We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food....pity about service!”
Review of Ludlow Food Centre

Ludlow Food Centre
Ranked #3 of 9 Shopping in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: British Cheese Awards winners in 2017 for a range of products, Farm Shop & Deli Awards Food Hall of The Year 2016, Great Taste Awards Shop of the Year 2015, Britain's Best Food Hall 2014 and Winner of the UK's Best Farm Shop Award 2013. Ludlow Food Centre provides a unique shopping experience where farming, food production and retailing come together to create a very special environment. Watch half of the shop’s produce being created through windows into the production kitchens; see cheese, butter, yoghurt and ice-cream being made using milk from the Estate’s own cows, fresh bread made daily in the onsite scratch bakery and jams and pickles handmade on site. There is also an extensive and knowledgeable butchery selling estate reared meat, deli and coffee roasting room. 80% of the produce sold is sourced from Shropshire and the surrounding counties. The site also offers a gift shop, picnic area and children’s play area, and is also home to Ludlow Kitchen and the award-winning The Clive Restaurant
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We arrived in the restaurant on a Saturday afternoon around 2.40pm. Greeted by "the hot food has finished and we only have white bread!!" Feeling a little like a nuisance we decided on our sandwiches and drinks. The waitress almost threw the cutlery on the table making us again feel "unwelcome!!" The food as always was delicious. I understand it had been a busy, busy day in the restaurant but if the restaurant is open then ALL customers should be made to feel welcome. Having been a bit cheesed off with our service we will visit again for such wonderful food.

1  Thank traveller1955_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward799, General Manager at Ludlow Food Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for this review. You have on the face of it been very generous in giving us 4 stars and with the experience described, we deserve a harsher review.
Yes, it was a busy day; in fact the busiest since we opened the new café 1½ year ago. I do not wish to make excuses as busy days are what make these places work. Again, not wishing to make excuses, but every now and then mistakes can, and I can guarantee as we are talking about normal people will be made. I have discussed this with the café manager and he has spoken to the team to address this.
I apologise for the poor service but hope very much that you will return
Edward Berry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bread"
in 83 reviews
"food hall"
in 34 reviews
"garden centre"
in 31 reviews
"farm shop"
in 30 reviews
"local produce"
in 47 reviews
"cheese counter"
in 17 reviews
"beef"
in 13 reviews
"quality food"
in 12 reviews
"quiche"
in 11 reviews
"cakes"
in 39 reviews
"fresh meat"
in 10 reviews
"coleslaw"
in 8 reviews
"bacon"
in 13 reviews
"under one roof"
in 7 reviews
"meringue"
in 14 reviews
"post office"
in 12 reviews
"the kitchen"
in 17 reviews
Filter

409 - 413 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We visited this restaurant twice on our recent stay in Ludlow. We had eaten here 2 years ago when in the area and we were very pleased to return. We had lovely beef sandwiches with salad, delicious coleslaw and onion confit, really tasty. We then came back for breakfast before leaving the area, again we were well pleased with our meals.
We then shopped for our journey home, pork pie and scones, such good quality and much better and cheaper than the motorway services!
We also bought bacon and meat to take home. Wish we could visit much more often!

1  Thank chrishelben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A wide range of good local products, excellent marmalade, but also meat, cheeses and bread. First went there to buy food for a picnic, but went back there the following day for more serious shopping. A bit pricey, but totally worth it.

Thank frederique r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We visit the area about twice a year and have now made a firm habit of dropping in.

The quality of products is extremely high in general - even more so with the stuff they create there (which is a lot of it).

I've been going to the area all my life, and if you'd taken me as a kid in the '80s or a teenager in the '90s and told me this place would exist then I just would not have believed you.

Wonderful meat, bread, beer, cider, fruit, veg.

Downsides? You do have to watch what you're buying, or the bill will rack up very speedily. But if you're judicious you can get superb value. The staff are a little variable - some seem to find working there a bit of a chore, others clearly like it.

Thank LondonMedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The expectation having driven out of Ludlow specially to find something local/special to take back to our self catering cottage was dashed. This was due to unrealistically expensive pricing across the board. We were prepared to finance a few treats as this was not a supermarket but felt overall it was prohibitively expensive.

2  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward799, General Manager at Ludlow Food Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

I am sorry that this reviewer had issue with our prices. Prices for food in this country are a huge issue and with such power in the hands of so few retailers, convincing the public that food should be cheap, we independents have to work hard to distinguish ourselves. We have none of the buying power, economies of scale nor supply chain infrastructure. However as with all things there has to be recognition for differences in quality and that is what we at the Ludlow Food Centre believe in. Our food is not made in factories; it is made by us, by real people not machines. Smaller brands will almost always come at a higher price than the major ones, and in also choosing these we are aiming to be not a supermarket. I do however recognise that not all are interested in sourcing food of quality and that for many price is the major factor that determines choice. Interestingly we look at the supermarkets to see what prices are being charged and with areas such as meat we are often at comparable prices as noted by a previous reviewer, sometimes cheaper, despite the fact that we breed our own livestock and can genuinely claim that we have been involved through all stages. If the reviewer wishes to contact me, I would be happy to share a spreadsheet which might surprise him with the number of products that have parity with supermarkets. I am curious to know what the reviewer did not buy and did not find that was truly local. We are always interested to hear from visitors if there is something we should stock. In my travels I have yet to find a retailer that genuinely produces the range of foods on site that we do (and in units that customers can see) - namely bread, biscuits and cakes, ice cream, yoghurt, cheeses, desserts, jams, pickles, ready meals, pasties and pies, all meats including bacon and sausages, charcuterie and more. We even roast our own coffee! The Ludlow Food Centre has developed its following over seven years winning numerous awards such as Farm Shop 2013 and Food Hall 2014. We employ genuine artisans to make our food and to this end there is no rationale in simply dismissing us.
Edward Berry
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ludlow Food Centre also viewed

Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Ludlow Food Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing