We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghost ship or Care Home? We can't decide”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Overton Grange Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ghost ship or Care Home? We can't decide”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Very tastefully decorated hotel but it just was so quiet, i've seen more life in a morgue. There must be 3 staff to every guest. We chose not to eat in their restaurant after enquiring if there would be a bit more of an atmosphere later that evening (the answer was no). It concerned me slightly considering we're now in "peak season". Maybe it's the price keeping people away or maybe because it reminded my wife of the care home her mother resides in. Not exactly our idea of a holiday. Never mind.

We ate in town but came back fairly early and enjoyed the rest of our holiday in the room, which was comfortable but only had bath. In the morning we chose not to use the pool as the water seemed a little cold for our liking. Breakfast was tasty but uninspiring.

All in all, we will certainly return to the wonderfully historic Ludlow, but we won't be staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately, the Hotel, like many across the Country has experienced a very quiet week, due to the beginning of the Holiday Season, but mainly due to the Olympic Games which we are pleased to support (occupancy 35-40% down in London where it all happens!!!) In normal times and most weekends, the Hotel is buzzing and enjoys an excellent occupancy rate, and Diners enjoy the experience. We take your comments on board and look forward to welcoming you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    83
    46
    23
    22
See reviews for
25
185
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I recently saw this hotel on Booking.com, for £110 for a standard room, but decide to contact the hotel direct to discuss Diner, Bed & Breakfast, which I proceeded to book with them for £225, paying a £50 deposit. The next day I cancelled the dinner as we opted to go into Ludlow for a meal. On checking out I was presented with a bill for the exact same room as Booking.com for £145, when I queried this I was told the manager was not in but he would look into it and contact me. Having heard nothing I contacted the manager, querying the discrepancy in price, he agreed to refund £35, this however did not happen nor any explanation. After a further phone call, where I pointed out that to discuss their hotel and to be charged £35 for the privilege did not seem like good customer service to me. After a very heated conversation on his part he suggested I join the queue of unhappy guests on tripadvisor - so here I am!! I strongly advise against going to this hotel - the rooms are adequate, the atmosphere lacking as so few guests staying, I was relieved I booked elsewhere for a meal as the restaurant was empty at 8 pm.

It is a sad reflection on this hotel and it's sister hotel, Dinham Hall if this is their idea of Customer Service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jackiec3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your review. We are dissapointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Overton Grange.
The Hotel is currently at its quiet time due to Holiday Season and the Olympic Games, but still enjoy an excellent occupancy level.
Rates are discounted on a daily basis via internet base operators and fluctuate in line with availability and seasonal demand. In this instance, the full rate was agreed over the phone and confirmed to the guest by email(£225.00 DBB) then Dinner was cancelled and the rate adjusted accordingly to B&B Rate(£145.00 BB) as the cost of dinner was deducted in full, as one would expect. Unfortunately, we only charge for the room as agreed, excluding dinner, and we can only apology for doing so, but this is the rate you agreed to, verbally and by email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We booked 2 rooms in May for October but forgot to request a walk in shower for our disabled friends. Within 24 hours we tried to change our accommodation but the hotel was unable to fulfill our request so we cancelled our booking. On checking our bank statement we found £100 payable to Overton Grange. We were not told on booking or cancelling that there was a non refundable deposit of £50 per room. Mr Metzo told me this was printed in the hotel's terms and conditions and that he had incurred costs between booking and cancellation - £100 worth - nonsense - he refused to refund any part of our deposit - his arrogance is breathtaking. There is no mention of non refundable deposits in the printed terms and conditions - only on the confirmation of booking.
I have brought this unfair practice to the attention of the Office of Fair Trading and the Citizens Advice Bureau who are considering an investigation. Whilst it appears that in law he has the right to retain the £100, it is grossly unfair, unethical and disregards any element of customer goodwill.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
20 Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments.
All reservations are processed with credit card details, and confirmed with a £50.00 non-refundable deposit, which was clearly stated at the time of reservation, and confirmed by email, with attached terms and conditions, and cancellation policy.
We made every effort to accommodate your request, with the relevant accommodation at Overton Grange and alternative accommodation at our sister hotel, and we also offered you a £100.00 voucher against dinner at one of the 2 Hotels, which was accepted, and then declined.
We ensure that we offer a professional service, and we aim to please our discerning guests.
We would hope to welcome you at Overton Grange, and hope that you will make full use of your £100.00 voucher, and a complimentary upgrade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Warm reception on arrival.
Had to ask for the robes and extra water.
Room was small for a superior room, the view was the roof of pool extension!
Plenty of hot water for us to have a deep hot bath.
Went for dinner, very relaxed atmosphere. The food was the best I have eaten in a long time. Superb chef.
Staff very attentive all through the meal.
Coffee in the lounge, delightful. There was a family with a child aged about 8, thought it was unfair that they could not eat in the restaurant, especially as she was much quieter than some of the guests!
Did not sleep well. Bed is very hard and uncomfortable, very noisy too when one of you moved.
You could hear the guests in others rooms when they woke in the morning.
Would definately return for the restaurant, would not necessarily return for the accomodation.

Room Tip: Best views are the ones that overlook the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillianrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

we stayed at the ludlow grange on the first night of our honeymoon in july 2012, and as the title of our review states thsi place is all style and no substance expect for the food, so best to start with the positives. 1: the food, evening meal was ABSOULTLEY AMAZING, finest quality, outstanding, pricey but worth it with a faboulous waiter, 2: decor of hotel and room excellent modern with a classic twist very elegant.3: pool area very attractive a nice place to spend an hour or so, ok thats the positives out the way now comes the negatives. 1:this is NOT a spa hotel it is a hotel with a pool and sauna which hires in spa treatments and if you are as unlucky as i they do not turn up!!!, some odd excuse was given about having the wrong day booked, the website is very unclear it is not a spa hotel dont try to go andf look for the spa there isnt one! 2: the sauna has to be turned on 45 mins before you want to use it so be planned!!!the pool is very very cold, almost unbearable, there are no lockers in the changing rooms or towels so it is best to go down to the pool in tour swimwear and robe and take you hotel towel. 3: service this is eastern european by and large, and although very polite with the exception of the excellent dinner waiter it lacks complete personal touch, and only the polite basics are used to get by, dont hope for banter or understanding of the sitiuation, this gives the hotel a bare minimum feel. it felt overall ike a ghost hotel very quiet even on a saturday in the summer strange!!!to sum up amazing food, with the hotel as an afterthought!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pussycat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you found the dining experience enjoyable, and we appreciate your positive comments regarding the decor and surroundings of the Hotel and Rooms.
Unfortunately, the Hotel is NOT marketed as a Spa Hotel, but is purely based on your understanding that the hotel is a Spa Hotel. We intended to compliment the guests experience and stay at Overton Grange, and added the facility of an indoor pool(28 degrees) and sauna(on request) exclusively for guests only(hence, no lockers as guests use Rooms facilities or pool side showers, and changing room), with treatments available subject to appointment, as an added service to our Hotel Guests.
We thank you for your comments which will help us improve our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We returned to this hotel having had a very enjoyable stay about eight years ago. On the plus side, the bedrooms have been refurbished. Unfortunately the product has otherwise deteriorated in several respects since our last visit.
Whilst the food was ok, it was not of two rosette standard. My husband's main course was a miniscule portion of lamb. Far smaller than anything we have ever seen in any other fine dining restaurant. We ordered a £42 bottle of wine from what is a very expensive wine list. The wine was open on our table when we were seated. We were not given the opportunity to taste it. When we poured it for ourselves it was undrinkable. The front of house manager (there being no sommelier) initially stated it needed for breathe for 15 to 20 minutes. When we pointed out that it had already been open for 20 minutes, she offered us a glass of house wine while we were waiting but insisted that it was not corked. After a stand off, she reluctantly agreed to replace the bottle. We than had to ask twice before the replacement was actually brought to the table. By that time, our starters had been eaten and the whole experience was totally unsatisfactory. The two glasses of dessert wine we ordered were clearly from a bottle that had been open too long. We were so fed up that we didn't bother complaining again. We ate out in Ludlow on our second night and had a fabulous meal at Koo Japenese Restaurant.
The bathroom to our bedroom (no. 22) is spacious with two sinks and has been refurbished. The plumbing is however dreadful. The water pressure is so weak that I had to bend backwards in the shower to get my head under the dribble of water. The water inexplicably stopped altogether whilst I was trying to rinse shampoo from my hair.
The pool area (new since our last visit) is very nice although the water temperature was too cold. A view shared with other residents who were using the facility at the same time.
All in all, whilst this is a hotel in a lovely setting, the impression is given that the management are cutting corners to avoid expenditure. It simply isn't acceptable given the prices being charged.

Room Tip: Not no. 22 as water pressure dreadful. Not all have a bath so check before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for your valuable comments.
We will ensure that we address the relevant points to improve the standards and the quality we offer our Guests, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Overton Grange.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Had a wonderful evening meal beautifully presented and with lovely 'surprises' from the chef. We were here for a reunion of friends and were very well looked after with staff who paid attention to our needs in a friendly but not over intrusive way. My room was very comfortable and clean. It's a great location for Shropshire and Welsh borders.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
2.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
867 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
429 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
428 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
15.9 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Grange Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Grange Country Hotel

Property: Overton Grange Country Hotel
Address: Old Hereford Road, Ludlow SY8 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Overton Grange Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overton Grange is a privately owned Country House Hotel located in Ludlow, Shropshire. Built in 1905, this beautiful wood-panelled Edwardian house is situated in a truly idyllic setting and provides the ideal place to escape the everyday. Settle in the Library, or Lounge, perhaps by the log fire, (wifi available in the lounge) looking out over stunning Shropshire countryside and gardens. Take the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful new Indoor Pool, Sauna and Health and Beauty facilities - treat yourself to a massage or treatments. Ideally located, we are a level walk from the market town of Ludlow famous for its Gastronomy, Shakespearean plays, bi-annual Food Festivals, Medieval Xmas Fayre, Arts and Antiques Fairs and fresh local produce market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Overton Grange Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Grange Ludlow
Hotel Overton Grange
Overton Grange Country Hotel Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing