We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridge View Guest House
Ranked #2 of 10 Ironbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Fantastic place, wonderful staff who were very attentive and a lovely breakfast-would highly recommend. Free wifi was a bonus. Ideally placed to enjoy the sights of Ironbridge. Will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CherylH35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This B&B is quite pricy, but well worth the extra cost. There is a fantastic view of the Ironbridge directly outside the B&B. Included in the price is a car park for your use the whole of your stay (and even after checkout!).

When we arrived we were greeted by the owner who helped with our bags and took us on a tour of the guest house. There is complimentary wine, cocktail coolers, fruit juice, water and home-made cakes in the mini fridge, along with tea/coffee facilities and biscuits in the room. The bed and pillows was so comfy and the power shower was great!

The room and guesthouse is decorated to a high finish. In the room is an iPod docking station, DAB radio, flat screen TV and DVD player. There is also a communal decked area with chairs, sofas and outside lighting. The only thing missing was some halogen heaters for when the sun sets and the temperature dips.

And finally the cooked breakfasts were gorgeous!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreaFergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is an great guest house. All the staff were very helpful and made us feel at home. The breakfast was one of the best I we have had. The room (Bay) was also one of the best we have stayed in. We had a great view of the old iron bridge. There are lots of places to eat and drink. We had a great walk along the river and some of the view were outstanding. We ill stay at this guest house again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the view but all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I of 2 years decided to visit Iron Bridge for a number of reasons...but mainly Blists Hill Victorian Town. I decided to book us in to the Bridge View Guest House. My main reason for booking us in was because of the glowing reviews against all of the other guest houses and B&Bs in the area. I must admit, I paid a little more than I would normally pay for this guest house, but it was a treat and I didn't want to skimp on quality. Turns out it was the best decision I made!

We were called earlier in the day to ask what time we were arriving, to which they informed us that our check-in time was flexible for the day. Then we were greeted by the owner when we turned up, helped with our bags and taken on the tour of the guest house. Free wine in the mini fridge, free home-made cakes, and tea/coffee/biscuit facilities in the room. The room was so comfy and the power shower was amazing! And the view? Perfect!

The location of the B&B was perfect! Pubs and restaurants down either end of the Iron Bridge gorge, antique shops, curiosity shops, and lovely little cafes! A short drive away you have various museums as well as the Victorian town.

The only gripe I had was the floorboards in the room above us creaked whenever the guests moved about in there, so it kept waking me up. But then again I never sleep perfectly outside of my own bed, so it was a minor inconvenience and not the fault of the owners.

For breakfast we had a full English, complete with local eggs and local meats, heaps of toast and a big pot of coffee. It kept us full all day!

Overall, a warm and friendly greeting combined with a comfortable and cosy room made this trip to Iron Bridge more than perfect! We can't wait to come back!

Thanks!

Louise & Russ

Room Tip: Ask for a top room or one with a view of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is one of the best B&B`s I have been to, the place, view, staff, food and rooms where very nice and I can`t think of anything that could have been better. From I reserved my room until checkout the staff was very helpful and nice!

The small town of Ironbridge is lovely, and with a very interesting and exciting history, the bridge that is standing right across the small road from the B&B is the first of its kind built in the whole world and is in very good shape!

The city and people are also nice and I recommend this place to anyone who want a nice place to stay!

Room Tip: Get a room with view over the Iron Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We just came back from a few days (01/05-04/05/14) at the Bridge View Guesthouse; and we really enjoyed our stay.
The situation of the Guesthouse was excellent.
The room was comfortable and very clean.
Richard was very helpful.
The full English breakfast served at the Darby´s 1779 was very nice.
We highly recommend the Bridge View Guest House.
Spanish guests of the "Quaker Room"

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnBovalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Fantastic from start to finish and top to bottom. What a view! The best breakfasts ever! Staff fantastic and very friendly. Best pork pies next door and lots of local attractions and museums. Who needs to go abroad!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
988 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
1.8 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
167 reviews
0 mi away
Library House
Library House
#3 of 10 in Ironbridge
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bird in Hand Inn
The Bird in Hand Inn
#1 of 10 in Ironbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge View Guest House

Address: 10 Tontine Hill, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ironbridge
Price Range: £83 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridge View Guest House is set next to the historic Iron Bridge. This charming guest house sits above a delightful tea room serving food all day. When the Iron Bridge was built in 1779, artists, travellers and even industrial spies flocked to see it. At Bridge View Guest House, you can admire the striking ironwork while enjoying full English or continental breakfast. Bridge View's rooms are spacious and elegant in style, with pretty paintings and contemporary decor. Bathrobes and free toiletries feature in each en suite bathroom, and benefits also include a flat-screen TV with a DVD player, and an iPod docking station. There is also a fridge with complementary content. Free Wi-Fi is offered. A short stroll along the River Severn will take you to a range of restaurants and eateries. Ironbridge Gorge Museum can be reached in around 20 minutes on foot, and Telford is about a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bridge View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge View Guest House Ironbridge, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing