We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.”

Ye Olde Bull Ring Tavern
Ranked #36 of 91 Restaurants in Ludlow
Price range: US$6 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Built in the 14th century with history dating back as far as 1365, our popular venue received a complete makeover in 2012 but still retains much of its historic feel. We aim to deliver a relaxed atmosphere, flavour packed food, and truly enjoyable drinks. We open early and close late, from coffee to cocktails our bar has something for everyone; an exciting and accessible wine list, a full range of premium spirits, world renowned Lavazza coffee, and a whole lot more. We don’t have to travel far to find great ingredients, and our kitchen uses the best local suppliers to produce our menu. From our stonebaked pizzas to our ‘pub favourites’, and our famous Sunday roast, you’ll find our food is packed full of flavour thanks to the skills of the kitchen crew.
Market Drayton
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We called in to the Bull for lunch. We found the music to be too loud. We both had fish and chips. The haddock was beautifully cooked but the chips could have been a touch browner. No-one checked if our meals were ok. My husband did not like his mushy peas, he said they had no taste. We have been to the Olde Bull previously but this time it did not meet our expectations.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabella220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    89
    30
    10
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and home cooked food”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited here on 30th June. The staff were very friendly and there was a nice atmosphere in the pub. The food was lovely, we both had the steak and kidney pie. Very nice and large portions. Would definitely eat here again if in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Typical pub food of good value”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Booked a table for Saturday evening but restaurant was quite empty. We ordered Steak and Kidney Pie, chips and vegetables. The portions were very big and it was very hot. Chips were nice but I don't think the pie had much meat in it. Mostly gravy. It was good value, though, if you like large portions of pub food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nutty16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A good selection of real ales and 'pub' food. We shared a ham baguette, which was served with salad and chips. The portions are large, so make sure you are hungry.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Be aware of The Bull”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The olde worlde facade in a town centre setting made us slightly wary of finding a tourist trap inside but happily we had a lovely meal. Plenty of wood beams lent atmosphere to a warm wednesday lunchtime. The menu was varied around usual pub grub and the cost reasonable. Our steak / sausage baguettes came with some salad (fresh) and chips: portion size generous and quality was v good. Very tasty, and a bit tummy stretching! Service quick and friendly. Would definitely eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank TheHappyEeyore
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Bull Ring Tavern also viewed

Ludlow, Shropshire
Ludlow, Shropshire
 

Been to Ye Olde Bull Ring Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing