We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food and great attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Overton Grange Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Had a wonderful evening meal beautifully presented and with lovely 'surprises' from the chef. We were here for a reunion of friends and were very well looked after with staff who paid attention to our needs in a friendly but not over intrusive way. My room was very comfortable and clean. It's a great location for Shropshire and Welsh borders.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in! And we have stayed in quite a few.

Beautiful elegant, peaceful hotel, at the end of it's own drive off a B road, set in lovely grounds and with spectacular views of the surrounding countryside.

Superlative food of the very highest standard. The hotel in run very efficiently, and the performance, friendliness, and attentiveness of the staff is absolutely second to none. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

Without doubt, we will stay there again - as often as we can. This is a very special hotel. We stayed for 3 nights, and we so wished that our stay could have been much longer.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters which room is chosen. I am certain that all rooms will all be excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Wonderful to hear such comments, and a great thank you from us all at Overton Grange.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We booked the last room in the hotel for 1 night in May 2012. The hotel is in a good location, set in nice grounds and has an attractive exterior. Unfortunately the room was a little shabby and had not been cleaned well. There were 15-20 small black bugs in the middle of the white tiled bathroom floor, which turned out to be carpet beetles, the cups in the bathroom had toothpaste residue in them and the plug hole was dirty. The TV worked only intermittently. I asked for the beetles to be dealt with and they were duly removed - no apology and no reduction in the room rate - which was overpiced for the room, even without the beetles. The staff were all very pleasant but there seemed to be a lack of management. The food was mostly very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowball7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This was a lovely hotel situated approximately 1 1/2 miles outside Ludlow town. The hotel was beautifully clean, situated within a picturesque location with excellent, friendly staff. Breakfast was beautifully cooked but very small and although we didn't partake in an evening meal, the menus did look fantastic, however this is where the praise ends. The night stay cost us £145. The room was tiny and did not offer any of the luxuries that one might expect with this price bracket (no bathrobes, slippers, biscuits on the tea tray,and one mean sachet of hot chocolate!) The spa did not offer value for money- you had to pay for towels, bathrobes etc. I was horrified to be sat next to two people in bathrobes (they had spent time in the spa) at breakfast time. I would have expected the basic dress code of actually being dressed to be enforsed in the dining room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 66Anna_W_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I"m going to have to be careful or I shall get a reputation for placing nothing but gushing reviews but here we go again.

This is my second stay here, the first was with my faithful hound, now sadly gone, so dog friendly is a plus point alone. A nice room, not spacious but very well appointed with large bathroom and above all spotlessly clean. However, it"s not the accommodation I want to talk about, it's the wonderful standard of food and service.

I honestly can't praise the quality of the food here. From the freshly baked bread to the interesting and innovative starters and through to the beautifully presenteted and prepared mains, the whole things comes together into a wonderful culinary experience. Top marks!

Like the food, the staff are beautifully presented and perfect in their attentiveness. Service at table is done with aplomb and simplicity. Special praise should be given to Roland, the sole male member of the waiting staff. He did everything perfectly, working with ease from a table for one to a table of six. Efficient and at the same time unhurried.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Loppylugs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Arrived for a 2 night stay for my Hubby's 40th. Shown to our £140 a night room and was horrified, It was tiny, no heating and the electrics didn't work. We were so disappointed with the size we asked for a different room; none available, however I remembered their sister hotel Dinham Hall and we found an available suite there and promptly moved. Salvaged the weekend thankfully, but could have been a nightmare.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

lovely country hotel with great views. very good restaurant ; imaginative and interesting menu !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth94Bedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.7 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
459 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
465 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
15.9 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Grange Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Grange Country Hotel

Address: Old Hereford Road, Ludlow SY8 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: £107 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Overton Grange Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overton Grange is a privately owned Country House Hotel located in Ludlow, Shropshire. Built in 1905, this beautiful wood-panelled Edwardian house is situated in a truly idyllic setting and provides the ideal place to escape the everyday. Settle in the Library, or Lounge, perhaps by the log fire, (wifi available in the lounge) looking out over stunning Shropshire countryside and gardens. Take the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful new Indoor Pool, Sauna and Health and Beauty facilities - treat yourself to a massage or treatments. Ideally located, we are a level walk from the market town of Ludlow famous for its Gastronomy, Shakespearean plays, bi-annual Food Festivals, Medieval Xmas Fayre, Arts and Antiques Fairs and fresh local produce market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Overton Grange Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Grange Ludlow
Hotel Overton Grange
Overton Grange Country Hotel Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing