We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Feathers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Feathers at Ludlow

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Feathers at Ludlow
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Feathers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from an over night stay at this wonderful hotel. Our room, albeit not in the old part, was quite characterful, spacious and clean. The bathroom was bright and fresh with lovely big white towels. The was tea and coffee facilities were good with a new kettle and a choice of drinks and biscuits. The bed was very comfortable, so a great nights sleep was had! Dinner in the restaurant was excellent! Fine dinning at its best! The service from the staff was very professional. Breakfast was very good, cereals, fruit, lots of toast and the bacon and eggs were cooked to order and not at all greasy!
I would certainly recommend this lovely Hotel as a base to see the historic town of Ludlow.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shinestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    321
    144
    64
    38
See reviews for
92
612
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Visiting the Feathers we found a lovely comfortable bar and atmospheric lounge. Further more, we discovered a nice enclosed courtyard that proved to be sheltered and a suntrap.

The service we received from David (we later discovered is the bar manager) was exceptional. Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Some one who really understands customer service.

Not being local was no problem, as a little taster of the local ale was offered. I think Im now in love with Hobsons Old Prickly!

Having been to a few places in Ludlow the beer was the best (In my opinion even better than the town brewery).

Just wish this could be my local.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank thequietmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
162 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Feathers' exterior is amazing - quintessentially English and you feel special just to be able to stay here. The interior is a mixture of nice refurbishment and some unfortunate 1970s leftovers. I hope they will over time remove the latter.

Our room was in the extension, refurbished and lacking atmosphere but spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent. We loved exploring the old building - lots of nooks and crannies.

Dinner was really, really good. Limited choice (5 starters, mains and desserts) but interesting. Scallops were just right. My wife is on a low fat diet and the chef made a fresh fruit salad especially for her, much appreciated by her (see photo - amazing or what?). My cheese board (5 local cheeses) was the best I have ever had. More than adequate choice of wines.

I always say that you know you stay in a good hotel when breakfast is a la carte rather than a buffet. This is indded the case at the Feathers - and I thoroughly enjoyed my smoked haddock. Coffee was OK, not the best, not the worst I have had in hotels.

Cannot fault the staff, particularly the head waiter and his restaurant colleagues. Overall a really enjoyable experience,

Room Tip: Rooms overlookin the car park are better - away from the street which can become noisy late at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_from_Malvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We visited on a Saturday lunchtime and had a great pub lunch. The beer was good and the sandwiches were enormous! We'd definitely recommend it here, it had a friendly atmosphere and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyacinth_Bucket_Jnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for one night with an Amazon voucher - excellent value. The welcome was good, the room was absolutely beautiful, huge, right at the back so nice and quiet. Dinner was included and was delicious - small choice - shows it's all freshly prepared. We were full after 2 courses but they were more than happy for us to take or to have delivered our dessert up to our room. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet and hot dishes cooked to order - all fine although my smoked salmon appeared to have been frozen - maybe because of the holiday weekend. Would happily stay again - loved wandering round Ludlow's shops, the hotel is in the heart of the town.

Room Tip: Go for something at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucindah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights over the weekend and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay
The room was very spacious and had all that was needed with a nice touch of bath robes
We ate in the restaurant on Saturday night and had a great meal and brilliant service one thing we do look for is good customer service and this place has it in abundance
A special treat is to end the day with a bottle of red in the James 1 suit totally chilled out so full of history and a special mention to the young chap in the restaurant who was full of knowledge on the building
Thank you we will return

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night only, but would like to have stayed longer as we slept so well the bed was really comfy, the room spotless. Some of the furniture around the hotel is old but that just adds to the charm.
The breakfast was a real high point for us, with a good choice of fresh fruit and pastries and juices etc, the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was delicious and the full English was a high standard. Would like to revisit hotel again in near future

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
1.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
0.6 mi away
Overton Grange Hotel
Overton Grange Hotel
#7 of 8 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#8 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers at Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers at Ludlow

Property: The Feathers at Ludlow
Address: Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers at Ludlow 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Hotels.com so you can book your The Feathers at Ludlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers At Ludlow Hotel Ludlow
Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers At Ludlow Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing