We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive but nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Feathers at Ludlow
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“expensive but nice.”
Reviewed 12 November 2005

Nice Hotel, with good service, ''luxury'' room was quite spacious, seating area with a nice sized bathroom,with towelling robes supplied.Ludlow is a small quiet town quite quaint.Hotel restaurant meal was somewhat pretencious'arty type' food, small portions, for the price , i had duck that was very nice, g/f had lamb that was very fatty, three course was about 30 odd quid a head and left you feeling hungry theres good pub fare in nearby pubs, towards the market.Taxis are not in abundance and you need to book a long time ahead. Train station is very close by.Taxi to the races costs about 7 notes.Not great fascilities at track and no cash machine there.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    347
    157
    76
    39
See reviews for
96
671
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, West Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2005

My husband and myself booked a room at The Feathers without doing any research, so we didn't really know what to expect. On finding the hotel we were very impressed by the fascade, and looked forward to seeing the inside. We weren't disappointed by the lobby, it was very quaint with a great ambience, as was the lounge. But that's where our enthuisiasm ended.
I think we must have had the same room as a previous member (there couldn't be more than 1 grubby room surely!!!). Our room was dirty, the bedheads had grease stains, the bed covers had cigarette marks. The bathroom had time-warped into the 70's, and very badly so, with carpet up the side of the bath!!.
All in all, over-priced and if our room was the standard, try somewhere else!!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bobandcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 May 2005

My fiancee and I absolutely love this hotel, a true example of English "quaintness". The car parking facilities are excellent, very helpful staff and the breakfast of a superiour standard. My only critisism is th price, a little high for what you actually get but we will definately be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2005

After seeing reviews on TripAdvisor after already booking the room I had nightmares about what the room was going to be like. For £125 per night we stayed in the Luxury Four Poster Room. I was lovely. Huge room, immaculate and lovely bathroom with 2 sinks etc. The place is old but well kept giving it a real authentic feel. Staff were plentiful and helpful. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2005

Having read a poor review of the Feathers on Trip Advisor I wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. Our room was enormous, a twin with 2 comfortable double beds and bags of character. It was, unlike other reviewer's experiences, spotless, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. It probably is a little on the expensive side but we had no complaints about the place...just one tip on Ludlow; if you're eating out at the weekend, be sure to make a reservation.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wirralmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 April 2005

Having read good reviews of this hotel in the Sunday Times, my husband booked a surprise weekend for me at the Feathers. Spectacular on the outside but oh, what a disappointment inside. There was no-one on reception when we arrived, the area behind reception was cluttered, it took 10 minutes to find someone. The room was awful. The carpet was dirty, the curtains were falling off the rail, the bedhead was stained from greasy heads, the bathroom was in disrepair, unclean and bright yellow. We asked for an upgrade but the hotel was full. We checked out, explaining our disappointment and how surprised we were that they could charge a premium price for accomodation that was of a much lower standard than our home. The receptionist even agreed with us! Give it a miss.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 September 2004

we were visiting friends near ludlow and decided to stay at the famous Feathers Hotel. Although the outside of the building is fantastic and the staff friendly enough our room was dirty, the carpet had not been hoovered, there were hairs in the bath and dirty tea cups. Perhaps not suprisingly there was a questionnaire in our room which I intended to fill in but that evening it had disappeared! I know there were refurbishments happening and I can only hope they restore the good name of what could be a stunning hotel.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
1.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
888 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
1.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers at Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers at Ludlow

Property: The Feathers at Ludlow
Address: Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers at Ludlow 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Feathers at Ludlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers At Ludlow Hotel Ludlow
Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers At Ludlow Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing