We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludlow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Merchant House B & B
Ranked #24 of 48 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed for a weekend in June and it was the perfect place for a short stay in Ludlow. Located in a quiet road, a 5 minute down the hill from the town centre, this medieval house is full of character. We had a warm welcome from Rosemary and Jonathan, and the room was actually a suite of 2 rooms on the 1st floor. The main bedroom had a double bed with adjoining, very modern, en-suite, and the 2nd room also had a single bed and plenty of wardrobe space. Parking outside in the streeet is effectively free overnight between 4pm and 10am [2 hour free stay limit between the hours of 8am-6pm] and at other times we parked just round the corner at a cost of just £1.10 per day. The building is very old with plenty of charm and character. The breakfast was magnificent, cooked by Rosemary at the time of our choosing. We also ate on the 1st night at the Unicon Inn, just 3 doors down the road. This was a lovely pub with super food. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Merchant House to anybody staying for a short break in Ludlow.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamworthtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed for one night at the end of January for my husbands birthday. I had never visited Ludlow before now even though we live not too many miles away, i must say that we were not in anyway disappointed. Ludlow is absolutely beautiful and i believe we probably picked one of the best accomodations available. Rosemary and Jonathan are lovely people and perfect hosts. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day of more sight seeing.The house has losts of charm and character with all the period features. There is a pub just a couple of doors down that serves exceptional food with great service and atmosphere. The whole weekend experience although short was perfect, so perfect we shall return for a couple of the calender events happening later in the year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JACK161191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed one cold January night. It has a convenient and very quiet riverside location at the bottom of town. During the week one would have to pay for street parking or walk to a long-stay car park. From the welcoming tea in the cosy lounge to the generous breakfast spread, we enjoyed a memorable and luxurious experience in a spacious room. The historic building with ancient timbers and period features is delightful but also lacks nothing in modern comfort. Rosemary is a good hostess. I would thoroughly recommend it.
C&J

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We spent one night at The Merchant House. It’s a beautiful, character-filled and charming house. Rosemary and Jonathan were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was simply delicious and we really appreciated all the local produce that Rosemary used.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

A really warm welcome on a snowy night; very comfortable and beautifully appointed bedrooms; help over parking; a simply delicious "English" breakfast; Rosemary and Jonathan's house and their interesting but unintrusive conversation provided hospitality at its very best. This was not our first visit to Ludlow, but now where were would always wish to stay if possible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We had a very pleasant stay with Rosemary and Jonathan who made us feel very comfortable in their home. Smashing breakfast with a variety of tasty local produce available to keep us going for the day. Nothing was too much trouble for Rosemary who made sure that we were well fed to explore the local area. Merchant House is well located, just a short stroll from the town centre and just next door to the nicest pub that we found in Ludlow (the Unicorn) with hops hanging from the celing, good beer and a roaring fire. It is also very close to la Bercasse where we had a very good value and excellent quality lunch. I would not recommend this B&B if you like anodine and characterless hotel rooms, but would highly recommend if you like to stay in one with lots of history, a warm welcome and a cozy stay. We had plenty of room clean and fluffy towels daily and the free wifi was also very useful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshCakes100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Excellent historic building very close to lovely Ludlow centre
Our room included side room to spread luggage out in which was useful
Very nice breakfast in character dining room
Only minor problem is need to move car by 10 am otherwise excellent all round

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjasper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.5 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
3.8 mi away
Angel House Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
The Charlton Arms
The Charlton Arms
#3 of 48 in Ludlow
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merchant House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merchant House B & B

Address: Merchant House 62 Corve Street, Ludlow SY8 1DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star bed and breakfast accommodation at The Merchant House, one of Ludlow’s finest medieval houses, situated a short walk from the town centre, railway station, traditional pubs and Michelin-starred restaurants. An ideal base from which to explore the glorious countryside of the Welsh Marches by car, train or bicycle. Our breakfasts are sourced whenever possible from local produce, and served in the erstwhile buttery and pantry of this timber-framed hall house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Merchant House B & B Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing