We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cafe”
Review of The Green Cafe

The Green Cafe
Ranked #1 of 89 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Daytime, modern British café, interesting lunches, cakes and hot drinks, everything made on site apart from bread and jam.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Super cafe”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Probably need to book as this is a very popular cafe. Visited for lunch and fortunately it was only midday and they had a free table - staff are polite and proide very good service. Menu, although limited - the food was excellent.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CandJDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    98
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Had a lovely lunch indoors at this cafe. Service was good. Offered tap water as we sat down, which was served in a nice glass bottle and tasted good. My sister and mother had the soup with a slice of fresh bread which they both enjoyed and I had pate with sourdough toast again great with a chutney. Both meals filling. Was busy but staff helpful and obliging. Menu states where they source their food locally from.
Can also eat outside on a patio area or buy from a hatch and eat on one of the benches.
Beautiful setting down by Dinham Bridge. Walk down past the castle.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chrischamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“lovely fresh food and idyllic location”
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I had the best freshly baked scone I have ever had (lemon and buttermilk - unusual flavours, and really delicious), and all the cakes looked wonderful. It was a very welcoming and friendly place, and the location by the weir is very picturesque. We were there late morning, and as we were leaving it was filling up rapidly for people having lunch, so I'd recommend booking if you go for lunch! Its reputation must be spreading......

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank bunstonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to relax and eat great food”
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Really good food which is locally sourced. Very friendly staff. Feel very comfortable eating here and always have good food whether tea and scones or an evening meal. Very different menu which is'nt offered anywhere else in Ludlow. Obviously prepared with skill and dedication.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JFCLEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the foodie mecca of Ludlow”
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Even though I've lived in the area for many years I had yet to discover the Green Cafe. It's on the banks of one of the prettiest rivers in England with the imposing Ludlow Castle looking down onto it.
The Green Cafe is in the old mill which originally belonged to the Castle. Its terrace and windows in the small restaurant overlook the ancient weir and the old stone bridge which connects Ludlow to the forests overlooking the town.
From the minute we walked into the Green Cafe one frosty December lunchtime the warmth of the friendly welcome warmed our hearts.
The friendly and knowledgeable waitress took our order. For my husband - smoked haddock chowder with sourdough bread which he pronounced as one of the best chowders ever. For me - what turned out to THE best salad i've ever eaten. A slice of roasted Crown Prince Squash sitting in the middle of a bed of well dressed rocket with walnuts. Spilling out from the "boat" of squash were roasted baby plum tomatoes, super smooth local goats cheese and red onion marmalade. The combination of flavours was stunning and I savoured every mouthful, never wishing to finish it! To drink we chose the Dunkertons Organic perry - delicious and as rare as a hen's tooth as it is produced in such small quantities.

The food was fabulous, the atmosphere was laid back and relaxed and the service excellent but with such warmth and friendliness. We will certainly be going back there for lunch and hopefully for dinner on the few occasions that they are open in the evenings.

Our daugher and boyfriend went there on our recommendation on the following weekend when up from London and were blown away by it. They couldn't believe that they could eat such fabulous food in such beautiful surroundings for the price - it really is excellent value too!

Helpful?
2 Thank coreleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Cafe also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 
Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to The Green Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing