We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect week.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Ludlow, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrPipPip
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A perfect week.”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful house is on one of the main roads a stone's throw from the town centre. It's within a minute's walk of two supermarkets and just a little further to the many shops, pubs and restaurants for which Ludlow is well known The rooms were large and full of character, well furnished and made a birthday weekend a wonderful family occasion. The owners were helpful and informative. We could not have asked for better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank M
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unforgettable stay”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I took my family here for my 70th birthday. Ludlow itself is a charming town, with good delis, its own brewery and a memorable hardware shop (to me, a place isn't worth visiting if it doesn't have a big. rambling hardware shop). It's got two castles too.
The Maltster's house is perfect for a stay in Ludlow, It's comfortable, very well equipped and perfectly located (a 5 minute walk into town). It's also a 5 minute walk to the station.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house, lovely location”
Reviewed 21 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A group of 9 friends stayed over a weekend here and found it was perfect for what we needed. The house is gorgeous and huge, with plenty of space for that many guests (I still can't get over the size of the upstairs bathroom) and all the facilities you need. It was a great base for us to explore Ludlow (castle, local country walks and sausage rolls from the Saturday market highly recommended) and was comfy and cosy for the cold January evenings. The only tiny negative was that the WiFi connection wasn't great, but otherwise all ideal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpcruiser
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous in Ludlow”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Group stay with 9 girls for a weekend away to explore historic & charming Ludlow. The house is very welcoming with older character style & furnishings but with plenty of comfort. Spacious downstairs reception rooms with seating for all, workable kitchen, range of bedroom sizes including family size. 2 bathrooms (not 3 as advertised). WiFi not great but general signal in this town not good. Main road location with 4-5 spaces opposite which we did have a couple of permits for & Sunday free otherwise found council car park behind Tesco for 1st day so between town & property. Didn't actually use the small courtyard but looked nice & private but unsure what/where the 2 doors were for also similar with the extra staircase from 1st floor to attic?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy feel
Liked least: Extra single beds in family room (double)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moz278
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The perfect base to discover Ludlow (and beyond)”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed at here with a group of friends, so we could enjoy the food delights of Ludlow.
The photos and description on the website looked great, which made us all eagerly anticipate the visit. And on arrival we weren't disappointed.
4 lovely clean bedrooms, with crisp white linen. Two beautifully appointed bathrooms and a "country style" kitchen with plenty of cooking facilities. Two living areas with a large TV in each, and a log burning stove in one. Plenty of seats and a dining table that could easily accommodate 10-12 guests.
However a niggle was that one bedroom didn't have anywhere to store clothes, (all others had a closet/wardrobe/chest, etc.). If you're staying for a week with friends not family, that's important.
The other niggle (maybe not important to all) was that the advertised wifi, was incredibly slow.
It could take over 5 minutes to download some web pages.
A great location, just a 10 minute walk up the hill to Ludlow Buttercross, which is arguably the town centre. Here you can find a vast range of small shops and markets, so you won't want for anything.
If you're more a supermarket person, there is a medium sized Tesco and Aldi about 3 minutes walk away, or a Co-op a little further away.
Ludlow is not short of places to eat, from Michelin style restaurants to cozy cafés. Just take your pick. And many are really quite close by The Maltsters. For example La Becasse, was a 3 minute walk. The Unicorn pub (highly recommended) just 2.
Parking however can be an issue if you have several cars. A permit is provided for 1 car outside. The rest have to park about a 10 minute walk away in a large council car park. Not sure we'd want leave cars there overnight though. The website says there is parking 2 minutes walk away, if this location does exist we didn't find it. We even asked the young lady who was doing the cleaning when we arrived. She said she had no idea, and that lots of people have asked her the same question!!
But overall highly recommended.
Would we return. A big yes all round.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous house, lovely town”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the Maltster's House as a base for a group of friends doing a sponsored walk, and have to say the house is superb and far exceeded our expectations. The quality of the interior is fantastic and spotlessly clean, plus the location is ideal for exploring the picturesque market town of Ludlow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superb facilities
Liked least: Limited parking
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare
Reviewed 23 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing