We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Overton Grange Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 23 December 2007

We stayed two days at Overton Grange for our Honeymoon and it was superb. The food as well as the service was excellent. We booked the room with the 4-Poster bed and it was clean, beautifully decorated and the views over the Shropshire countryside were stunning.
We will be back. Well done, Overton Grange!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mccaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    80
    46
    23
    22
See reviews for
23
182
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2007

Ludlow is a lovely locaton for a weekend break. The hotel is set back across the fields facing a busy road and garage.
We stayed in room 17 for the first night, three complaints the bed was very hard and uncomfortable, sound insulation was poor we could hear the people above flushing loos/walking/creaking in bed and the shower sounded like a vacuum cleaner with the power of a watering can. Oh I forgot the window would not lock.

The breakfast buffet was not appetising and the cooked breakast was nothing special. First night dinner we were one of two couples - no atmosphere and the food was warm not hot, the meal was okay but for the price you expect to be wowed. The second night there was a coach party in which meant the starter and main was rushed and we had over an hours wait for the desert. The menu was also reduced to to three starter and main dishes. When the desert did arrive it was burnt. Beware the cheese plate - four small pieces of cheese for £9.50. We complained, refused to pay the full price to no avail. Management did not listen to our complaints and said if we had a problem write to the management - as I was speaking to the owner/manager I wonder for what worth.

Rooms were half serviced with rubbish left in bins, toiletries not replemished and bathroom floor not swept.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The accommodation
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Disappointed083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, General Manger & Proprietor at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2007
Overton Grange is a small, privately owned Edwardian Country House, rated 3* with one of the highest merit award rating of 83% with the AA and England Tourist Board,(85% in the 2007 inspection) and one of the most awarded hotel and restaurant in Shropshire, Michelin Guide, Johansens, RAC,Good Food and Good Hotel Guide, Time Out, Country Living, Telegraph and the Times newspapers, and many more...
Our 14 bedrooms and bathrooms have all been refurbished (all bathrooms with white and chrome suites, stone or traventine tiles, power shower or bath (both in luxury rooms and Suites), and individual design in all the rooms, with a country touch, Molton Brown Toiletries, crisp linen, Cafetiere , Chocolate and tea facilities. All with new beds, new carpets, new curtains and furnishing, etc...even flat sreen TV/LCD, CD/DVD player in luxury rooms...Room rates range from £140.00 to £240.00 per room per night on double occupancy basis, and in this instance, the room being a standard room costs £140.00BB). The guests requested a standard room with shower and were allocated the same room as was The Senior AA Inspector during is July 07 inspection. The room and bathroom provide confortable bed and shower facilities and has never deserved any complaints from other guests.

As for the food, Overton Grange enjoys an excellent reputation and a listing in the AA and Michelin guide, highly supported by many reviews on this site...We have pages and pages in our comments book! Our guests were invited to their table at 7.45 pm sharp, and deserts followed appetiser, starter, main course and pre desert before 9.30pm, after a 15mns delay, while our busy kitchen dressed the main courses for a private dinner party of 27. The same party then had desert and coffee and departed just before 10pm. Although we had a very busy evening with 48 Diners, it all seemed very fulfilling and complimentary with the guests, many congratulating for an excellent evening and a most enjoyable stay! Our guests would not know, as they went to the room at 9.45pm, a very late noight indeed, on saturday 27th October...

Even breakfast is prepared and served to order and high standards by the very same team . Our guests did not experience breakfast on departure, having been very rude and unpleasant to our staff the previous evening, and obviously could not face the embarassment...Fresh and organic produce, locally sourced is very much the norm. Even the cheese board displays fantastic organic and local and British cheese and chutneys...

I am personally on duty most Sunday mornings at departure time to ensure that our guests have experienced an enjoyable stay.
Many guests compliment our skiiled and hand picked staff , refer to our fine cuisine in complimentary terms, and would indeed recommend and return again and again...and many would love to stay even longer....

F METZO
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2007

We stayed here over the Easter weekend for two nights on 7th and 8th April as a weekend break.

The pro:
1.The location. The hotel is in a lovely countryside setting with wonderful views (with the exception of the petrol station on the road at the end of the drive).

2. The cons:
The price of £180 for a superior "contemporary" room including breakfast (No. 22). This was not good value for the room we got - it was small and dark with view of another building. On the telephone I had been offered a room with a view but it was described as chintzy and I probably wrongly decided that a contemporary room would be better all round.

The bed was just a double - after an uncomfortable night for both of us (we are used to a king size bed and bigger ) I asked if there were any rooms with larger beds. I was shown to the deluxe suite at £240 for the night. The room did not look appealing and the bed if any bigger only appeared marginally bigger - I declined.

Back in room 22, the television was an old style small portable type (in fact everything about this room was small!) and kept going off station. There was no radio, dvd/cd or fridge in the room so milk for tea/coffee was out of the little cartons.

The bathroom by contrast was large with two washbasins and was the best thing about No.22. However, when we arrived there were several dead flies in the bathroom (followed by several more live ones when we opened the window that we had to despatch). There were no bathrobes or shower/bath gel. From the billing the hotel gives itself on its website and the price I would have expected these to be available.

When we were shown the room on arrival the receptionist failed to show us where the switch was to turn on the power for the shower (it was not obvious or marked). My shower was a just a dribble but even when we did find the switch what came out of the shower head (over the bath) was not much better.

The breakfast selection was poor. We had dinner in the hotel on one evening and although it was a nice meal it was not amazing or wonderful (it was priced at £42.50 per person for three courses plus service of £13.50 which was added onto the hotel bill. Wine and drinks were extra. There were only three tables of two eating that night and the atmosphere was one of "hushed tones" as we were all seated in the same small section. ( We had a much more relaxed and enjoyable meal the night before at The Clive restaurant with rooms on the other side of Ludlow).

The two bar/restaurant staff at Overton Grange were pleasant but appeared slightly diffident in their approach to their product (particularly in the bar area). They gave the impression of being "under training" except we saw no visible management all weekend until it came to paying the bill on checkout !

As we left I popped my head around a couple of the other bedroom doors that were open and in the process of being cleaned (the occupiers had checked out) and I was glad that I hadn't gone for the chintz option - certainly what I saw looked like it was stuck in a time warp and the bathroom of one of them was something out of the 197O's with a wooden toilet seat and a mustard coloured bath! They were also small (with smal beds) but were brighter due to windows overlooking the front of the hotel and not the side of another building.

Our whole stay at Overton Grange was put into stark contrast by the hotel we stayed at the following evening - The Cotswold House hotel in Chipping Campden. I couldn't recommend this hotel more highly - everything Overton Grange got wrong The Cotswold House got right and much more!

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Size of room/bed and dead flies
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank standard_bearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, General Manager at Overton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2007
Overton Grange is a small, privately owned Edwardian Country House, rated 3* with one of the highest merit award rating of 83% with the AA and England Tourist Board,(85% in the 2007 inspection) and one of the most awarded hotel and restaurant of its kind in Shropshire, Michelin Guide, Johansens, RAC,Good Food and Good Hotel Guide, Time Out, Country Living, Telegraph and the Times newspapers, and many more...
Our 14 bedrooms and bathrooms have been refurbished over the last 18 months, including the "mustard coloured bath and suite( all bathrooms with white and chrome suites, stone or traventine tiles, power shower or bath (both in luxury rooms and Suites), and individual design in all the rooms, with a country touch, Molton Brown Toiletries, crisp linen, Cafetiere , Chocolate and tea facilities. All with new beds, new carpets, new curtains and furnishing, etc...even flat sreen TV/LCD, CD/DVD player in luxury rooms...Room rates range from £140.00 to £240.00 per room per night on double occupancy basis, and in this instance, the room being a standard room costs £140.00BB)

As for the food, Overton Grange currently warrants 3 AA Rosettes and a listing in the Michelin guide, highly supported by many reviews on this site...We have pages and pages in our comments book!

Even breakfast is prepared and served to order and high standards by the very same team , serving 3 rosettes and Michelin food in the evening...Fresh and organic produce, locally sourced is very much the norm.

Overton Grange is not a Boutique Hotel and does not compete in tarifs and facilities, although, we will be adding Leisure and Spa facilities to the Grange, in the winter, offering our guests an enhanced experience at Overton Grange, and an additional 7 Luxury Suites in 2008/09.

Many guests compliment our skiiled and hand picked staff and would indeed recommend and returnagain and again...

F METZO
General Manager






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2007

We stayed at the Overton Grange (near Ludlow) for one night only in March this year(2007). I had chosen it as a getaway for myself and my husband as a treat for his birthday. We were not disappointed. The room was very well appointed, the views were wonderful. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The food was absolutely gorgeous. It is very expensive though. We were charged £11.00 for 2 glasses of gin and tonic and £11.00 for 2 glasses of wine. However, it is a lovely place and we shall certainly be making a return visit. Looking forward to the planned swimming pool next time!

  • Liked — Superb views and comfortable well appointed rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BeauTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2007

On the whole a very nice place to stay. The food was very good but the service in the restuarant was lacking. Our table was not properly cleared after each course and empty glasses were never collected. We had to ask again for wine that we ordered, which was then just delivered to our table and the waitress walked away without us having the opportunity to taste it and with out the waitress offering to pour it for us.

The room was pleasant and very clean but there was only a hand held shower in the bath which was disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BMBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2005

This is by far the best hotel in Ludlow.The decor is splendid,not too much but very elegant and very clean.The restaurant especially is decorated in warm, inviting colours.The hotel was very quiet when we visited, only 4 rooms taken and not all dined in the restaurant.The food was exquisite and there were some nice pre course appetisers along the way.A couple of disppointments to note; there was not a maitre de and my chair was not pulled out for me when I sat down which resulted in me struggling with a heavy leather chair!The room was pretty but took a long time to heat up.Also,the bathroom door did not shut which could have been embarrassing had I not been with husband of 15 years!The staff were attentive but did not make much conversation-for a hotel costing this amount I would have expected a little more attention -we were left to take our own bags to the room and no offer of any help. Definitely worth a visit however.

Helpful?
5 Thank Julia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 May 2004

Great view from hotel .Food is worthy of a Michelin Star. Rooms are overpriced. Staff is courteous and helpful. Big negative is they do not include the gratuity and expect you to give a tip on the entire amount (inclusive of room). They also watch you while you do the tip making you overtip.
The bathrooms showers are like a trickle of water.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
2.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
843 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.7 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
416 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
712 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 48 in Ludlow
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Grange Hotel

Property: Overton Grange Hotel
Address: Overton Road, Ludlow SY8 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Overton Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overton Grange is a privately owned Country House Hotel located in Ludlow, Shropshire. Built in 1905, this beautiful wood-panelled Edwardian house is situated in a truly idyllic setting and provides the ideal place to escape the everyday. Settle in the Library, or Lounge, perhaps by the log fire, (wifi available in the lounge) looking out over stunning Shropshire countryside and gardens. Take the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful new Indoor Pool, Sauna and Health and Beauty facilities - treat yourself to a massage or treatments. Ideally located, we are a level walk from the market town of Ludlow famous for its Gastronomy, Shakespearean plays, bi-annual Food Festivals, Medieval Xmas Fayre, Arts and Antiques Fairs and fresh local produce market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Overton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Grange Ludlow
Hotel Overton Grange
Overton Grange Hotel Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing