We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place”
Review of 37 Gravel Hill B&B

37 Gravel Hill B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludlow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
37 Gravel Hill B&B
Ranked #12 of 47 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The perfect place”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at Angela's beautiful bed and breakfast over the Ludlow Festival weekend and it could not have been better! The location was just a short walk from the town centre. The room was large, spotless and with a stunning view over the Shropshire Countryside, with tea, coffee, tv etc. A huge comfortable bed with clean, crisp linen and very quiet which meant you got a good nights sleep. The bathroom, next to the room was again spotless, bath and separate shower, big white fluffy towels, toiletries etc. Angela the host is a lovely lady who gives you just the right amount of attention, and not too much, made us really welcome, was helpful and cooked us a delicious full English breakfast with local produce, followed by hot toast and plenty of preserves, a big pot of tea and coffee and there was also freshly cut fruit salad, yoghurts and cereals! Do not hesitate to stay here. I can see why it has nothing but excellent reviews because they are well deserved. Thank you Anglela for making our weekend stay in Ludow perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneRanger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
46
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This B & B did not disappoint.An elegant old terraced house and a charming host make this a lovely place to stay. Good big room with en-suite and all the attention to detail you could wish for. Super breakfast too. The only possible downside is the on- road parking outside where it might not always be possible to find a space, but you can park in the side streets. It is an easy ten minute walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at Angela's B & B recently and had a really good weekend. Our hostess was very welcoming and the house is lovely, It felt more like staying with a friend than going to a B & B. There are two guest bedrooms, so we and our friends were the only guests. Angela is good company and anticipated everything we could want. She made an excellent recommendation for dinner and served a delicious breakfast. We would certainly go back and recommend this B & B to anyone visiting Ludlow.

Room Tip: The twin at the front of the house has an ensuite bathroom with a huge bath. The double has a separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 155019Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here for the Spring Food Festival and it was a real find. The house is beautiful and the room was large, light, warm and so so comfortable with beautiful views over the Shropshire hills. Angela, the landlady, has everything just right and was so relaxed and welcoming that we felt at home straight away. It's a short walk into town so the location is great too. A first class B&B that felt more like a hotel because the room and facilities were of such a high standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This has to go down as the best B&B I have stayed in! My Husband and I visited Ludlow for a rest and relaxation get away from our daily grind and we could not have chosen better accommodation.

Angela was a wonderful host the rooms was exceptional, the decoration and cleanliness of the whole place was wonderful.

I would defiantly recommend this place

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We celebrated our first wedding anniversary at 37 Gravel Hill. We were hoping to book somewhere special and this B&B certainly met our expectations and more besides. The accommodation is sited on a quiet residential street, and is ideally located for both the centre of Ludlow and the train station, which is just a 5 minute walk away. We booked the double room which overlooked the back garden. The view from this room was impressive, particularly in the evenings with the sun setting behind the rolling hills.

Our room was very tastefully furnished and really felt like home from home. Breakfast was plentiful and of a good standard. Our host, Angela, couldn't have been more welcoming and helpfully suggested places to eat and sights to see. Angela provided a comprehensive range of literature on Ludlow and the surrounding area, which even included a book on the history of the town.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 37 Gravel Hill and would definitely recommend this option to anyone looking for a special stay in the centre of Ludlow.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red_engine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Stayed two night in this delightful property, extremely comfortable, close to the town centre of Ludlow and we boththroughly enjoyed the stay. Mrs Straker recommended a neaby french restaurant which was reasonably priced, the sea bass and all the meal was great. Would recoment it to anyone who wanted a stay in this lovely town. The breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
0.2 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.7 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#8 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 37 Gravel Hill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 37 Gravel Hill B&B

Property: 37 Gravel Hill B&B
Address: 37 Gravel Hill, Ludlow SY8 1QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Hotel Class:4 star — 37 Gravel Hill B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
37 Gravel Hill B&B Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing