We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More facade than substance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Feathers at Ludlow
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“More facade than substance”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Not the luxury stay I had expected. The facade is impressive and there are some quirky and interesting rooms in the main building.
We did not manage to park in the hotel car park, but road parking was free between 6pm and 8am so that was OK.
We were disappointed with the room, especially as it must be one of the few hotels still using sheet and blanket on the bed. However, the manager made us a goodwill gesture which we accepted with thanks.
We booked a meal in the restaurant, which promised excellent food, which was correct - just not enough of it! Despite being fully booked, the restaurant was not full and lacking in ambience. Very efficient service

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Elis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    338
    155
    75
    39
See reviews for
94
654
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Staff are good. Parking is free but sometimes gets busy/full. Food is nice. The old part is old so rooms not quite as spic and span. Hot water sometimes slow but let it run. Great location in the centre of Ludlow. Nice rooms upstairs to sit in after dinner. Would return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWilbury101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is a lovely charming Hotel, well located in the centre of Ludlow. Our room was amazing, large, well appointed with whirl pool bath and walk in shower. We dined in the restaurant in the evening and breakfast. On both occasions the food was amazing and the staff in the restaurant and reception were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julespmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at the Feathers for 3 nights with our dog. The bedroom and bathroom were both clean and very spacious. Breakfast was lovely, but mainly because the staff were so helpful. We ate at the hotel on our last night, which was a shame because we had missed out on eating at this amazing restaurant more often. The food was delicious, and again, served by the most helpful of staff. Lovely public rooms with log fires to relax in.

Room Tip: We took a dog, so not offered the best of rooms, but it was very large and pleasant, though the chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCA_212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I and our 2 friends were staying just outside Ludlow so booked The Feathers for an evening meal. The outside was very impressive, I'm afraid that's where the praise finishes. The bar area was unattractive,the barman served cava instead of prossecco not realising there was a difference, the main restaurant was not very appealing and when our taxi arrived no-one could find where our coats had been hung up.
The area outside the main restaurant was small but had atmosphere and the bar meals were okay. A disappointing experience .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for just one night but we will definitely return. Following a friendly welcome on booking in, we were shown to a lovely room with a living flame gas fire, Jacuzzi bath, walk in shower and bathrobes.
Following a drink in the cosy bar we had the three course Table d'Hote meal in the restaurant which turned out to be one of the best meals we have had. Good service, pleasant atmosphere and wonderful food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We visited this hotel for a weekend break - there were 6 in our party.

We had all been upgraded in the choice of our rooms which were excellent - both in terms of roominess and comfort levels 4 poster beds and very comfortable mattresses.
The spa bath was a delight The only issue I had with the room was that the shower was a a little on the weak side - but hey with a spa bath like that who cares about the shower! The decore in the bathroom was a little tired and drab.
The bart was welll stocked and excellent local beer on tap. The barman was friendly and knowledgeable. Lovely wood fire constanly burning in the grate.

The rerstaurant served excellent meals - noone was disappointed. The standard was high and the menu was not too extensive so no frozen meals - all freshly cooked. I particularly enjoyed the saddle of rabbit and my friends commented very positively on the venison

Room Tip: We had rooms with 4 posters and they were all good - room 251 was the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
1.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
869 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
1.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers at Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers at Ludlow

Property: The Feathers at Ludlow
Address: Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers at Ludlow 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Feathers at Ludlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers At Ludlow Hotel Ludlow
Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers At Ludlow Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing