We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ghost walk”
Review of Ludlow Ghost Walk

Ludlow Ghost Walk
Ranked #2 of 3 Tours in Ludlow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Operating hours: 8pm Friday nights April till December Typical prices: £4 adults £4 children family £13 private tours From £99. We interact with the audience, min number of people for a tour. We started 13 years ago self funded we do it because we love it, all stories based on the local area. The tour is dark humour and in Victorian character we walk behind the castle. In the winter months we light the tour with oil lamps for a more spooky atmosphere. We try and make the tour personal to all; we also mingle with the public picking out volunteers as we go.“Do you believe in ghosts? Dare you follow our guides as they take you back to when they walked round this beautiful town? The Reverend Black (deceased) parish was here in this very town….. 300 years ago. His stories of his flock are thrilling and chilling. Stuart de Montacute a Knight of the Garter Left for the Crusades many years ago and never returned. Stuart returns today to talk of his days of chivalry & battle. During the tour other guides may appear to help, let’s just say you won’t be alone….If you are lucky or unlucky enough Mr Beltain & Dr Atlas will attend this tour as your Guides they the Notorious Body snatchers of Victorian times and come back today (not for fresh bones we must add) but to talk of their ghastly trade………. “
bloxwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ghost walk”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We were asked to go with two close frends.We both can say it was very good and enjoyed the time a good £4 thankyou

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank wayneBloxwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Having lived in Ludlow for a number of years along with some four friends similarly living here for around the same amount of time, we decided it was time. Time to do the Ghost Walk, having watched the tour leave the Buttercross right by one of regular watering holes the Church Inn, for these said number of years. Was it good it was b****y brilliant, we laughed out loud (lol) in Text language hahaha. It is a scream literally and audience participation is needed with tales of love, lust, suicide, murder and the devil. A £4 the best value in town and still back to the Church for a pint of the good stuff xx

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveandJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovely Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must if staying in Ludlow.”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Don't expect Ghost Stories, this is more horror Am Dram, but with little else to do in Ludlow this is higly reccomended. The tour guides are very engaging and quirky. The tour lasts 1hr 15 mins and you head out behind Ludlow castle. You will be expected to participate in the stories, we did and found it brilliant!!

A must if staying in Ludlow and good value for money.

Helpful?
1 Thank jodelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Starting by the Butter Cross”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

After a long hard think, the boyfriend and I thought a meal and a tour for the parents might be nice evening.

Congregating at the Butter Cross in Ludlow at 20.00, there was a small group awaiting our guides...

The tour took us round the back of the castle, showing us sights we might not have look up at previously and narrating stories that might not be gospel.

Excellent value for money, guides were amusing and terrain was light.

Top Tip; perhaps would have been a 5/5 had we gone in winter, when the nights are dark?

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gille6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Street theatre & Humour & Ghosts in historic Ludlow”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Arguably the best ghost tour in England. Think Jack the Ripper meets League of Gentlemen meets Spring Watch. More than a simple ghost tour. Messrs Sebastian Beltain and 'The Doctor' appear mysteriously in the Buttercross and whisk their audience along through a leery Ludlow litany of horrific dismemberment, acceptable dismemberment, live burial, suicide leaps and most gruesome of all: audience participation. We went as mixed age fivesome on a brilliantly novel birthday treat which everyone enjoyed and is sure to remember for many a year to come. It's the best thing in Ludlow.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 42nd_Tweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ludlow Ghost Walk also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Ludlow Ghost Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing