We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give me more pie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Church Inn

The Church Inn
Ranked #36 of 89 Restaurants in Ludlow
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Guernsey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Give me more pie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Home of the Ludlow Pie Company. You haven't lived until you've tried a "Fifty Shades of Gravy"!

Friendly and welcoming staff, and great choice of real ales too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GuernseyJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    131
    46
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Called in for a "quick pint". having been recommended by friends. Excellent beer. Friendly staff. Food looked good, but we didn't eat on this occasion. Will return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport on Severn
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a shambles”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband, granddaughter and I called in here for lunch on
Wednesday 28 May. My husband ordered drinks, obtained a menu
and we found a table, after deciding on the meals i went to the
Bar to order and was informed that due to the fact that they were
very busy they could not take any more orders. It was 2pm.if not for the
fact that my husband was in need of something to eat quickly and had
we been made aware of this when we entered and waited for a table
and before buying drinks then my husband
who is a diabetic would not have taken his insulin and there would
have been no need for us to leave our drinks whilst we hurried to find
somewhere else before his insulin kicked in and he passed out.
We certainly wont be recommending this establishment to anyone else.

    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craven Arms, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“N I C E !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I liked the quick service and the good food.(different, whitebait super!) reasonable prices, Ludlow pies, Soups. helpful staff; an old inn, pleasant interior; there are steps but another way out. Just near St Laurences Church.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank D0reen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Famous for pies but not many on offer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The Church Inn was recommended to us by a local guest house landlady. We had drinks in the bar before our meal and the place was rather small and had chairs in odd places, as in one was right by the door, facing outwards! In fact most of the 'chairs' were church pews and were quite uncomfortable after a while. They were advertising an amazing range of pies, 40 altogether and they sounded delicious. However, when we went upstairs to eat and were given a menu, the amazing range of delicious pies dwindled considerably. The menu was colour coded - green dots for available pies, red dots were unavailable. Out of the 40 pies advertised, only 6 were available! We were extremely disappointed to say the least. The food itself was delicious but none of us had the flavour of pie we wanted as they weren't available. A case of false advertising I'm afraid

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Church Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Church Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing