We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable experience in historic gem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Lodge

Castle Lodge
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience in historic gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

A wealth of Tudor panelling and plasterwork makes for a jaw dropping experience here. According to Wikipedia the sometime home of Catherine of Aragon and apparently is linked to the castle next door. Shown almost completely empty by a gentleman, who seems to have devoted his recent life and savings to trying to conserve the place, you can get a feel for real Tudor life in this very large dwelling.
Yes, its dark, a little creepy, but I am so glad to have experienced this.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 190801Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    38
    17
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

After ringing the front door bell to get in to see the lodge, we were greeted by an old man; a man who reminded me of Ebineezer Scrooge, who took our entrance fee and told us where we could look.

Upon entering the front room with the two SCS (World of Furniture) sofas, we clapped eyes on a painting of the owner; the old man who answered the door bell, from his younger years. The painting didn't give us a feeling of nostalgia, more an uncomfortable feeling for the rest of the 'tour'.

Only two of the rooms had anything in; beds, of which we thought is one the owner uses. The rest of the rooms were empty, apart from dusty old rugs; of which some were for sale.

All in all, if you love to just look at the architecture and none of the fixtures and fittings of an old years, I think you'll love it. But if you want to see the trappings of the past and get a feel for what the lodge was like in years gone by, then avoid like the great plague.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A wonderful old building that deserves your visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

When we have been to Ludlow before this building has always been closed but we were lucky this time and for a very small sum were able to wander around the parts that the owner allows the public to see. There is some lovely panelling plus amazing ceilings, stained glass and doors. Upstairs is not nearly so spectacular but still interesting to view. Obviously a major headache for the owner to maintain and tricky to install electric fittings in, what I assume must be, a grade 1 listed building.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A rare gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Possibly the best example of Tudor panelling I have seen. Absolutely stunned that this real gem of a house is not being snapped up by the National Trust or another such charity to ensure that it is both saved for the nation and more people are encouraged to visit it. The owner is realy intersting if you take the time to talk to him, but suspect that while he loves the house and the memories it holds for him, he knows he cannot keep it how it should be. if I had the money, I would buy it. Think some miss the point about this house, it is the house that is of interest. I didn't think it mattered that most of the rooms were empty as this made looking at the wood carving, and plasterwork, so much easier.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Quirky but brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Lovely to see an unspoilt Tudot mansion. Each floor has a different level of opulence, with the grand ground floor rising to the plainer servants quarters in the eves. The features are impressive, and you have the ability to really get up close to the fabric of the house. It is not stocked with years of artifacts like a well presented NT place, but somehow more real and enjoyable!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Herbie-Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Castle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing