We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
The Tontine Hotel(Ironbridge)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
204
93
48
40
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
204
93
48
40
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthouselive musicgarden suitethe pubjade roomthe blue roommalt houseroll top baththe rivergreat nightgreat atmospherehave eaten herespiral staircasesaturday nightmain buildingpuddingfunction room
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2016

This was not our first choice hotel in Ironbridge.
Luckily it has a separate annex with rooms as the pub is very popular and has live music which would keep people awake in the main building.
The rooms are all individual and differently decorated. Quirky but not practical. They are dark and ours was very cold! Only one radiator worked.
The bathroom was ok, clean but lacked hand towels and a bath mat.
Sleep was good but only one side of the bed had a lamp for reading. If the intention is to do something else in bed then their idea of a sensual surrounding is very different from mine. Gaudy furry pink throws, cushions etc are more likely to make you feel bilious than put you in the mood. Awful materials for harbouring germs also!
Doing your hair or make up is tricky in the poor light. The mirrors are too small and not well placed.
Didn't eat there and declined the breakfast as there are better, and cheaper, places to eat in town.
Would love to return to Ironbridge but not to The Malthouse.

Room Tip: Must love bright colours, gawky decor and plenty of flock!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SheffieldWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Arrived as returning customers to be told we had not been booked in for 2 nights in gold room as was advised to do as it was noisy last time in white room and we ended up back in white room very annoyed but as we had traveled from sheffield we accepted white room as it was only room available for 2 nights but we really enjoy Malthouse but it did put a damper on the start of our weekend and ?mark on our return as we didn't get room we had booked

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 1teabag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

My partner and I fancied a day out in Ironbridge along with our six year old son as it's a beautiful place, the weather was great and on arrival we managed to find a parking space directly outside The Malthouse on the road.It was lunchtime and as ever our son was starving and we liked the look of the place with it's freshly painted grey exterior,and headed inside. The decor inside is a bit 1980's Athena style with bright red and black paintwork, leopard print and Marilyn Monroe pictures but each to their own.

There were plenty of friendly staff available and a lady that I presume was the owner/manager at the reception, with the peroxide blonde short cropped hair.

We ordered two Cokes and a juice, and when they arrived my glass was covered in lipstick all the way round the rim which was exchanged with no problem at all, but how they missed that I will never know.

We ordered a kids Mini Cheese & Tomato French Bread Pizza & Chips, a prawn cocktail and two roast beef lunches and it was at this point that it started to go downhill.

Whilst there we could hear the constant ringing of a loud bell from the kitchen which obviously means that something is ready to be given to the customers.

I must point out that my son is a fussy eater and when his food arrived it looked fine to me but he took one bite and turned his nose up at it. It transpired that underneath the cheese on the pizza were peppers and onion which is fine but it would have been helpful if we had known this when reading the menu, rather than having to scrape it all off, so my son would stop whingeing.

My prawn cocktail came with a piece of toast that was burnt black on one side and strategically placed burnt side down...How long does it take to toast another piece of bread..?

The roast beef dinners arrived on massive plates but looked surprisingly empty. There was plenty of beef and gravy in the middle but only two roast potatoes each and a large Yorkshire pudding. The veg came separately in what I would describe as a soup bowl and it was for the both of us which was ridiculous. There were two small new potatoes in the bowl, green beans, carrots and cauliflower all of which looked like they had been microwaved to within an inch of their lives, and was at best a portion for one person.

At the end of the meal and once our table was cleared my missus spoke to the owner/manager in a courteous manner explaining that it was a nice place and the staff friendly, however that it would be helpful if the menu stated that the pizza contained onion and peppers as kids could be fussy eaters. Her comments were totally dismissed and she was fobbed off whilst the lady answered the phone.

When the time came to pay there was a long queue to use the chip and pin at the till and we were glad to leave having parted with £29.05...

In summary...At 2300Hrs with a live band playing and the lights low then this place is probably pretty good I imagine, but during a family dinner at lunchtime it was pretty disappointing and in our opinion there are better places to eat at in Ironbridge and more friendly as we found out later on.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Beautiful modern clean room and staff, food and bar nice. However this was sadly ruined by the fact our room was above the bar - we were told by the manager on arrival that we "would be able to hear the music from our room but it will end at half 11".

This could not have been more greatly under-exaggerated. I am not being over the top when I say the whole room was vibrating and far past 11:30pm might I add. To add to our annoyance, check out was at 10am - after having a band on and my room vibrating until midnight are you honestly having a laugh??

If you prefer to be in bed by 10/11 (or at least have the option to!) in order to make the most of the following day of your trip, do not stay here

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JBurnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Checked in by friendly staff and taken to our room. There is parking which always is a bonus. The rooms are individually decorated with quirky things, a little different. The room was clean, a reasonable size with most needs catered for. Tissues and water glasses would complete the room. The bathroom was contemporary and clean. The shower is awsome. The pub is friendly and well located within Ironbridge. Dinner was well cooked and hot with a varied menu of pub grub. The breakfast was delicious with the sausages of particular note. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews