We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay at Overton Grange”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Overton Grange Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One night stay at Overton Grange”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We enjoyed a one night stay at this lovely period style hotel. The staff were very helpful and attentive. Breakfast gave a wide choice of continental and cooked breakfast. I chose smoked haddock with poached egg, which was cooked perfectly.
There's a small leisure pool and sauna which again were of a good standard.
The hotel is a short drive out of Ludlow and set in picturesque contryside.
It is very difficult to find fault with this hotel, it excels at being a welcoming period style hotel.
We'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We hope to welcoming you again in the near future, thank you for your genuine comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    83
    46
    23
    22
See reviews for
25
185
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel has a relaxing ambience with beautiful views over the countryside of Shropshire.

The furnishing of the rooms is pleasant, comfortable and clean. However a little more thought could have been given to the placing of the tea/coffee facilities provided - kettle on dressing table and tea/coffee, cups etc on a collapsible tray/table at the other side of the room.

The service could not be faulted, in fact, it was excellent, and the food was good, with beautiful presentation - although if you like your fillet steak "medium rare" I would suggest you request "rare" in order to achieve that - you can always request it be cooked a little more, but it cannot be un-cooked! A very nice touch was the "extras" between courses. The menu is varied, but quite limited and could I feel become a little jaded if one were staying for any length of time, as it would be repetitive - good, but repetitive.

The pool is nice also, but only open from 17h00, so one needs to plan ones exercise regime - and the water temperature a little warmer would have been welcomed.

We did try to obtain a bite to eat during the day, but the chef was off duty, so nothing was forthcoming, and there seems to be no provision for this situation - a sandwich would have been appreciated as we had just done a three hour walk and dinner was a long way off timewise, but alas it was not to be. A bowl of fruit needs no preparation, nor do biscuits and cheese etc - a small point, but easily overcome.

I would recommend this hotel for a quiet weekend, and possibly wedding or conference, but definitely without young children due to the decor. Well done to the staff/family. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you.
Overton Grange enjoys a privileged location with amazing views of the Shropshire Hills surrounding Ludlow. It also offers the perfect setting for relaxation, and is a perfect retreat to set back from the daily rush.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I chose this hotel for my stay as my partner and I were looking for a property in the nearby area of Ludlow. Seeing some "interesting" reviews I felt quite sceptical about staying here, but how wrong people can be..

Everything from the minute we walked in was absolutely perfect! We have received a warm welcome, not only from the friendly staff, but also from a real log fire, which I think is a rare luxury these days! Staying there for a longer time we chose a superior room, which was large, warm and had an enormous window overlooking Ludlow and the Clee hills (if you are lucky enough for good weather!)

Because we were quite busy during the days, we chose to dine in the hotels restaurant. The menu looked very tasty, and so it was. I can not describe the whole experience using words, as it was so out of this world! Every dish was cooked to perfection, not to mention all those little extras we have received in-between. Staff were very professional and more than helpful trough out. On our third night we were even given an opportunity to choose a special dish that the chef would prepare for us!

And to our happiness the hotel had a proper swimming pool, which was very warm and relaxing - a perfect way to relax.

All in all it was one of the most memorable stays for us, and we will be back atleast for dinner!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fawlty-Mr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Great thank you for your commanding review, it is a real boost to all our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The public rooms and bathrooms are everything you would wish for an English country house hotel in a beautiful setting. It is French-owned and this shows in the excellent menus and food standards in the restaurant. The staff are very good and the value for money is reasonable (it's not cheap).
We travel often from the south-west to the north of England so Ludlow makes for a convenient overnight stop - and Overton Grange is, we think, the best hotel around. The town is a foodies' heaven with a deserved reputation for good places to eat if you want a change of scene - but you must try the hotel's restaurant at least once.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you. It is so rewarding to receive such warm comments...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at Overton Grange, Ludlow. The room was warm and very clean.The staff were customer focused and nothing was too much trouble.The food was superb and the restaurant was warm and a very pleasant environment. The whole experience was good and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Owner at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you from us all at Overton Grange, we pride ourselves on providing excellence with personal touch and a smile, and it is so pleasing to be appreciated in our daily task.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Just back from 2 night stay. Staff very attentive and pleasant. we dined on the first night(a requirement if you stay over weekend) we had the restaurant to ourselves! being sunday. Chef produced a wonderful meal, fine dining at its best. Large room (superior) overlooked front of hotel. could do with some heat in bathroom, otherwise fine. Swimming pool lovely and warm, good sauna too. would definately go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillbehari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGrange, Manager at Overton Grange Country Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind comments and we are delighted that you truly enjoyed your stay at Overton Grange. Reviews are always welcomed and we appreciate your feedback. Tripadvisor can genuinely control the traffic of potential guests through your site, and many guests truly enjoy the experience , but Tripadvisor also decides where the Hotel is positioned in the rating, regardless of reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Like others, it was quite a shock to find a DD&B deal then had added on service charge for the dinner. At £275 a night, 3rd B&B free it seems a bit much to add on £17 for what was a done deal. Room very nice and comfortable but no heat in bathroom and no towel rail - an electric towel rail and there is somewehere for your towel and heat! Very little central heating and rooms quite cold bur did find fan heater in wardrobe so could get some heat. Breakfast OK - smoked bacon (nor shown on menu) which another guest did not like but just take it or leave it! Evening meal takes so long - appreciate time between courses but from 7.30 unto 10.30 is far too long. Menu great 1st night but then the same for the 2nd and 3rd nights too - and only 4 choices meant we went out into Ludlow on the 3rd night - try the Rose and Crown. Cheapest wine, not the greatest is £19.95 + the ubiquitous 10% then steps up to £29.95 upwards. Staff lovely and welcoming but some found it very difficult to undestand - in the end had to settle for a glass of red as could not understand glass of dry white please! All in all - an experience but paid through the nose for it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank volvos80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
2.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
869 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
429 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
428 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
15.9 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Grange Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Grange Country Hotel

Property: Overton Grange Country Hotel
Address: Old Hereford Road, Ludlow SY8 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Overton Grange Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overton Grange is a privately owned Country House Hotel located in Ludlow, Shropshire. Built in 1905, this beautiful wood-panelled Edwardian house is situated in a truly idyllic setting and provides the ideal place to escape the everyday. Settle in the Library, or Lounge, perhaps by the log fire, (wifi available in the lounge) looking out over stunning Shropshire countryside and gardens. Take the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful new Indoor Pool, Sauna and Health and Beauty facilities - treat yourself to a massage or treatments. Ideally located, we are a level walk from the market town of Ludlow famous for its Gastronomy, Shakespearean plays, bi-annual Food Festivals, Medieval Xmas Fayre, Arts and Antiques Fairs and fresh local produce market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Overton Grange Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Grange Ludlow
Hotel Overton Grange
Overton Grange Country Hotel Ludlow, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing