We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay at a great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Feathers at Ludlow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Feathers at Ludlow
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
neston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another great stay at a great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Have visited this hotel for the past eight years taking advantage of their horse racing package deals and once again we weren't disappointed.The rooms were great and everyone loved the old world feel to them.The food was fantastic and we had one of the house white wines to wash it down which again was really good.I managed to mess up the booking by booking the wrong week for the racing but the staff still managed to get all the rooms i wanted even with the fairly short notice.Thanks again to all the staff who were brilliant and see you again next year

Room Tip: Ask at reception for password for free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    321
    144
    64
    38
See reviews for
92
612
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Firstly we planned to stay in a better quality room but missed out. Another family room 216 was available and we were very pleased - good space - both children had single beds and room also had two en- suites. Staff were very helpful and offered us a private dining room as our friends had young children who were able to chat and enjoy themselves without us worrying about upsetting other guests.
If you like old fashioned style and a beautiful historic building The Feathers a good bet - we will be back possibly without children! Many thanks to all staff who made our night's stay special. Perhaps we liked the old world feel - if you expect an up - to - date recently painted state of the art - this hotel not for you - we liked the quirky floorboards and up and down feel!

Room Tip: 216 - excellent family room - lots of space and two en suites - shower and bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornishSeaDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The front of this building is very impressive and you walk into an incredible if tired historic building. This is where the good stuff ends. Most of the rooms are in the rear of the building which appears to be a 1960s built brick extension which overlooks the car park and some industrial buildings. We stayed in room 242 which looks like it was decorated in the 1970s and hasn't been touched since. Utterly dilapidated mattresses that I didn't dare look too closely at. Had stayed the previous night in a premier inn which had wonderful mattresses for a fraction of the price.

Relatively quiet apart from the squeaking floorboards (why was this when we were in the later extension?), with no traffic noise as you are at the side of the property.

The worst was to come in the morning. The trim was missing from the shower mixer tap so we had no idea how it worked. After fiddling for an age managed to get a lukewarm trickle out of it. Thought must have done something wrong but the rest of our group (rooms 241 and 243) had the same issues. Come on guys this is not good enough. Went down for breakfast and after waiting approximately half an hour five out of our six orders arrived. Was greeted with incredulity when we asked where the sixth was and asked if we hadn’t ordered it. It eventually turned up and was delicious but on a completely different sized plate to the others – why? Three of our party ordered the haddock and poached egg which is listed as a speciality. One of them received a cooked piece of fish skin with an undercooked watery poached egg on top. The other two were good – why no consistency?

What a shame, flashes of brilliance in a beautiful building let down by poor or no maintenance and staff who either haven’t been trained or didn’t care or both. Serious management issues.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TrevorRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We both finished work early so decided we wanted a night away called the feathers managed to book a room and we were there within the hour, We were given a lovely room very comfy bed and we ate in the restaurant and had a beautiful meal washed down with some very nice wine overall this was a great experience that we will repeat. Thank you to all the lovely staff,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We arrived Friday PM for my birthday. First of all the instructions to get into the car park on the back of the booking form were clearly out of date - there was no barrier and intercom. First impressions were poor, the lack of care and dirty exterior compounded by a make do hut for staff from the kitchen didn't help. Receptionist was smiley enough and did respond when we pointed out to him the 10 inches of muck and filth sitting in the beautifully carved front porch; it was gone by the next day. That's the overall tragedy of this place poor care and management.
Our room - a superior double was anything but! The room was old and tired with a dirty eiderdown and a horrible Brown blanket. The smiley Receptionist said there were duvets and if he couldn't get one that night he would leave a message for the housekeeper. Fortunately there was an unlocked linen cupboard and we managed to raid that for a clean eiderdown.
We went to the bar for a drink before dinner and spotted a selection of tea and requested a bag of Earl Grey from the barman for the room as there was only Breakfast Tea there. He said he would have to charge for it! We told him to leave it whereupon he gave us one - generous!
The young woman who took our order for dinner was smiley and friendly. The Restaurant somewhat lacking in character but the food beautifully presented. Two of my three scallops were tough and overcooked and I nearly broke teeth on the shell that had been left on in error. To be fair again when told about it, there was a response and reduction of £15 made. My husband loved his starter and main course of rack of lamb.
Clearly no duvet sourced we retired to bed with our stolen eiderdown. The next day a disinterested housekeeper said they did not have duvets however a visit to another smiling Receptionist secured one!
The Breakfast Menu is varied - toast was put in baskets when it would have benefited from a Toast Rack - Scrambled Eggs best avoided but kippers apparently the best ever.
Young staff work hard in this establishment but it lacks the overall leadership and management it deserves. It has a poor care and unloved feel about it and is such a shame for what is clearly a very great and historic building.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcmdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were realy looking forward to our stay at The Feathers. Our first impression as we drove up was one of utter disbelief, what a sad sight, nothing like the photographs in the advertisements. Both of us decided that first impressions aren't always what they seem. We walked into reception to be greeted by a very unprofensional looking receptionist dressed in a yellow Tee shirt and a young gentle man who gave us the wrong directions to our room. Fortunately we made it. The room was very tired looking . Wood chip paper painted a very tired yellow and a pathetic 4 poster bed dressed in red. The furniture was definitely relics of the 1980's. Curtains didn't fit the windows , leaving a gap for all the users of the carpark below to see into our room, a very scimpy piece of voile was stretched across the window. The mattress on the bed was so uncomfortable, springs digging into us all night and every time we moved the bed creaked and made dreadfull noises. Our dining experience was not at all worth the £39 each for a 3 course diner food very sparce and the wine that we paid £19.50 for was definitely overpriced nearly £100 for a meal for 2. My advice is don't eat there go into Ludlow and find your self a place to eat . Lots of choice and much cheaper. In conclusion I would just like to say to the management if you are reading this please take a long hard look at your hotel, It deserves better treatment and a little Tender Loving Care. No we will not be returning

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Hotel Feather’s Ludlow
Review written 8th April 2014 (the day after our two day stay at the Feathers)
The reason for our visit was to have a good time repay some good friends who treated us to a two-day hotel break in Brecon last year.

Overall we had a good time at the Feathers and in Ludlow, would I stay at the Feathers again? No.
We stayed in room 233 which is a pleasant enough room there’s a view over the rear car park (obscured by heavy net curtains but with two windows in the bedroom, it’s reasonably light) and given how ancient the building is the ceilings are very high and airy, very good. The bed was good, clean and comfortable.
The floorboards creak as you walk around but that is not unusual in ancient buildings. Room 233 is on the top floor so any inconvenience of noisy floorboards will really be for the folks below. (Our friends stayed in 231 but that’s not reviewed)

The bedroom decoration is a little tired but OK. The carpet needed vacuuming as there where visible bits on the carpet (biscuit crumbs and fluff) but hey we were there to have a good time so we let it go.

A tea tray is provided with biscuits, the kettle was left empty (as I like it) but unfortunately the two cups that were upturned on their saucers were both dirty. I guess that the previous occupants had rinsed them out (or maybe the cleaner had rinsed them out) but when I looked closely there was dried tea or coffee stains in both cups. I washed them out myself as again I'm thinking we’re there to have a good time so rather than make a fuss I'll just wash the blessed thing out and get on with it. When I come to fill the kettle I did find that the filter screen had a lot of black bits on it so as that simply lifts out of the kettle I removed it and left it on the side. On the second day the bed was made up and the rooms were tided while we were out but the kettle filter/screen was left dirty on the side table.

You have control over the radiator temperature of the bedroom so that was good.

The hotel staff were, in the main very good, James on reception was particularly helpful (thank you James for helping us in sorting out the emergency dentist on Sunday) and the young girls/ladies and guys who serve in the restaurant where very good, particularly the tall slim guy).

The breakfasts were very good. The evening meal was good. On the one day we had our evening meal there, the head chef was off duty but the second chef accommodated our ‘mix and match’ request to taking some parts of the a la carte menu and mixing them with the normal house menu. The food was good with no attempt to replace quality with quantity. Nothing fantastic but all perfectly adequate.

The things that took the shine off the experience relate to cleanliness and maintenance.
The bedroom carpet and dirty cups were the things I noticed immediately but as the time goes by I realised that the centre light in the bedroom has possibly a year’s s supply of dead flies in it. The space behind the bath’s mixer taps is black with dirt/mould. I suppose that all of the rooms are similar so why not get a brush that will get in to clean these awkward places?
There is a chromed soap/shampoo corner basket above the bath but you can see that no one has used it because it’s so dirty and rusty. You don’t notice this until you’re in the shower.

The general finish in the bathroom lets the room down. The door handles have been replaced with something smaller than the originals so there are extra holes visible on both sides of the door. The door has been repainted since the handles have been replaced but they didn’t bother to fill the holes. The bathroom is tiled floor to ceiling but the grout has not been fully removed off the face of the tiles above where the guy could reach without using steps so again it looks shabby when you look closely. The light over the bathroom mirror is low wattage and with the high centre light give a rather gloomy light. I wouldn’t put up with a defective towel rail at home so why should anyone think I want to have a broken/bent chrome towel holder/ring in a £120 a night room?

I guess it’s all small details like the wardrobe doors that don’t close correctly and the difficult shower screen that takes the edge of what could be a better experience.

We had a lucky ‘near miss’ as one of our friends who we were treating, the lady, stumbled on the steep edge of a pothole in the car park on the first morning but we were able to get some ice and keep the swelling down on her twisted ankle.

Overall we had a good time but at £120 a night (Saturday and Sunday nights) the cleanliness and maintenance let it down.

It rained on Sunday morning, reasonably heavily and the rain comes through the two upper floors and through the ceiling into the reception area that is right in the heart of the building. The over loud female receptionist said ‘…The rain always comes through when it’s heavy, but the old girls still standing…’ (she was referring to the building as ‘the old girl’)

As an electrician I see the many light fittings and the electrical points and the running water and I understand the very real danger of fire as a result of water sneaking its way through three floors of ancient wooden framed buildings and the two buckets catching the water at ground level is no protection against this very real hazard. I don’t want to sleep in a place where this potential fire hazard is so casually dismissed and apparently so regular.

As property landlords ourselves we understand maintenance issues and it’s no good saying its ‘listed’ and expensive to repair. And it’s no good waiting for customer reviews to tell you what you could see for yourself if you take the time and trouble to check, the damage is already done.

As a guest one tends to notice these things slowly as they unfold rather than present themselves all at once, maybe I should have gone down and found a manager to deal with the problems that we had, but I just didn’t want to be making a fuss and let any one of these problems spoil the day and let our friends know that there were problems, maybe they felt the same about their room but they never said anything to us, maybe their room was 100% perfect?

Yours truthfully

Andy Davies.
Cardigan, Wales.

Room Tip: Room 233 is at the top of the building at the back overlooking the car park, there was no road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
1.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
0.6 mi away
Overton Grange Hotel
Overton Grange Hotel
#7 of 8 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#7 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers at Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers at Ludlow

Property: The Feathers at Ludlow
Address: Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers at Ludlow 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Priceline, HRS and Hotels.com so you can book your The Feathers at Ludlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers At Ludlow Hotel Ludlow
Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers At Ludlow Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing