We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing”
Review of The French Pantry

The French Pantry
Ranked #4 of 93 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$39
Cuisines: French, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Went to Ludlow specifically to have a birthday meal at the French Pantry as we had promised ourselves a meal here. Wish we had read the reviews before we went.
Very cramped. Reheated food not hot enough though portion sizes were very generous.
At over £55.00 for two of us we did not feel we had value for money

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
10  Thank Rutland-Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonPeterKing, Owner at The French Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Our restaurant is "very cramped"? I won't send you an invite to our Nudist Evening then . . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 443 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We only stopped for morning coffee and croissant, but it was really excellent and very good value for money. The croissant was served without being warmed, and really it didn't need warming it was so fresh. One of the best I have ever eaten. Coffee and croissant for two for less than £8. Can't beat it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Having just moved to the area we were recommended this restaurant as a nice place to go and boy was it good!

The food was excellent: tasty, fresh, well presented, hot, nice portion size and excellent value at £21 for 2 course, £26 for 3.

I had the Lobster Ravioli followed by chicken stew; my wife had Crab Gateau with Saffron Beure followed by Duck Confit; it was all tremendous.

The wine was lovely too.

Atmosphere was great and I thoroughly enjoyed my experience. Lovely!

If you want a recommendation in Ludlow, then this is it.

Book for Saturdays though because it was full and we saw 5 walk-in parties disappointed.

Thank gareth8mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Didnt even bother ordering food, just got up and walked out... A very cramped little venue its a shame the venue isnt the size of the owners ego, you would fit the whole town in there then,....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
11  Thank Shropshirelad049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonPeterKing, Owner at The French Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

AUTO REPLY: We're sorry, our imbercile filter has rejected your correspondence due to excess moronity. Please try contacting us by normal human channels. Thanks for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

On our flying visit to Ludlow we had a tough choice on where to spend our only evening meal. We went for The French Pantry.

We had more or less settled on Bistro 7 when we happened to pass The FP and were won over by the intimate and homely atmosphere and attractive menu.

I'm sure there was Civet de lapin when we booked, which REALLY hits the spot for me. But it had gone a few hours later when we arrived. Menus change, just my bad luck.

My partner started with French Onion soup, which was an interesting item for a hot summers day. She loved it but it did rather fill her up.
I had snails, which were ok but perhaps a bit chewey and a bit less garlic that I would have preferred (have enjoyed snails literally hundreds of times so I do know the benchmark).

For main course my partner had Hake Paella, which was flavoursome and filling. I had Confit Duck, which was also very flavoursome.

Short but fairly-priced wine list and every wine available by the glass, which is brilliant.

Note that the kitchen closes at 8.30 (it did the evening we were there), so don't be late!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MarkFromEaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Pantry also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to The French Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing