We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location with much atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Feathers at Ludlow
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at The Feathers. My first visit. Hotel in in a great location right in the centre of this very historic and interesting country town. The appearance of the exterior of the hotel is just amazing.
Inside the place is full of history and atmosphere.
I found the food both at breakfast and dinner to be very good.
Never found any issues with any staff, all were helpful and attentive.
Stayed in a large room at the rear of the hotel, so no great view but you can't have it all.
Would I stay. Here again. Yes. I would.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank pete2257England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Warm welcome by helpful staff

Four poster room feels really historical. Large comfortable room

Dinner was of excellent quality and served by very customer focused staff

Inner secure car park which is always a great bonus

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward_847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a great time at the Feathers we were lucky to just get in on July30th till the fri Aug the ist. Staff friendly and very helpful and a great sense of humour, the food was very good and well presented all staff excellent hotel clean and tidy and quite different as 17th century did not see or experience any ghosts, creaky stairs. Ludlow so lovely and the local people really enjoyed Ludlow castle which overlooks the town, The Feathers ideal as very central and has a very good car park situated at the back of the hotel we were also so lucky with the weather. Well done to the Feathers a very enjoyable few days. Frances C. Thomas Harrow

Room Tip: All rooms quite quiet we had no choice as it was a chance booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frances T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Aug1st great welcome quirky character hotel great food wonderful friendly staff with a very good sense of humour every where in hotel clean and tidy good car parking provided behind hotel situated centrally ideal for ludlow which is a lovely place nice shops great castle which overlooks town well done too the Feathers for such enthusiastic and friendly helpful staff thank you F. Thomas

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Celia.thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, General Manager at The Feathers at Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I will pass on your comments to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Before I start this review please may I say to the management of the Feathers that the views are mine, so if I say something you disagree with please just accept that perception is the truth so dont retort they way you have to some of the less favorable reviews. HERE GOES.

The feathers is a beautiful historic building, and we are so lucky in this country to be able to stay in such buildings. The period pieces of the Hotel are fabulous, with a reading room that you expect a Tudor King or Queen to walk in the door with nothing changed form the Tudor period, the upstairs lounge is wonderful with window seats looking out to the high street, quaint with huge fireplaces, wood paneling all over , and low beamed ceilings to die for....the building is just amazing and steeped in History of that there is no doubt. The bar area, the restaurant area all very good and very comfortable and clean, one could sit outside in the very nice court yard in good weather , lots of tables and chairs and canopy shades if the weather gets to hot or if it rains.
The Breakfast was excellent very substantial and wonderful quality with local produce, We had full English each morning and was still not hungry until evening Dinner time.The service was quick and we had serve us two young waiters who are so pleasant and could not do enough to please, they were so good we actually left a tip after a breakfast for them.

We had a bar meal which was fish & Chips and it really was good value and excellent quality and again served with a smile. The head Bar man at the Hotel was lovely and each night we bothered him for Glasses of Ice and each time he went out of his way to please.

The Receptionist were very nice, efficient and helpful what more can we ask !!! Now all that said I would like to see some improvements, on paint work in the Bedrooms, behind our Bathroom Door the paint was all chipped and did not look good at all, we had a room with a patio door and the frame was filthy on the bottom just bad house keeping, BUT THE ROOM other than those things was very good. Plenty of Lights, storage space, electrical fittings, extra pillows (although not good quality ) TV was good, so all in all the Room is Good. The Rooms are very warm so ask for a fan in the summer months, we did and one was sent to our room immediately.

The car park is Free and is on a first come first served basis but that's what they tell you so its good that you are not disappointed, but we were lucky and got a space so that was good for us.

The Hotel offers free WI-FI so I think that's a massive plus, so well done for that one. The Hotel was completely full on our stay and you could still hear a pin drop so very peaceful. I would stay here again of course I would, and one cannot or should not be too fussy with such an old historic Hotel, If I was to stay in Ludlow again I would go straight to the Feathers, for superb Location, free WI-FI, Free parking, good food, good service..... I much prefer to stay in modern Hotels... but this is History... and I had a wonderful time thank you to all at the Feathers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the patio doors as the Hotel Rooms are very warm day and night and at least you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FUSSYTRAVELLER57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, General Manager at The Feathers at Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Feathers in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We specifically wanted the oldest rooms for our American visitors and neither we nor they were disappointed. Yes...the floors sloped, the windows were old and there were low beams...but that is all part of the experience. It was a very hot day/evening so the room was very warm, even with the windows open, but no noise from the pub over the road. A bit noisy at 5am when dustcart was about....but people would complain if bins were emptied in the middle of the day!
Staff could not have been more helpful, breakfast was excellent...and plenty of it.The residents lounge is really beautiful,full of atmosphere and spotlessly clean.
Very central for all Ludlow has to offer...would not hesitate to book again.
Our American guests remarked the following day.."We slept in a hotel last night that is older than our country!"

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, General Manager at The Feathers at Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review. It was nice to receive your positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was the first time I have stayed at the Feathers although not the first time I have been to Ludlow. Whilst I shall certainly return to Ludlow I very much doubt I will visit the Feathers again.
It is a lovely old building and has great character for the most part but the staff seemed to be largly lethargic and disinterested and there a delivery of Janitorial supplies were sitting in reception from our arrival, mid afternoon until we retied to our rooms at about 10:30pm! also the lift was our of order through our stay and some elderly guest were struggling with luggage up 2 flights of stairs. No offer of assistance was made.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rufus588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, General Manager at The Feathers at Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that the housekeeping janitorial supplies that were tucked away opposite reception upset you. They had been delivered that afternoon and were taken upstairs late evening. Unfortunately the lift had broken down and we were awaiting the return of the engineer with a spare part thus the reason the janitorial supplies were not taken up the two flights of stairs on delivery.
We have been offering luggage assistance to elderly guests.
I know you were worried about the janitorial supplies but how was the food served at dinner and breakfast, how was your room, bar service, restaurant service and reception service? If living on our reputation revolves around some janitorial supplies left opposite reception it is very sad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
473 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
922 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
467 reviews
1.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers at Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers at Ludlow

Address: Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: £110 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers at Ludlow 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Feathers at Ludlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers At Ludlow Hotel Ludlow
Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers At Ludlow Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing