We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'A' FOR ACORN PLACE!”
Review of Acorn Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludlow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acorn Place
Ranked #9 of 47 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“'A' FOR ACORN PLACE!”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

There could be no finer B&B to stay at than Acorn Place.
Peter & Sally's attention to detail was faultless. The breakfast was the best we have tasted, locally sourced and lovingly cooked by Peter with a smattering of Dvorak in the background plus a lovely view, Bliss.
We stayed in Whitcliffe, which was a self contained en suite room with its own entrance via a conservatory, which held a full sized fridge,cooker and microwave which were all very useful for when we raided the Ludlow Food Centre. We dined splendidly, admiring the fabulous views of Lower Mynd.
Peter & Sally's beautiful house is surrounded by fields and set in lovely grounds with nice areas to relax. Although we didn't walk into Ludlow Town, it is not far if you are able, although may be a tad dark after sunset. On Peter's recommendation, we ate in The Unicorn Inn and we also can highly recommend it, the food, service and surroundings were perfect. All in all a very nice break, Peter & Sally were gracious hosts,we enjoying chatting and having a laugh with Peter and we would not hesitate in recommending them and returning to Acorn Place.

Room Tip: Self contained rooms both have private access, which is very freeing. Views from the Whitcliffe Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
71
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The owners, Sally and Peter were very welcoming and their breakfast was brilliant- home baked bread, jams, award winning sausages, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. The house is lovely in a quiet location with beautiful views. Very comfortable- will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katerusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I must do more than merely recommend this B&B...I would go so far as to insist that you stay there if you are lucky enough to visit the lovely city of Ludlow! We've visited this area six times now, and although all the places we have stayed have been excellent, this one stands out because of all the little extra touches that made our stay so enjoyable. It's ideally situated on the outskirts of Ludlow and within walking distance of the centre while enjoying the peace and quiet of the surrounding countryside with its beautiful views.

Our host, Peter, was there to welcome us warmly and within minutes we were chatting about the reason for our visit (house hunting): Peter and Sally moved to Ludlow five years ago from London, and it was fascinating to hear the story of their decision to make such a change in lifestyle.

The room we stayed in was charming: it was large enough for a sitting area with two armchairs and a TV/video/DVD player. There was an ensuite shower room, and the added bonus was a small conservatory which had been cleverly designed to incorporate a simple kitchen/diner complete with microwave, fridge, 2 ring hob and dining table: at Peter's suggestion, we took ourselves to the Ludlow Food Centre and returned with a delicious selection of nibbles for our evening meal. Each of the two B&B units has an independent entrance, which is so much better than creeping in through someone else's front door, and means you can come and go freely. There is also a good wifi connection.

Breakfast – served in the conservatory of the main house - was truly delicious. Again, the attention to detail was delightful, including a vase of fresh flowers on each of the two tables and Debussy playing quietly in the background. There was fruit juice, and a range of cereals/dried fruit/nuts/seeds with a bowl of fresh fruit salad (berries on that morning) and Greek yogurt: the bread was freshly baked (a white seeded loaf) and the cafetiere held coffee from Costa Rica. When the cooked part of the meal arrived, it was clear that Peter is a foodie...tomatoes roasted with basil, mushrooms baked with a hint of tarragon and two types of sausage. Absolutely faultless!

The following day, there was a fruit salad of nectarines and grapes, a cafetiere of Ethiopian coffee, freshly baked granary bread – and scrambled eggs perfectly cooked with smoked salmon, crème fraiche, a touch of Dijon mustard and a sprinkling of fresh dill served on a field mushroom baked in parsley butter and tomatoes roasted in oregano.

Suffice to say, on both days, we had no need of lunch!

Peter is a perfect host: he has an excellent knowledge of the local area and is more than happy to offer advice on places to visit. We are already looking forward to our next stay at Acorn Place...

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kathton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We returned for a fifth visit to Acorn Place. This time was the best ever because we booked all three rooms for the family to come for a significant birthday celebration. As ever, Peter and Sally could not have been friendlier and more accommodating.They really are the perfect hosts. The breakfasts are magnificent and Peter obviously loves cooking. Our sons thought they'd died and gone to heaven! Mmmm, said the younger, I thoroughly approve of your B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LesleyandRogerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Good clean B&B, quiet location, very helpful hosts. Directions provided were clear and easy to follow and the premises are only a short walk from the town centre (10-15 mins). If walking back after dark, best to take a torch as there is an unlit stretch.
Breakfasts were very good, with locally sourced food, plenty of fresh fruit and good range of choices including cereals, home-made muesli and breads, yoghourt, and cooked food.
Hosts provided folder of info about the locality and gave good advice about where to go, etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in a purpose built annexe, so plenty of privacy, with private kitchen/sitting room and scr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed here for three nights in the £70 a night room with kitchen. Room was comfortable and cosy with very nice hot shower. Basic kitchen where we could make our own food. Breakfast was very tasty and Peter takes obvious pride in making it an enjoyable experience. It was very welcoming and friendly. The room had its own entrance so you didn't have to use the house. Lovely gardens and views over the fields with the cows wandering past. Short walk into centre of Ludlow. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
0.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
866 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.0 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
429 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
0.2 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 47 in Ludlow
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Place

Property: Acorn Place
Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Acorn Place Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing