We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Feathers, Ludlow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Feathers at Ludlow
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A beautiful hotel full of character. Even though a very old building the bedrooms and restaurant was modern and well decorated. The bedroom was very clean and the furnishings were lovely. The range of toiletries in the bathroom were great. The food was delicious and plentiful. The only downside would be if you were not very mobile as the corridors are narrow and the floors very uneven (as to be expected in a building of this age). There are plenty of rooms in which you can go to just sit and relax.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel may be a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firework05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

712 - 718 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

I travelled here with some of my friends for a ghost hunt - unfortuantely there where no ghosts but its a nice old hotel - our rooms where decent - bit tired looking- floor was uneven so a bit odd after a few glasses of wine. Our room was on the main road opposite a very noisey pub which was a bit annoying. The food was lovely and the chunky chips where delicous! The staff wher friendly and informative and we loved Ludlow - very pretty - will definalty return

Room Tip: Not 211 or 213 as they are opposite the noisey pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great reception staff. Have to mention Becky especially....thank you for all you help. Lovely old hotel in the heart of Ludlow. Good size room. A very good 3 star standard . A little on the expensive side but unfortunately that's a result of the economics of supply and demand. Probably the best hotel to stay in within the inner walls of Ludlow.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tono_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My mother and i stayed at the feathers in March. Apart from some difficulty find our rooms. we were pleasantly surprised at how modern the room was tastefully decorated a nice big double bed and a clean bathroom. Complimentry shampoos eta and tea and coffee making facilities.

Only problem we had was a lot of noise from the room above. I suppose there was no soundproofing 400 years ago. The corridors were uneven again put it down to age.
We enjoyed our stay the food was excellent both evening meal and breakfast and the staff were polite and helpful.
We heard that this hotel was haunted but fear not i never saw anything. So relax and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: take a trip to the nearby food centre excellent produce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed in Room 251, which was enormous - 4 poster bed, whirlpool bath and large power shower. The tea and coffee tray in the room included a cafetiere with a sachet of ground coffee, which I thought was a nice touch. The room looked out onto the courtyard in the middle of the hotel, which I thought would be noisy, but it wasn't at all. Nice bar with reasonable selection of wines. Didn't have an evening meal here, but the breakfast was good. The hotel is not modern, but is clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a last minute stay at The Feathers. We stayed in a standard double room, which as the word suggest was satisfactory. Even though we were on a DBB rate the fixed rate menu for evening dining did not disappointed. Good variety of choice and the quality and taste were superb. I should also say that the serving staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
The one big disappointment for us was the open area at the back of the hotel, which looks tired and dirty. There are missing light bulbs,spiders webs around the railings and well worn garden furniture.The whole area just looks neglected. Given we are now in summertime this should be a priority for the hotel as people would like to sit out in the warm weather.
The bar area is pleasant with a good variety local ales and a robust wine list, again great friendly service.
A lovely hotel which with a bit more attention could be some much more.

Room Tip: Car parking is very limited, if you are unable to use the hotel car park, use the one at the rear of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PWE1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stunning building from the outside. Unfortunately once inside this counts for little. Friendly receptionist incorrectly told us our room was quiet but sadly it looked out on the main road and noisy pub opposite. Sash window was broken and stiff old secondary glazing window did little to quieten things. Beds were lumpy and creaky with old fashioned blankets. Décor was very tired with grubby carpet and bathroom equally tired looking. Hotel was almost fully booked so perhaps not much incentive to refresh the rooms. Parking scarce so had to leave car in Co-Op 5 minutes walk away. Bar served good beer and chips. If you want to stay in an old hotel and don't mind paying £140 then this may be the hotel for you but if you value a good sleep and comfortable room then look elsewhere. We will next time.

Room Tip: Room 125 is a very long walk from reception up and down several stairs and through many fire doors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonWinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
950 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
1.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers at Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers at Ludlow

Address: Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: £121 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers at Ludlow 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Feathers at Ludlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers At Ludlow Hotel Ludlow
Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers At Ludlow Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing