We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in Ludlow”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nelson Cottage

Nelson Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludlow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nelson Cottage
Ranked #19 of 48 Ludlow B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Weekend in Ludlow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were staying in Ludlow for 2 nights for a wedding at Ludlow Castle. This accommodation could not be faulted, one of the best we have stayed in. There were so many extra touches, like fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge in the room, a teatowel to dry your cups after use so you could use them again. A huge, comfortable bed and plenty of hanging space and drawers, useful for longer stays.
Very friendly hosts who made us so welcome. Would most certainly recommend a stay at Nelson Cottage!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kada33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janet S, Owner at Nelson Cottage, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit to Ludlow and your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
35
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Lovely hosts, a lovely spacious, clean room with large en-suite bathroom. Delicious full English breakfast which lasted us all day! Jan and Fred were very friendly and gave us ideas of places to visit as weather wasn't particular fantastic and my husband has mobility problems. Five minute drive into Ludlow itself but well situated for visiting outlying areas. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay and we'll definitely be back if we are down that way.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janet S, Owner at Nelson Cottage, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Nelson cottage. If you are in this area again it would be lovely to see you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at nelson cottage, ludlow on 20/10/2013.
all I can say is this is possibly the most comfortable b&b that we have ever stayed in. Good breakfast,nothing was too much trouble. Warm and friendly greeting and were made to feel special. Exceptional.!! From cornwall

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janet S, Owner at Nelson Cottage, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for a wonderfut review we are both so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Nelson Cottage and we very much look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had a lovely 2 days here although the first day was very hot and we trudged into Ludlow along the main road. We later found out that there was a better route and also a bus which passed the door which it would have been nice to have been told about. Also although the cottage is lovely the surroundings are not that picturesque althought there are lovely views from the back bedroom. Having said that, we would stay again as the room was lovely, very clean, breakfast was very good and our hosts were charming. We were greeted with tea and cakes in the garden and our room had a fridge which was very unusual for a B&B so we had fresh milk instead of those silly little packets of UHT stuff and there was bottle water for us as well. A very enjoyable stay once we had got a little local knowledge and Ludlow is lovely.

Room Tip: A back room is better as the road is a bit noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captainmoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We have just returned from a one-night stay at this delightful Cottage. What a welcome! Jan met us at the door and immediately offered us tea and delicious homemade cake, brought to us by Fred. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. Our room and bathroom were exceptional with everywhere spotless. The catty ones from 'Four-in-a-bed' would struggle here to find fault.

After a fairly good night's sleep - it was blisteringly hot - we were presented with a superb 5* breakfast, freshly cooked. Unbeatable.

Choosing a B&B is pot luck, but we struck gold.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

There could never be a warmer welcome. Tea and coffee (and cake) in the conservatory while the room was made ready and what a room!
A large and very comfy bed and a fridge so we could have real milk and bottled water. The water pressure in the bath room was out of this world and there was even a duck to share your bath!
The views from the bedroom are stunning.
Nothing seems to have been forgotten - not only where there plastic tumblers in the bathroom but real wine glasses and bottle opener along with a wine keeper.
There was no need to be bored with plenty of reading material to hand.
The breakfast was excellent with only local ingredients used and plenty of it. Instead of a tiny coffee pot a large cafeteria was provided.
The pub next door is an experience too!!!!!
Well worth a visit - we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Absolutely fab stay at the Nelson Cottage. Staying overnight for a relatives birthday, so only a 1 night stay but the owners were incredibly welcoming and friendly. Even allowed some family members to come to the Cottage who weren't staying, which I thought was very accommodating of them.
We were offered tea and cakes on arrival. Shown to a beautifully decorated rooms with a lovely outlook. Room had everything you could need, even a bottle opener in case you just wanted a quiet night in. Breakfast served in the morning to order and whenever you wanted it. All in all a brilliant stay and I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlovesturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
1.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
2.8 mi away
Angel House Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Whitfield House
Whitfield House
#3 of 48 in Ludlow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Queens
The Queens
#13 of 48 in Ludlow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Ludlow Mascall Centre
#43 of 48 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson Cottage

Property: Nelson Cottage
Address: Nelson Cottage Kidderminster Rd, Rocks Green, Ludlow SY8 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ludlow
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New owners Alison and Jeff, extend a warm welcome to our recently refurbished 4 star Bed & Breakfast just on the outskirts of Ludlow. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nelson Cottage Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing