We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on”
Review of Acorn Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludlow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acorn Place
Ranked #8 of 47 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spot on”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

There were 4 of us going to a party at the nearby Fishmore Hotel. This B&B was ideally situated for that and for access to town about a mile away.
The rooms were spacious and well set out, very clean and tidy with plenty of facilities. Lovely views. The hosts were excellent and most welcoming. The breakfast was lovely sourcing local produce and cooked from scratch. Overall very good value for money and was spot on for what we wanted. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummymummyPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
72
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
berlin
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Arrived to a very friendly welcome from Peter. B&B is about 25 mins walk away from the centre of Ludlow. The party was separated into the smaller one of the annexes and one of the b&b rooms. Very clean. The kitchenette of the annex allowed for basic self-catering. Had lack of hot water one morning, which was corrected for the 2nd morning. Innovative and very tasty breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tassieBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My companion and I have just returned from 3 nights stay at Acorn Place. The location is quiet and a short stroll into town.

We can thoroughly recommend Acorn Place: our accommodation was like a little apartment but we were so pleased to have opted for breakfast which were all fantastic.

Clearly Peter and Sally pay great attention to detail and know how to make people feel most welcome. All in all the best B&B we have visited for some time and excellent value. we shall return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcv9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

just returned from two night at Acorn Place. One of the most comfortable B&B's I have stayed in. And spotless. Family room was excellent, and the rooms with a small kitchen are a real bonus. Amazing hosts, and wonderful attention to detail - even playing lovely child friendly music at breakfast for my children to enjoy. Would highly recommend, as would my 4 year old who is still talking about Peter!!

will be back....

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent, quiet, spacious and very comfy beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Friend and I enjoyed our three night stay at Acorn Place, lovely peaceful setting, delicious varied breakfasts: for vegetarians this is a very unusual experience! The facilities were roomy, very clean and comfortable, Peter welcomed us warmly and was a thoughtful host. I was especially delighted by the bathrobes, very welcome as we were travelling by train so had very minimal luggage.

Room Tip: The Clee Hill twin/double room has a fully functioning kitchen included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our sixth visit to Acorn Place. Why can I only give this 5 stars? I want to give it 10! I thought it couldn't get any better, but it does. Peter & Sally are so charming and welcoming. The whole place is spotless, beautifully decorated and the atmosphere so friendly it always feels like coming home. Peter's breakfasts are to die for, every day he cooks the tomatoes and mushrooms differently and the bacon and sausage are top quality. He also does scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on a field mushroom cooked in tarragon butter and finished with truffle oil. Unbelievable! The bread is home made and different every day. The fruit salad is different every day. Peter & Sally are a fount of knowledge when it comes to interesting places to visit locally. They obviously love what they're doing and it shows.

Sorry, I accidentally clicked on swimming pool and can't delete it because of a design fault on the website.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyandRogerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night in the 'Clee Hill suite' and would be very happy to return again for a longer stay. The accommodation is larger than expected from the photographs and everything is spotless, of excellent quality and very comfortable. We stayed on a self catering basis which suited us but having read the reviews of Peter's breakfasts, perhaps we'll indulge next time!
The house is in a lovely setting with picturesque views of surrounding countryside and ample parking space. Thank you again to Peter and Sally, our hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkJackie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
880 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
1.1 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 47 in Ludlow
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Place

Property: Acorn Place
Address: Fishmore Road, Ludlow SY8 3DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Acorn Place Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing