We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My friends would disagree and possibly give four stars but,” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stokesay Castle

Stokesay Castle
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My friends would disagree and possibly give four stars but,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Although the building is interesting I think, like many of our old buildings, it could be much better presented. The audio guide is informative but this is the only information you have hence there are people wondering around listening to a little machine, pressing the relevant numbers in the relevant rooms etc. I watched the visitors, including families with children, as they toured this castle and there was virtually no communication at all as most were walking around on their own,
their only companion being an audio guide. So, progress I suppose but if you really want people to become interested in history you need to involve them and grab their attention, to the younger generation I suspect a visit here will have been very dull. Many things were mentioned in passing, i.e the curtain wall, the surrender during the civil war, and, although I appreciate you have to limit the information you give, why a mere mention of important structures/ events?
Having said that it is worth a visit as the gatehouse is quite stunning.
The tea room ( not run by English heritage ) is a disaster. Possibly room for three or four people to order and then take their drinks elsewhere to consume so if it's a rainy day and you arrive after a coach party you would get very wet or give up and not bother with refreshments.
If you do want to know more about the castle's surrender during the Civil War, go to the church where there is more information.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    182
    21
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Strange but beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Set not far from the road between Ludlow and Shrewsbury, you are first struck by the yellow facade. This it turns out is for openers and you move under the gatehouse built much later than the "castle" itself. Those who know would term it a fortified manor house as when push came to shove the raiders took over the place rather easily. Experience history though, how a large house operated in the 14th/15th Century. Mind the bats, unless you like that kind of thing, (well that is what is said on the warning signs). Note, some narrow stairs to climb up but the view from the top on a sunny day -just great. The teas were tasty. Small gift shop where you pay on entry, good loos.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Another little treasure, great audio tour, beautiful location, wonderful historic property that had been very well preserved.

Plenty of picnic places as well as the cafe, which we didn't try.

Really helpful staff and reasonably well stocked shop

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MysticSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Time for reflection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

On the way back from Stiperstones we stopped off at Stokesay Castle. The whole place is enchanting and historically informative. Visually stunning it is a walk back in time. Make sure you take up the opportunity of the free audio guide which was superb. While we were there activities for children were going on all the time. The facilities for eating and resting are excellent and add to the charm of the day. A superb place to study and learn about the past.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank seeteeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
616 reviews
272 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“My favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Of all the attractions we visited in Shropshire and surrounds, this little castle/large manor house was my favourite. It is beautiful. As you park and walk in through the church and then the gatehouse and finally into the castle itself, you are taken back in time. The castle is well preserved and the free audio brings it to life. Although it was school holidays when we visited, the place was relatively quiet, so we were able to sit in most rooms and halls by ourselves and just imagine what it had been like to live there. I would love to visit again!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank justjans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stokesay Castle also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Stokesay Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing