We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't get too excited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Feathers at Ludlow
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“don't get too excited”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Well how the mighty are fallen. What a disappointment. Took a friend to show her the fabulous Feathers and was so embarrassed at the total lack of customer service.
Wanted a simple pot of tea and cake for three..... Well the cake came on a coffee saucer, when I asked for plates I was told they did not have any!!! When I asked for knives to cut the cake of which more later I again was told that they didn't have any. I asked for more milk, not sure why but it was rationed, and a pot of hot water was like asking for gold.
There were no scones and the couple of cakes very unappealing. The other choice was the usual repackaged cheap flapjacks you can by in the discount supermarkets.
I complained to the duty manager who was not very interested and when I said we would not come
again she seemed totally uninterested.
What a shambles, so sad that such a lovely hotel has lost it's way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, General Manager at The Feathers at Ludlow, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with certain aspects of your visit. Normally the bar service is very good. The duty manager who was interested and an excellent member of the team did as she said she would and discuss the matter not only with the bar person concerned but also the bar manager to ensure we maintain a high level of service.
With regard to the cakes, it is a hotel bar that also serves tea and coffees and a limited range of cakes, we are not a tearoom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    333
    150
    69
    38
See reviews for
94
640
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My favourite hotel yet. Very old with old fittings and very authentic. Had the luck to have one of their luxury rooms last week. Huge room with 2 double beds, bathroom with huge Jacuzzi bath and a fantastic shower. Could not fault a thing. Hygiene rating of 5. Staff all very pleasant and helpful. Absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the outdoor patio area. Although this was quiet, we slept with our windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great location in this lovely town within the beautiful Shropshire countryside.

Reception and restaurant staff very good. Food in the restaurant very good but the restaurant room itself was completely lacking in character and atmosphere which is possibly why there were so few people dining there on a Saturday night. There are obviously lots of other eating options in the town but although the quality and presentation of the food was very good I would not eat in the hotel restaurant again unless the dining room was redone and given as much character as the rest of this beautiful, historic hotel.

Room Tip: 151 was a superior twin - very spacious with large bathroom. Overlooking the courtyard to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eshergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were with a coach party of c.45 staying here for one night only (more would have been very welcome). Our room was beautifully appointed, spacious and comfortable. Lots of storage space and good large bathroom with bath and shower./ The shower though has a quite weak flow, making rinsing off a lengthy process !
Our evening meal although of limited (party) choice, was adequate and tasty; however, no apple sauce served with the pork; waitress explained that they had run out. Oh dear...
Also, the only lift was out or order - not a problem for some but maybe for others.
Bedroom windows would not open to allow fresh air on a very hot night. Needs attention. (103)
The (British) staff were unfailingly polite, respectful and efficient. Well done to all.

Room Tip: We were on first floor front - a little night noise but not excessive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Three star in some respects, one star in others, this hotel represents poor value for the price. I went for a weekend with my daughter and grandson in early July. The welcome was off-hand, the food in the bar mediocre, and when my daughter found a piece of jagged plastic in the ice cream, the response was a shrug and a nonchalant "I'll tell them". No offer of an alternative and I had to ask to have the charge removed.

A serious complaint was the noise from live music across the street from our front rooms. Though it ended at 11:30, noise from customers leaving and talking outside persisted until well after midnight. The hotel would be well advised to provide free earplugs for customers in front rooms.

The rooms themselves were very clean and the bathrooms provided with a good stock of toiletries, even including provision for shoe polish and sewing. My single was a bit small and dull - 1970's John Lewis in decor - and my daughter's double was more attractively decorated, the major handicap being an entry skylight with no provision for blocking the light.

Morning staff were cheerful and friendly, and the full English breakfast delicious. Free to residents but £15 to non-residents, it contained frozen catering pack hashed brown potatoes so perhaps not good value.

More serious was a certain laxity of the staff, who were unable to provide a much-needed telephone or fax number of a chemist for my daughter, whose doctor had telephoned to say that she needed a prescription urgently. Reception didn't have the information; the London doctor, impatiently waiting on the telephone, googled and supplied it.

Room Tip: Under no circumstances book a front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adair74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I had a lovely stay at this hotel whilst on a walking weekend. The facade is still the original 1619 and is very attractive, but the rooms at the back are more modern, clean and comfortable. The food was well presented and delicious and the staff friendly and very accommodating. I would definitely recommend a stay here if you are visiting the beautiful town of Ludlow.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The trip to Ludlow from Chester was so good,past Oswestry and Shrewsbury ,then into Ludlow and booked into the Feathers.First thing to do after viewing our fabulous room was cameras out and taking some shots of the frontage .The whole of Ludlow surpassed our expectations,castles,churches plenty of really old pubs and nice easy access to restraunts,in fact everything was spot on.Must go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
14.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#8 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers at Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers at Ludlow

Property: The Feathers at Ludlow
Address: Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers at Ludlow 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Feathers at Ludlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers At Ludlow Hotel Ludlow
Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers At Ludlow Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing