We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trading on previous reputation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Feathers at Ludlow
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Trading on previous reputation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I booked this hotel expecting its reputation as a former coaching inn to be more than fulfilled. The facade was very impressive and attractive but we were immediately disappointed by the "mechanical" nature of the check-in process. At no stage were we offered assistance with our luggage nor were we informed of any local attractions or provided with a map. When we enquired about the location of our room we were told that it was on the first floor and that a lift was available.We were not informed about the number of steps to be negotiated before we reached our room. After this we discovered that we had been given what must have been arguably the smallest double room in the hotel. The decor was chintz and there were two steps up to the bathroom. The saving grace was the restaurant where the young serving staff were very attentive. Matt (I believe that was the name as staff do not wear name badges ) was very knowledgeable about the food on the menu and since we had by chance chosen to dine after a resident coach party, he had the time to explain the various choices. The wine list was extensive and with the usual restaurant markup.Breakfast next day was adequate but not exceptional ( cereals in packets for example ) and at almost £15 as a separate price did not offer value for money. Overall we would not stay at this hotel again as we feel that it is trading on its past reputation, the check-in exemplifying this.

Room Tip: Make sure that you know exactly where your room is. In an hotel of approx. 40 rooms with a coach par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, Manager at The Feathers at Ludlow, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. I was a little suprised that you were unhappy with the check in process as all the receptionists are helpful and welcoming. With regard to the steps unfortunately as you would have been aware this is a very old building and not like the modern hotel.
We have received the breakfast award from Visit Britian for several years running and cereals in packets are far more hygienic than loose cereals in a bowl.
It was nice to read that Matt in the Restaurant provided good service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    330
    146
    66
    38
See reviews for
92
626
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We really couldn't find any fault with the Feathers - a very warm welcome, a lovely huge room with four-poster bed and whirlpool bath and divine food and service. The evening meal in the restaurant was a superb dining experience with gourmet food and friendly efficient prompt service throughout. The Feathers team are well-trained, effective and efficient.
Thank you Feathers, please don't change!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicholas1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Visiting the Feathers on Saturday evening was mixed experience.

Service from the two Barmaids was friendly and helpful. Wine and beer good. Prices fairly reasonable.

The disappointment was finding the Hotel had a function on, and having to endure the bad language and crude conversations by some individuals. Not at all pleasant!

We felt our evening was spoilt, and sadly really didn't expect this at the Feathers.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank siashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We could not have chosen a better hotel to spend our wedding anniversary. Exemplary service received from all members of staff, a lovely bedroom with a very comfortable four-poster bed, a bathroom with a shower and a whirlpool bath, and both dinner and breakfast cooked, presented and served to the highest standards. A perfect stay in an olde worlde hotel in the lovely town of Ludlow. Will definitely pay a return visit

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Have visited this hotel for the past eight years taking advantage of their horse racing package deals and once again we weren't disappointed.The rooms were great and everyone loved the old world feel to them.The food was fantastic and we had one of the house white wines to wash it down which again was really good.I managed to mess up the booking by booking the wrong week for the racing but the staff still managed to get all the rooms i wanted even with the fairly short notice.Thanks again to all the staff who were brilliant and see you again next year

Room Tip: Ask at reception for password for free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Firstly we planned to stay in a better quality room but missed out. Another family room 216 was available and we were very pleased - good space - both children had single beds and room also had two en- suites. Staff were very helpful and offered us a private dining room as our friends had young children who were able to chat and enjoy themselves without us worrying about upsetting other guests.
If you like old fashioned style and a beautiful historic building The Feathers a good bet - we will be back possibly without children! Many thanks to all staff who made our night's stay special. Perhaps we liked the old world feel - if you expect an up - to - date recently painted state of the art - this hotel not for you - we liked the quirky floorboards and up and down feel!

Room Tip: 216 - excellent family room - lots of space and two en suites - shower and bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornishSeaDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The front of this building is very impressive and you walk into an incredible if tired historic building. This is where the good stuff ends. Most of the rooms are in the rear of the building which appears to be a 1960s built brick extension which overlooks the car park and some industrial buildings. We stayed in room 242 which looks like it was decorated in the 1970s and hasn't been touched since. Utterly dilapidated mattresses that I didn't dare look too closely at. Had stayed the previous night in a premier inn which had wonderful mattresses for a fraction of the price.

Relatively quiet apart from the squeaking floorboards (why was this when we were in the later extension?), with no traffic noise as you are at the side of the property.

The worst was to come in the morning. The trim was missing from the shower mixer tap so we had no idea how it worked. After fiddling for an age managed to get a lukewarm trickle out of it. Thought must have done something wrong but the rest of our group (rooms 241 and 243) had the same issues. Come on guys this is not good enough. Went down for breakfast and after waiting approximately half an hour five out of our six orders arrived. Was greeted with incredulity when we asked where the sixth was and asked if we hadn’t ordered it. It eventually turned up and was delicious but on a completely different sized plate to the others – why? Three of our party ordered the haddock and poached egg which is listed as a speciality. One of them received a cooked piece of fish skin with an undercooked watery poached egg on top. The other two were good – why no consistency?

What a shame, flashes of brilliance in a beautiful building let down by poor or no maintenance and staff who either haven’t been trained or didn’t care or both. Serious management issues.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TrevorRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Overton Grange Hotel
Overton Grange Hotel
#7 of 8 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#7 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers at Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers at Ludlow

Property: The Feathers at Ludlow
Address: Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers at Ludlow 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Feathers at Ludlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers At Ludlow Hotel Ludlow
Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers At Ludlow Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing