We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Artisans Of Shropshire Incorporating da Vinci Deli & Wine Shop
Price range: US$17 - US$58
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“super shop”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

met the owners last december and twice more this year, attended a vodka tasting and thouroghly enjoyed it, good food and wine in the deli, nice products on sale made by people not machines in china!
well worth a visit and chat

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unclejessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    8
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Memorable Birthday Meal”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked the dinning room for a group of eight to celebrate my husband's 60thBirthday.
Nadia and David were really helpful with the organisation of the evening including the menu, table settings etc.
We arrived and were warmly greeted by David at the front door. The evening kicked off with with Prossecco and olives in the cellar.
Then we went upstairs to the dinning room, which was all set up with the tables exactly as we wanted.
The food was out of this world.

We all sat around a large table and had
A platter of Wenlock Farm Charcuterie: Coppa,, Bresaola, Prosciutto, Hunter Salami and Pancetta.
We also had platters of Cheese and local Asparagus and Mint Salad
Artichoke salad with cheese
Assorted Crostini
Bread and Bread Sticks
............
Followed by a palate freshner
............
main course was:
A Tuscan grill Platter: spring lamb cutlets, stuffed pork cutlets, Braccioline of Beef, Fried Chicken and Tuscan Style Sausage
vegetarian option was Selection of vegetables
fish option was char grilled sea bass served on saffron tomato linguine with king prawns
All of the above were served with Caponata, green salad and Sautéed potatoes
........
Desserts were a selection of Nadia's home made desserts, Italian Ice creams or a cheese platter
......
Followed by tea/ coffee and hand made chocolates
WOW

We had a fabulous evening. We brought our own playlist of music.
We left 5 hours later after a magical evening.
Nadia you are our Fairy GodMother.
We would definitely come again for another special celebration.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kitegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cheese for every occasion”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The deli and wineshop of some of my favourites in the county. Fantastic cheese, wine, tapenade and nibbles for all occasions. The very knowledgeable staff are friendly and helpful. The range of produce is interesting and we always spend more than we really should.. This is a real gem and worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Plummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service/selection”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is a fantastic addition to the gorge with amazing crafts on offer and delicious nibbles. A local selection of fine cheese a large selection of Italian wines and great value tai-out food including tasty Vegan selection, deli fayre such as antipasti/olives/tapenade. The team are so wonderful and helpful and they also do wine tasting/dining nights as specials. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Violet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Definitely NOT closed, just a bit different”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Those of you who've put a review on without even visiting the place might want to try again. The restaurant has undergone a bit of a change.

Gone are the small tables in the cellar and on the ground floor. The cellar is now a deli and the ground floor is a craft shop selling items made by local people. An interesting collection of gift ideas and decorations.

The shop is still run by David and Nadia, but instead of having diners every night, they arrange theme nights for small groups of up to twelve people in the dining room on the first floor. The way these nights are organised and run make for an even better dining experience.

To find out what they are doing, you'll need to find their page on Facebook. Try this link

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Artisans-of-Shropshire/1391056897777613?id=1391056897777613&sk=info

Anyway, we went there for an Italian Christmas meal. The evening started in the deli with prosecco and olives. We chose our wine, not from a list, but from the display. Wines are sold at retail prices, with no markup or corkage, so you can get a decent bottle at a reasonable price. We selected from the menu (five courses) before going upstairs.

The dining room was set for eight, all sat around one table, giving it the feel of a family meal. We didn't know any of the other guests, but the ambience ensured that we all engaged in conversation.

The five courses were served at a good pace, giving us plenty of time to chat. The food was fantastic - freshly prepared and cooked to perfection.

Da Vinci is no longer a very good restaurant, it is now an outstanding treat for a special occasion. We weren't disappointed and I would recommend planning ahead to make sure you get the opportunity to enjoy a genuine Italian eating experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Artisans Of Shropshire Incorporating da Vinci Deli & Wine Shop also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing