We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Castle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ludlow Castle

Ludlow Castle
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ludlow Castle is an unusually complete range of medieval buildings with a varied history evident within its walls. We are host to a number of events that run between April and November, information of which is available at the local tourist information centre and on our website. Castle House was one of the last grand mansions built in Ludlow. It was sympathetically restored in 2006 by the current Earl of Powis and provides a range of Independent shops, Tea Rooms with an idyllic outside terrace during the summer months; function rooms that are available for civil ceremonies, weddings, parties, wakes, meetings The 3 no. self catering apartments are available for 3, 4 and 7 night stays. All bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms, well equipped kitchens and sitting/dining rooms and views of the castle that are unparalleled. The Tea Room is a traditional English tea room with a glazed Courtyard, Pantry, Study and Garden Terrace. It is child and dog friendly with a welcoming and enthusiastic team, serving something for everyone. There are loose-leaf teas, cafeteria coffees, fresh juices and quality wines. A range of freshly prepared cakes and cream teas are available all day. There is a lovely walk around the outside of the castle where you are surrounded by natural woodland and outstanding views of the castle walls, River Teme and Whitcliffe Common.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Use the audio system as this gives your visit a better sence of how it was. Really interesting and fantastic views from the top of the tower.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    413
    119
    11
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
486 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“A pleasant way to spend an hour of two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

It was a lovely suuny day when we visited so it was particularly pleasant to walk around. We didn't get the audio guides which were available. That may have been a good option as there wasn't enough information as you walked around. Worth the £5 entry fee though.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank judithWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great ruin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Ludlow castle is impressive, perfect for exploring with children. We spent an enjoyable hour wandering about the battlements.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Why didn't we know about it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Ludlow is one of those places you know about, but never visit. Looking for something to do on a gorgeous July day, we dropped in and; boy were we impressed! The castle is a natural tourist magnet and the first surprise was the entrance fee. O.K. we get the senior concession, but £4.50 each is extremely good value, particularly when you get to see how big a place it is. Plenty of spacious ruins with many intact rooms, winding staircases and spooky recesses and appreciation is enhanced when you consider the Richard III and princes in the tower connection! My wife was particularly taken by the Round Chapel which has an almost Templar/Holy Grail feel about it. Bags of photo opportunities, dizzy heights and fantastic view of Shropshire. Go there!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really well thought out & considerate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were impressed by a few things on our visit which you don't generally get at the English Heritage castles & we had the impression that some thought had been put into the visitor experience. Firstly there is a toilet at the gift shop, basic I know but easy to miss. In the grounds there were huge pavilions that families could picnic under while keeping their food & children out of the glare of the sun. The site is large & grassy with plenty of room to sit & contemplate the ruins & also to amble round at your own pace without being shunted along in queues. There are creepy little staircases that end in a blank wall, some atmospheric little chambers (beware of the nesting pigeons), tower views & stairs & a huge covered well. The castle is pretty much in the centre of Ludlow so no driving required & in the gift shop you can take a voucher that gives you 10% off the price of the castle tearoom/cafe. I think it was £5 entry for an adult but the website has full price details.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ludlow Castle also viewed

Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Ludlow Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing