We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is set in a stunning location, the staff are friendly and helpful and ludlow is within easy walking distance.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Overton Grange Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I was very impressed with the staff, service, food and location. The hotel is set in the countryside only 1.5miles from Ludlow and the views from the hotel are spectacular. All of the staff were friendly and helpful and tar food was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puffin39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

What a fantastic hotel, service excellent.

We were greeted by a superb young man who made us feel very welcome.

The room was spotless, nothing was too much trouble. My compliments to the chef, the french cuisine is second to none.

As for the dogs, they were loved form the minute we walked through the door. we will be back, thankyou Overton Grange.

Room Tip: If you are not happy the will try and accomadate your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalieharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

two older ladies made a booking with this hotel through booking.com, because the information given on the hotel web site, stated it was " a short level walk from the hotel into Ludlow. We checked this information on Google and found it is actually 2.2.miles away. We immediately rang to cancel the booking to find the answerphone didn't accept messages. Therefore, we rang early the next morning less than twelve hours after making the booking, to cancel the reservation as it was too far for us to walk into the town. We spoke to the owner who was extremely unpleasant, and in formed us in no uncertain manner we would not be allowed to cancel without incurring a £50.00 cancellation fee, even though this was two months prior to our booking, date, and despite the web site stating that if the room could be re--let there would be no charge. I was informed that the £50.00 was an administration fee, charged by Booking .com. When we contacted ,Booking. com they informed us they were willing to waive the charge, but the hotel refused. HAVE CANCELLED ,WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
5  Thank patti s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Despite the extremely hard working and pleasant girls, there is a certain lack of attention to detail here. The room was small, likewise the bathroom, and the the toiletries,while of a very good quality, were not renewed after the first day.
However, on the plus side, the breakfast was very good and though we did not sample the evening menu ourselves, the food got excellent revues in the visitors book.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowdrop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Comfortable stay spoiled by service charge policy. 10% service for dinner (on fixed charge break! Wording of conformation suggest serive included) and bar bill (not informed when ordering) leaves a sense of sharp practice. Room pleasant, but shower difficult to use. Dinner satisfactory but without a wow factor; wine choice for less expensive wines limited. Breakfast good. Lounge fire if lit (although made up) would have been an added pleaure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank philipjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Had a lovely relaxing break, in this quaint hotel. I wasnt sure what to expect as we normally stay 5 star, but this was excellent, and I am surprised it is only rated 3 star.

Fantastic service, the food was exemplary and the hotel cosy and presented well.

We had the degustation menu which was top notch, definitely Michelin standard. We had the four poster room and i loved the little touches, like a cafetiere for coffee and the stereo.

We sat by the log fire after dinner in the cosy bar and chatted to other guests, which was a lovely way to finish off the evening

We will definitely return

Room Tip: The four poster room overlooking the front grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sally_l911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The room was clean, bathroom was immaculate. Thoughtful heater (fan) and throws in the wardrobe. The swimming pool is clean, inviting and offers a great environment for relaxation. The lounge and restaurant areas are also very welcoming.
The dinner is just simply excellent. Great arrangements in the restaurant, apropriate table setting, excellent smiling service and suprisingly diverse quality wine list (French mainly).

Would return and recomment it to a friend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clytemnestra8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
1.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
477 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
470 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Grange Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Grange Country Hotel

Address: Old Hereford Road, Ludlow SY8 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: £99 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Overton Grange Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overton Grange is a privately owned Country House Hotel located in Ludlow, Shropshire. Built in 1905, this beautiful wood-panelled Edwardian house is situated in a truly idyllic setting and provides the ideal place to escape the everyday. Settle in the Library, or Lounge, perhaps by the log fire, (wifi available in the lounge) looking out over stunning Shropshire countryside and gardens. Take the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful new Indoor Pool, Sauna and Health and Beauty facilities - treat yourself to a massage or treatments. Ideally located, we are a level walk from the market town of Ludlow famous for its Gastronomy, Shakespearean plays, bi-annual Food Festivals, Medieval Xmas Fayre, Arts and Antiques Fairs and fresh local produce market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Overton Grange Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Grange Ludlow
Hotel Overton Grange
Overton Grange Country Hotel Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing