We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
119
90
50
27
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
90
50
27
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool and saunaflat roofproper showerhotel guestssuperb foodrolling hillsset in lovely groundswine listpre dinnershropshire countrysidedietary requirementsdining roomsstandard roompublic roomscomfortable hotelthree nightslarge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2007

We stayed two days at Overton Grange for our Honeymoon and it was superb. The food as well as the service was excellent. We booked the room with the 4-Poster bed and it was clean, beautifully decorated and the views over the Shropshire countryside were stunning.
We will be back. Well done, Overton Grange!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mccaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2007

Ludlow is a lovely locaton for a weekend break. The hotel is set back across the fields facing a busy road and garage.
We stayed in room 17 for the first night, three complaints the bed was very hard and uncomfortable, sound insulation was poor we could hear the people above flushing loos/walking/creaking in bed and the shower sounded like a vacuum cleaner with the power of a watering can. Oh I forgot the window would not lock.

The breakfast buffet was not appetising and the cooked breakast was nothing special. First night dinner we were one of two couples - no atmosphere and the food was warm not hot, the meal was okay but for the price you expect to be wowed. The second night there was a coach party in which meant the starter and main was rushed and we had over an hours wait for the desert. The menu was also reduced to to three starter and main dishes. When the desert did arrive it was burnt. Beware the cheese plate - four small pieces of cheese for £9.50. We complained, refused to pay the full price to no avail. Management did not listen to our complaints and said if we had a problem write to the management - as I was speaking to the owner/manager I wonder for what worth.

Rooms were half serviced with rubbish left in bins, toiletries not replemished and bathroom floor not swept.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Disappointed083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, General Manger & Proprietor at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2007

Overton Grange is a small, privately owned Edwardian Country House, rated 3* with one of the highest merit award rating of 83% with the AA and England Tourist Board,(85% in the 2007 inspection) and one of the most awarded hotel and restaurant in Shropshire, Michelin Guide, Johansens, RAC,Good Food and Good Hotel Guide, Time Out, Country Living, Telegraph and the Times newspapers, and many more...
Our 14 bedrooms and bathrooms have all been refurbished (all bathrooms with white and chrome suites, stone or traventine tiles, power shower or bath (both in luxury rooms and Suites), and individual design in all the rooms, with a country touch, Molton Brown Toiletries, crisp linen, Cafetiere , Chocolate and tea facilities. All with new beds, new carpets, new curtains and furnishing, etc...even flat sreen TV/LCD, CD/DVD player in luxury rooms...Room rates range from £140.00 to £240.00 per room per night on double occupancy basis, and in this instance, the room being a standard room costs £140.00BB). The guests requested a standard room with shower and were allocated the same room as was The Senior AA Inspector during is July 07 inspection. The room and bathroom provide confortable bed and shower facilities and has never deserved any complaints from other guests.

As for the food, Overton Grange enjoys an excellent reputation and a listing in the AA and Michelin guide, highly supported by many reviews on this site...We have pages and pages in our comments book! Our guests were invited to their table at 7.45 pm sharp, and deserts followed appetiser, starter, main course and pre desert before 9.30pm, after a 15mns delay, while our busy kitchen dressed the main courses for a private dinner party of 27. The same party then had desert and coffee and departed just before 10pm. Although we had a very busy evening with 48 Diners, it all seemed very fulfilling and complimentary with the guests, many congratulating for an excellent evening and a most enjoyable stay! Our guests would not know, as they went to the room at 9.45pm, a very late noight indeed, on saturday 27th October...

Even breakfast is prepared and served to order and high standards by the very same team . Our guests did not experience breakfast on departure, having been very rude and unpleasant to our staff the previous evening, and obviously could not face the embarassment...Fresh and organic produce, locally sourced is very much the norm. Even the cheese board displays fantastic organic and local and British cheese and chutneys...

I am personally on duty most Sunday mornings at departure time to ensure that our guests have experienced an enjoyable stay.
Many guests compliment our skiiled and hand picked staff , refer to our fine cuisine in complimentary terms, and would indeed recommend and return again and again...and many would love to stay even longer....

F METZO
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2007

We stayed here over the Easter weekend for two nights on 7th and 8th April as a weekend break.

The pro:
1.The location. The hotel is in a lovely countryside setting with wonderful views (with the exception of the petrol station on the road at the end of the drive).

2. The cons:
The price of £180 for a superior "contemporary" room including breakfast (No. 22). This was not good value for the room we got - it was small and dark with view of another building. On the telephone I had been offered a room with a view but it was described as chintzy and I probably wrongly decided that a contemporary room would be better all round.

The bed was just a double - after an uncomfortable night for both of us (we are used to a king size bed and bigger ) I asked if there were any rooms with larger beds. I was shown to the deluxe suite at £240 for the night. The room did not look appealing and the bed if any bigger only appeared marginally bigger - I declined.

Back in room 22, the television was an old style small portable type (in fact everything about this room was small!) and kept going off station. There was no radio, dvd/cd or fridge in the room so milk for tea/coffee was out of the little cartons.

The bathroom by contrast was large with two washbasins and was the best thing about No.22. However, when we arrived there were several dead flies in the bathroom (followed by several more live ones when we opened the window that we had to despatch). There were no bathrobes or shower/bath gel. From the billing the hotel gives itself on its website and the price I would have expected these to be available.

When we were shown the room on arrival the receptionist failed to show us where the switch was to turn on the power for the shower (it was not obvious or marked). My shower was a just a dribble but even when we did find the switch what came out of the shower head (over the bath) was not much better.

The breakfast selection was poor. We had dinner in the hotel on one evening and although it was a nice meal it was not amazing or wonderful (it was priced at £42.50 per person for three courses plus service of £13.50 which was added onto the hotel bill. Wine and drinks were extra. There were only three tables of two eating that night and the atmosphere was one of "hushed tones" as we were all seated in the same small section. ( We had a much more relaxed and enjoyable meal the night before at The Clive restaurant with rooms on the other side of Ludlow).

The two bar/restaurant staff at Overton Grange were pleasant but appeared slightly diffident in their approach to their product (particularly in the bar area). They gave the impression of being "under training" except we saw no visible management all weekend until it came to paying the bill on checkout !

As we left I popped my head around a couple of the other bedroom doors that were open and in the process of being cleaned (the occupiers had checked out) and I was glad that I hadn't gone for the chintz option - certainly what I saw looked like it was stuck in a time warp and the bathroom of one of them was something out of the 197O's with a wooden toilet seat and a mustard coloured bath! They were also small (with smal beds) but were brighter due to windows overlooking the front of the hotel and not the side of another building.

Our whole stay at Overton Grange was put into stark contrast by the hotel we stayed at the following evening - The Cotswold House hotel in Chipping Campden. I couldn't recommend this hotel more highly - everything Overton Grange got wrong The Cotswold House got right and much more!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank standard_bearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, General Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2007

Overton Grange is a small, privately owned Edwardian Country House, rated 3* with one of the highest merit award rating of 83% with the AA and England Tourist Board,(85% in the 2007 inspection) and one of the most awarded hotel and restaurant of its kind in Shropshire, Michelin Guide, Johansens, RAC,Good Food and Good Hotel Guide, Time Out, Country Living, Telegraph and the Times newspapers, and many more...
Our 14 bedrooms and bathrooms have been refurbished over the last 18 months, including the "mustard coloured bath and suite( all bathrooms with white and chrome suites, stone or traventine tiles, power shower or bath (both in luxury rooms and Suites), and individual design in all the rooms, with a country touch, Molton Brown Toiletries, crisp linen, Cafetiere , Chocolate and tea facilities. All with new beds, new carpets, new curtains and furnishing, etc...even flat sreen TV/LCD, CD/DVD player in luxury rooms...Room rates range from £140.00 to £240.00 per room per night on double occupancy basis, and in this instance, the room being a standard room costs £140.00BB)

As for the food, Overton Grange currently warrants 3 AA Rosettes and a listing in the Michelin guide, highly supported by many reviews on this site...We have pages and pages in our comments book!

Even breakfast is prepared and served to order and high standards by the very same team , serving 3 rosettes and Michelin food in the evening...Fresh and organic produce, locally sourced is very much the norm.

Overton Grange is not a Boutique Hotel and does not compete in tarifs and facilities, although, we will be adding Leisure and Spa facilities to the Grange, in the winter, offering our guests an enhanced experience at Overton Grange, and an additional 7 Luxury Suites in 2008/09.

Many guests compliment our skiiled and hand picked staff and would indeed recommend and returnagain and again...

F METZO
General Manager






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2007

We stayed at the Overton Grange (near Ludlow) for one night only in March this year(2007). I had chosen it as a getaway for myself and my husband as a treat for his birthday. We were not disappointed. The room was very well appointed, the views were wonderful. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The food was absolutely gorgeous. It is very expensive though. We were charged £11.00 for 2 glasses of gin and tonic and £11.00 for 2 glasses of wine. However, it is a lovely place and we shall certainly be making a return visit. Looking forward to the planned swimming pool next time!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BeauTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2007

On the whole a very nice place to stay. The food was very good but the service in the restuarant was lacking. Our table was not properly cleared after each course and empty glasses were never collected. We had to ask again for wine that we ordered, which was then just delivered to our table and the waitress walked away without us having the opportunity to taste it and with out the waitress offering to pour it for us.

The room was pleasant and very clean but there was only a hand held shower in the bath which was disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank BMBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews