We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Merchant House B & B
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ludlow
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Talbot Hotel(Leominster)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Oak(Leominster)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Ford Abbey(Pudleston)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
76
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed for a weekend in June and it was the perfect place for a short stay in Ludlow. Located in a quiet road, a 5 minute down the hill from the town centre, this medieval house is full of character. We had a warm welcome from Rosemary and Jonathan, and the room was actually a suite of 2 rooms on the 1st floor. The main bedroom had a double bed with adjoining, very modern, en-suite, and the 2nd room also had a single bed and plenty of wardrobe space. Parking outside in the streeet is effectively free overnight between 4pm and 10am [2 hour free stay limit between the hours of 8am-6pm] and at other times we parked just round the corner at a cost of just £1.10 per day. The building is very old with plenty of charm and character. The breakfast was magnificent, cooked by Rosemary at the time of our choosing. We also ate on the 1st night at the Unicon Inn, just 3 doors down the road. This was a lovely pub with super food. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Merchant House to anybody staying for a short break in Ludlow.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamworthtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed for one night at the end of January for my husbands birthday. I had never visited Ludlow before now even though we live not too many miles away, i must say that we were not in anyway disappointed. Ludlow is absolutely beautiful and i believe we probably picked one of the best accomodations available. Rosemary and Jonathan are lovely people and perfect hosts. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day of more sight seeing.The house has losts of charm and character with all the period features. There is a pub just a couple of doors down that serves exceptional food with great service and atmosphere. The whole weekend experience although short was perfect, so perfect we shall return for a couple of the calender events happening later in the year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JACK161191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed one cold January night. It has a convenient and very quiet riverside location at the bottom of town. During the week one would have to pay for street parking or walk to a long-stay car park. From the welcoming tea in the cosy lounge to the generous breakfast spread, we enjoyed a memorable and luxurious experience in a spacious room. The historic building with ancient timbers and period features is delightful but also lacks nothing in modern comfort. Rosemary is a good hostess. I would thoroughly recommend it.
C&J

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We spent one night at The Merchant House. It’s a beautiful, character-filled and charming house. Rosemary and Jonathan were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was simply delicious and we really appreciated all the local produce that Rosemary used.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

A really warm welcome on a snowy night; very comfortable and beautifully appointed bedrooms; help over parking; a simply delicious "English" breakfast; Rosemary and Jonathan's house and their interesting but unintrusive conversation provided hospitality at its very best. This was not our first visit to Ludlow, but now where were would always wish to stay if possible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews