We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place, friendly staff, fantastic food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Charlton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Charlton Arms
Ranked #6 of 48 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place, friendly staff, fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the charlton arms on the 24 of feb 2014. We booked the suite with a jacuzzi/double spa bath and a private hot tub on our own balcony. The room was absolutely beautiful, very cosy but still stylish and modern. The dining area was gorgeous with a very relaxed vibe. The food was delicious, couldn't fault it at all. We loved how the place looked like a 4 star hotel but then entering the bar area it had "your local pub atmosphere" very relaxed and inviting. Staff were very attentive and it was clear they all enjoyed working there and wanted to do there very best to make your stay as lovely as possible. All in all an absolutely brilliant night away. Well worth every penny! Already planning on going back.. Thank you so much to the staff for making our stay as good as it was! We will be seeing you all again very soon! Chris&Tash :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christash19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    95
    27
    15
    8
See reviews for
42
150
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at the Charlton Arms on 14th February 2014 for one night. We had the large 4 poster bedroom with huge jacuzzi bath! Apparently this is due for redecorating so should be even nicer this year. There was a great patio terrace leading off the bedroom with a hot tub which will be great in the summer. We had a lovely drink in the cosy bar and then a fabulous meal in the restaurant. The food was excellent. The breakfast was equally as good with very tasty sausages and bacon. We will definitely be back! Thanks.

Room Tip: Choose the one overlooking the river with private terrace. Not cheap but will be worth it when redec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracylp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I Live in ludlow and were excited to hear about the new management and revamp of the charlton arms!

Set in a beautiful location, the new menu fully lives up to expectations. We ate on a Sunday evening, my partner had Cumberland sausages with mash potato and I had the roasted chicken followed by a chocolate and caramel tart to share. Everything was delicious.

From start to finish the service was excellent, food fantastic and we look forward to making this out favorate place to eat in Ludlow.

Thankyou Charlton Arms

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We called in on the Re-opening night to find a warm and friendly spacious pub. Great staff and an excellent menu!! If you just want a relaxing drink with a muddy dog and some yummy bar nibbles this is certainly the place to be. Superb, our new local...........

Well done Cedric, Amy and the Team. Welcome back to the area after successful ventures in London............we are very lucky to have you here in Ludlow!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zone1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
229 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We are regulars at the CA and for us it's ideal and only a short walk up to town.
At our last stay we were informed - a little abruptly, that a refurbishment was due, it would be under new management - and the prices will go up and this was at checking in!
Generally, we find the staff warm and welcoming but not necessarily this particular staff member, at this particular time. However, we still booked to stay again for our regular annual. stay but will see how the changes affect the rooms and the facilities.
The setting is great next to the river Teme on the old bridge and the bar has a good choice of beers and ciders etc.
The rooms are comfortable not luxurious but with good bathrooms in some and although a little expensive, even before the aforementioned price hike, we still think it's been worth it over the time we've been going.
Breakfasts are good and overall we like it, but will the changes be for the better....? WTS...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
0.4 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
0.2 mi away
Overton Grange Hotel
Overton Grange Hotel
#7 of 8 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlton Arms

Property: The Charlton Arms
Address: Ludford Bridge, Ludlow, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charlton Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Charlton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charlton Arms Hotel Ludlow
The Charlton Arms Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing