We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of 37 Gravel Hill B&B

37 Gravel Hill B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludlow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
37 Gravel Hill B&B
Ranked #12 of 47 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This has to go down as the best B&B I have stayed in! My Husband and I visited Ludlow for a rest and relaxation get away from our daily grind and we could not have chosen better accommodation.

Angela was a wonderful host the rooms was exceptional, the decoration and cleanliness of the whole place was wonderful.

I would defiantly recommend this place

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
46
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We celebrated our first wedding anniversary at 37 Gravel Hill. We were hoping to book somewhere special and this B&B certainly met our expectations and more besides. The accommodation is sited on a quiet residential street, and is ideally located for both the centre of Ludlow and the train station, which is just a 5 minute walk away. We booked the double room which overlooked the back garden. The view from this room was impressive, particularly in the evenings with the sun setting behind the rolling hills.

Our room was very tastefully furnished and really felt like home from home. Breakfast was plentiful and of a good standard. Our host, Angela, couldn't have been more welcoming and helpfully suggested places to eat and sights to see. Angela provided a comprehensive range of literature on Ludlow and the surrounding area, which even included a book on the history of the town.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 37 Gravel Hill and would definitely recommend this option to anyone looking for a special stay in the centre of Ludlow.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red_engine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Stayed two night in this delightful property, extremely comfortable, close to the town centre of Ludlow and we boththroughly enjoyed the stay. Mrs Straker recommended a neaby french restaurant which was reasonably priced, the sea bass and all the meal was great. Would recoment it to anyone who wanted a stay in this lovely town. The breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We booked this B&B for one night for my boyfriend and I in one room and our friends in the other. It was really nice that it was just the four of us staying (4 in the 2 rooms). We had a beautiful double room with our own bathroom just down the corridor and our friends had the twin room with en-suite. This house is stunning - high ceilings, large rooms, beautifully decorated and everything spotlessly clean. I loved the extra touches like the big, white dressing gowns in the double room. The breakfast was great and Angela was a fantastic hostess - really friendly and helpful. It was also great to be just 5 minutes walk from the town centre. We definitely recommend this place - we all really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2011

A very high level of accommodation, lovely beds and great rooms. Lovely and helpful host (Angela)...superb breakfast, a lovely stay for us all (4 in total in 2 rooms).

Room Tip: Any allocated room will exceed expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquariums1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

My husband and I selected this B & B after reading a previous review. It was an excellent choice.

The Victorian property is full of character.

There are 2 bedrooms, one is a double room with a very large double bed, the bathroom is just down the landing for this room, and the other bedroom is a twin bedded room with an ensuite bathroom. We chose the double room, the bed is lovely and comfortable and the pillows, duvet and linen are very good quality. Tea, coffee and biscuits are supplied in the bedroom and ample milk for the drinks. There is also a TV in the room.

We were supplied with 2 lovely dressing gowns to wear to the bathroom. The bathroom has a large bath and also a shower and sink and, of course, a toilet. There are thoughtful finishing touches like cotton wool balls and buds, paper tissues, disposable razors, handwash etc and bottled water if desired.

The breakfast cannot be faulted. There is a choice of cereal, fresh fruit salad, grapefruit and yogurts followed by a full English breakfast of bacon, eggs, sausage, tomato and fried bread and toast and jams. Continental breakfast is also available.

In addition there is a very welcoming sitting room with plenty of books to browse through and a lovely open fireplace.

There is parking available outside the house and the town centre is just a five minute walk away. The railway station is also just a few minutes away.

Congratulations to a perfect hostess and thank you for a very memorable visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolUK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Myself and my partner stayed at this B&B for two nights leading up to the food festival last weekend. We cannot praise it enough, especially since we had a very opposite experience in Shrewsbury a few days later. Angela the owner is a perfect hostess who knows how to run a business and is extremely friendly. The house is beautiful, the room a delight (with a fantastic view of Ludlow) and the standard of quality and hygiene unsurpassed. The breakfasts were amazing - wonderfully cooked with all variety of fresh fruit and alternatives available. If you are staying in Ludlow, check this out. Her knowledge of Ludlow and the surrounding area was invaluable and there was plenty of leaflets, books and brochures in our room. We cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
0.2 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.7 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
435 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#6 of 47 in Ludlow
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 37 Gravel Hill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 37 Gravel Hill B&B

Property: 37 Gravel Hill B&B
Address: 37 Gravel Hill, Ludlow SY8 1QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Hotel Class:4 star — 37 Gravel Hill B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
37 Gravel Hill B&B Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing