We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Romantic cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The Lookout Autumn 2015
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lookout Autumn 2015
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Lookout Autumn 2015
Lookout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge, Telford, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FurryDee
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Romantic cosy cottage”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Everything that was provided was well thought out. Also it was lovely to have the little extra touches added. This included slippers, tea coffee & gorgeous chocolate. Also in the bathroom there was a lovely welcome pack of soaps, shampoo ect. Dressing gowns lovely & soft. Everything was easy to find. We did have a slight problem getting the key from the safe outside. Once we put the combination in, we couldn't find how to open it. we eventually, after about half an hour we managed it. All in all a good week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: View of Ironbridge & patio
Liked least: Key deposit safe
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Thank you for your response but sorry to hear you had a problem with the key safe. You just have to pull the cover down once you have keyed the code in and the keys can be located inside.

Thank you for staying at The Look Out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMM1980
Hertfordshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A perfect home away from home”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a weekend in December 2013 in this beautiful cottage. Everything about the cottage was perfect for our needs - the cottage is furnished to a high spec, the location is perfect for exploring Ironbridge. We would love to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenic location - blissfully quiet!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad it catered for your needs.
I would love to welcome you back in the future. Thank you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvb11
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little cottage.”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent 9 days in this great little cottage, and what a great time we had. The owners can feel very proud, there is everything with in the cottage that you could hope for, the kitchen contains everything, from a radio to first aid kit to dishwasher, the living dining area is very cosy with free view tv, books DVD,s to a xbox, bedroom lovely room and again very cosy, with a very well appointed bathroom. There is also a lovely outdoor sitting area, perfect for warm summer evenings. All in all the best cottage we have stayed in, and we have stayed in a few. It could not have been better situated for the town and eating house's and the museums, and the places to visit a little further afield. We will be back we loved it so much. So thank you to the owners for creating such a grand place to stay, see you soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for a lovely review. I am pleased that you felt we had catered for all of your needs. Thank you and I hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anwen B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in a brilliant location”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely cottage in an excellent location for exploring all of Ironbridge. The cottage itself is very cosy, with everything you could possibly need. The owners have really made an effort to make it welcoming, including touches like toiletries, tea and coffee and even a fresh pint of milk in the fridge when we arrived. Booking was easy and communications/directions etc. excellent. We had a wonderful stay and are hoping to come back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable. I would love to welcome you back at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie_14N...
notts
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent cosy cottage”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The lookout cottage is an unexpected gem, within walking distance of the famous iron bridge it is ideally located for visiting all the ironbridge attractions.
The cottage itself is very cosy, and the owners have thought of every detail to make it a home from home, from the fluffy bathrobes & slippers to the tea & biscuits awaiting you. Plus it still has all the mod-cons such as a dishwasher and even an x box!
It's a shame it doesn't have it's own parking space but it wasn't far to walk to the nearby car parks as long as you didn't mind the steep walk back up again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
Thank you for your review - it is appreciated. I am glad you liked the cottage and hope to welcome you again at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb R
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, Beautiful location”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I cant rate this cottage highly enough. The location is great with a fantastic view of the bridge from the bedroom window. The cottage has been resored to an excellent standard, with all modern conveniences you would have in your own home. The decor is "cottage style" with a very modern feel, every detail has been thoughtfully and beautifully incorporated in every room. It is very relaxing although only a few minutes walk to the bridge, shops, pubs and restaurants. I can recommend this cottage to anyone, It has a lovely homely feeling and you can either eat out or cook if you prefer, all cooking utencils and equiment are in avaialable to use in the fully equiped kitchen. The owners have taken great care to make this the perfect place to re-charge your batteries. There are also some lovely additional touches such as a selection of teas and coffee's with fresh milk on arrival, there are also products in the bathroom for guests to use. i will definately be recommending this cottage to friends and family and look forward to returning there ver soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful time in Ironbridge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne H
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

In a brilliant location (only a 2 minute walk from the actual bridge) with a great view of the bridge from the bedroom window. We had a wonderful stay and every need we could have wanted was catered for, E.g. Even an umbrella was provided which came in useful when the rain started! We were welcomed on arrival with a selection of teas and biscuits and a selection of leaflets and info about the area. Everything was very clean and we found the kitchen to be well equipped as we cooked our own meals for the nights we stayed.

The cottage had a real homey feel and had obviously been decorated with a lot of love and care. In particular the bed was probably one of the comfiest we have ever slept in! We would definitely stay here again as it is located perfectly to explore Ironbridge and we felt right at home in this quirky cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location/view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. It is appreciated. I hope to welcome you again at some point to our little cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing