting you. Plus it still has all the mod-cons such as a dishwasher and even an x box!
It's a shame it doesn't have it's own parking space but it wasn't far to walk to the nearby car parks as long as you didn't mind the steep walk back up again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
Thank you for your review - it is appreciated. I am glad you liked the cottage and hope to welcome you again at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb R
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, Beautiful location”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I cant rate this cottage highly enough. The location is great with a fantastic view of the bridge from the bedroom window. The cottage has been resored to an excellent standard, with all modern conveniences you would have in your own home. The decor is "cottage style" with a very modern feel, every detail has been thoughtfully and beautifully incorporated in every room. It is very relaxing although only a few minutes walk to the bridge, shops, pubs and restaurants. I can recommend this cottage to anyone, It has a lovely homely feeling and you can either eat out or cook if you prefer, all cooking utencils and equiment are in avaialable to use in the fully equiped kitchen. The owners have taken great care to make this the perfect place to re-charge your batteries. There are also some lovely additional touches such as a selection of teas and coffee's with fresh milk on arrival, there are also products in the bathroom for guests to use. i will definately be recommending this cottage to friends and family and look forward to returning there ver soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful time in Ironbridge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne H
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

In a brilliant location (only a 2 minute walk from the actual bridge) with a great view of the bridge from the bedroom window. We had a wonderful stay and every need we could have wanted was catered for, E.g. Even an umbrella was provided which came in useful when the rain started! We were welcomed on arrival with a selection of teas and biscuits and a selection of leaflets and info about the area. Everything was very clean and we found the kitchen to be well equipped as we cooked our own meals for the nights we stayed.

The cottage had a real homey feel and had obviously been decorated with a lot of love and care. In particular the bed was probably one of the comfiest we have ever slept in! We would definitely stay here again as it is located perfectly to explore Ironbridge and we felt right at home in this quirky cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location/view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. It is appreciated. I hope to welcome you again at some point to our little cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeeybee...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A peaceful Retreat!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage is in a lovely location and has been refurbished beautifully. It is clear that the owners have restored it with love and pride. It has such a light and airy feel to it it’s easy to forget how old it is (until you see the quirky slanting wardrobe in the bedroom!). The rooms are spacious, particularly the bathroom and the complimentary toiletries are a lovely touch. In fact, despite its homely feel there’s a luxurious ambience to this place from the minute you walk in to the kitchen - where the owners have left a selection of teas and coffee for a welcome drink on arrival, to the most comfortable bed we’ve ever slept in! It is worth noting that the cottage is situated on an incline but we found it fine. We drove to the cottage to drop off our luggage and collected the parking permit that had been left for us, and then parked in Waterloo Road car park, which is one of several car parks in Ironbridge. It probably would have taken just a few minutes to walk back to the cottage but we enjoyed ambling along the High Street and got sidetracked by a pub or two!
Can’t comment on the games console as we didn’t use it but the TV was great (lots of channels) and the Wi-Fi was good too (it was a little sluggish to connect at first but I placed my phone next to the router and it connected straightaway).
We were lucky to have fantastic weather so we sat outside on the patio enjoying the sun – it was so peaceful and private – what a delight.
There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance – we decided to eat at the Malthouse Pub, and can recommend it.
In our opinion this was well worth the money – not only is the accommodation charming but the location is great too. It felt like a real retreat and we recharged our batteries which is exactly what we needed to do. Can’t wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$80
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing